$10 Universal 80GB Hard Drive From Five Below | Five Below Review

$10 Universal 80GB Hard Drive From Five Below | Five Below Review

Today I’m taking a look at the new Universal 80GB Hard Drive from Five Below. This is a little $10 USB external hard drive is brought to us by Bytech, and it really took me by surprise when I found it in the store.

Some of you may be wondering if there really is an 80 gigabyte SATA HDD sitting in that enclosure, and you’re in luck since I open it up in the video. I’m not going to spoil it right now, but you should know that it gets weird. Very weird.
__________
https://discord.gg/gsWPsfJ


https://www.instagram.com/cly_faker
http://www.clyfaker.com
https://www.amazon.com/shop/clyfaker

27 Comments

  1. micheal guillen on July 13, 2022 at 11:53 pm

    Hi this does have type c for baytech hard drive 80gb but I have surface pro 7 and go 1 Gen

  2. Brian Reed on July 13, 2022 at 11:56 pm

    I got one that shows 100gb

  3. Ghennah Forde on July 13, 2022 at 11:56 pm

    I’m now plugging mine in, it does have the Chinese characters as a name, the computer didn’t recognize it on some of my USB ports tho

  4. Blank Name on July 13, 2022 at 11:59 pm

    Def was not expecting to see a Samsung logo when you popped that open

  5. isaias ojeda on July 14, 2022 at 12:00 am

    You should review their action camera

  6. CankerousFoil5 on July 14, 2022 at 12:03 am

    Me recuerda a un tio me regalo fake 2TB SSD , pero que coincidencia de ver adaptadores como Sabrent (adaptadores SSD) podías opinar.

  7. Ikouy Bolt on July 14, 2022 at 12:04 am

    So I was browsing around the Five Below in my area and found a whole bunch of these hard drives, so I bought one for the laughs and I went ahead and used Smartmontools within Ubuntu to pull the SMART data off, so Crystal Disk Info should natively see it. Mine was about 80% health in terms of power on hours, but only 44% health in terms of the head unloads. Though because it’s not an OS drive, I wouldn’t expect that health to deteriorate much.

    I’m in the process of doing a check to see if anything is on the drive, so far I’m not seeing anything.

  8. Chris Barnett on July 14, 2022 at 12:06 am

    Great video! I’ve not seen this in my local 5 Below, but will be on the lookout!

  9. K C on July 14, 2022 at 12:10 am

    Thank you for this video! Saw this today, was about to pick it up until common sense told me i can get a 64gb flash/thumb drive for $11 at walmart

  10. Milk Leg Scoop on July 14, 2022 at 12:12 am

    Can I swap out the drive and use it for an enclosure for an existing drive?

  11. Sebas_Go on July 14, 2022 at 12:14 am

    My Mac won’t read it…

  12. Hello Meat Robots on July 14, 2022 at 12:17 am

    I’d get one just for that case. I am curious to know what Crystal Disk Info and some data recovery software say about those drives.

  13. kidman2505 on July 14, 2022 at 12:17 am

    Quite a few usb 2.5" hard drives come with Mini USB 2.0. Whether Bytech, or even WD and Samsung. Even USB 3 offerings are usually the super wide connector, not the easy to use USB-C connector. I purchased one of these as well, and mine interestingly contained a Fujitsu unit.

  14. magich8ball on July 14, 2022 at 12:19 am

    I bought one today for shits and giggles. If it craps out, ive at least got a nice HDD case to put another drive into. But I’m sticking with my Seagate 1TB for all my important stuff. 😀

  15. Jahlaune K on July 14, 2022 at 12:20 am

    Mine didn’t even work just the blue light came on. Maybe I’ll get my 10 bucks back if I find the receipt. I have no luck at 5 below

  16. M2THE49 on July 14, 2022 at 12:20 am

    I wonder how securely these were erased or if any data can be recovered off of it

  17. THE KING OF BRYCE BROWN on July 14, 2022 at 12:21 am

    Is it OK just to use it on your laptop anyway

  18. Jose Torres on July 14, 2022 at 12:21 am

    I’m going to get a few of these. I have a ton of old consoles that I could use these for. I also want one for my Wii U.

