1300 NITS! Sony A90J 4K OLED Review | Setup, Calibration and Measurements

1300 NITS! Sony A90J 4K OLED Review | Setup, Calibration and Measurements

CALIBRATING THE SONY A90J 4K OLED television at Value Electronics.

BUY HERE:

HOME


Value Electronics
35 Popham Road
Scarsdale, NY 10583
Tel: 914-723-3344
rzohn@valueelectronics.com

Amazon: https://amzn.to/3rDbpr3
========================================
Got questions? Get fast responses here.
Visit us at Patreon. Support the channel and get perks and other benefits. Consultation, Advice, Review Requests, huge discounts on audio and video gear.
https://www.patreon.com/SpareChange

THANKS TO OUR PATREON SUPPORTERS!
========================================
Review Room: https://youtu.be/dITsG7LSSbw
========================================
Equipment used for review:
JVC NX7 4K projector: https://bit.ly/2RkgmFy
Sony 65A9G: https://bit.ly/2oxpJpD
Sony 75X900F:
Amazon – https://amzn.to/2U1w8DG
B&H – https://bit.ly/2MXyr8V
XPAND X105-RF-X1 3D glasses: http://amzn.to/2wGmmMz
Trinnov Altitude 32: https://bit.ly/2wec1My
McIntosh MC255
McIntosh MC257
Pro 4K HDR: https://amzn.to/3aJceH1
Panasonic UB9000:
Value Electronics – https://bit.ly/2n41miZ
B&H – https://bit.ly/2P6BWg3
Amazon – https://amzn.to/3399vTl
Oppo 203: https://amzn.to/2MgN7PM
AppleTV 4K: https://bit.ly/2qbWoSK
Speakers – Bowers & Wilkins CT 7.4: https://bit.ly/2n41miZ
Subwoofers – Rythmik F18: https://bit.ly/3qCgpvS
Salamandar Talia Seating: https://bit.ly/2n41miZ
Middle Atlantic Rack: https://bit.ly/2J4wuX5
Niagara 3000: https://amzn.to/2ZHPOkM
Niagara 5000: https://amzn.to/31U7ufI
Shot on:
Sony a7c:
Amazon: https://amzn.to/3cTUWKL
B&H: https://bit.ly/33R19iP
Sony 24mm
Amazon: https://amzn.to/35ALOnO
B&H: https://bit.ly/2s2QhAW
Shure SM7B: https://amzn.to/3qp51Dp
More Equipment:
https://www.amazon.com/shop/sparechange?ref=ac_inf_hm_vp
========================================
Follow Us:

https://www.instagram.com/sparechangereviews/
https://www.facebook.com/SpareChangeReviews/

Listen to our podcast here:
iTunes: https://apple.co/39jFpi0
Spotify: https://spoti.fi/38Sk9j1
Anchor: https://anchor.fm/sparechange
Google Podcasts: https://bit.ly/2Ui3Rff
Breaker: https://bit.ly/2WG0tfS
Radiopublic: https://bit.ly/39g0nOv
========================================
For sponsorship, product reviews, and collaboration, you can email me here:
sparechangereviews@gmail.com
========================================
#hometheater #4k #OLED
========================================
DISCLAIMER: This video and description may contain affiliate links, in turn I may earn from qualifying purchases.

50 Comments

  1. barry on August 11, 2021 at 9:39 pm

    Great video Robert. Many thanks.

  2. DEATH SEAL on August 11, 2021 at 9:41 pm

    Damn and i just bought the bravia 950h. Lol but maybe 10 years from now see whats new by then

  3. Nuno C on August 11, 2021 at 9:41 pm

    How the screen uniformity? Is there any Oled banding noticeable that LG tv suffer with.

  4. ralph geronilla on August 11, 2021 at 9:42 pm

    1300 nits is a sony selling point. Would rather use a calibrated custom mode around 700 for a beautiful balance.

  5. 5150Chupacabra on August 11, 2021 at 9:44