  19. AJ O. on July 14, 2022 at 12:22 am

    This is good for if you don’t need to store a ton of stuff, but it’s not a really good deal since for about $40 you can get a 1 tb harddrive

  20. Liowen on July 14, 2022 at 12:29 am

    $10 bucks for 80GB isn’t terrible, however if you have an old SATA drive kicking around you could switch it out. Now it is $10 for whatever GB HDD you put in there…. unless it is solider to the board. Too bad I couldn’t put an old molex drive in it, I have one the I really need to see what is on it LOL.

  21. Minecraft is life on July 14, 2022 at 12:32 am

    Does it work for Nintendo switch?

  22. hiboikid on July 14, 2022 at 12:32 am

    harddrive

  23. Kieth Pasha on July 14, 2022 at 12:33 am

    Just bought one, and I wanted to search online to make sure it’s actually good. Came across your video. I opened it, it’s actually a Seagate. I wanted this just to store data on it from my phone and use at the library. Think it will hold up?

  24. Calvin Hansen on July 14, 2022 at 12:34 am

    Almost bought one of these myself a week or so back, figured it had new old stock. Since they’re using old (probably used) drives…I’m not sure how legal it is to sell it as a new item (as opposed to indicating refurbished or whatever).

    Note the 80GB vs 74.4 GB. Both are correct, kinda.

    It’s due to the difference between giGAbytes (what manufactures use) and giBIbytes (what most software show). Microsoft should actually show GiB rather than GB, but due to network effects, they choose to keep the GB postfix. Plug it into some Linux machines or a Mac, it’ll probably show 80GB.

    Since computers use a numbering system with only 2 numbers, they use the binary equivalent to the decimal based metric prefix.
    Long and short, *bibytes reference the power of 2 nearest the given metric prefix.
    Kilo = 1000 (10^3)….closest power of two is 2^10 at 1024.

    Normally:
    10^3 = kilo
    10^6 = mega
    10^9 = giga

    Computers, using powers of 2
    2^10 = Kilo
    2^20 = Mega
    2^30 = Giga
    (80 GB * 10^9) / 2^30 = 74.5 GiB
    That’s where the discrepancy comes in.

    Similar effect for your ISP saying "1000 mbps down". It’s in Megabits, not mebibytes. They’re quite literally telling you the number of 1’s and 0’s going across the line. You’re used to seeing the number of bit _octets_ (sets of 8 bits). So simply divide by 8. In the given example that would make it 125 MiB/s.

    As for the ‘used’ 95 MiB. Yes, it is used. The filesystem that keeps track of the files on the drive must store it’s information somewhere. The amount used usually depends on the size of the drive and the various filesystem settings. Bigger drives usually require more diskspace to keep track of everything else. That number is not static either, it will grow when it needs to track more files than provisioned space provides.

    For the remaining unpartitioned space on the drive? I actually don’t know the exact reason some manufactures do this. Best guess is that it allows for what’s called ‘over provisioning’. Which allows the drive more backup sectors in case bad sectors are discovered (and thus needs remapping). SSD’s do this, but they usually will hide some percentage of the drive from the user (ever seen a 480 GB drive?) though will happily use any unpartitioned space for additional over provisioning.

    That said $10 for 80 GB isn’t all that great. It’s not hard to get 10 TB drives for ~$200 right now. This drive is priced like a usb drive. Bestbuy/OD/staples usually have a 256GB drive for around $30. Bestbuy often drops one of them down to $20 however.

  25. desiraqble on July 14, 2022 at 12:41 am

    interesting.

  26. Giorgio on July 14, 2022 at 12:46 am

    hi Cly! well that’s a surprise lol. It would have been great to see in Crystal Disk Info for the power-on count and hours, to see how much they had been used before being recycled. Also looking forward to the titan gamepad review!

  27. Gentry316 on July 14, 2022 at 12:48 am

    I just got one of these at 5 Below and it says there’s only 15mb free on this p.o.s.

Leave a Comment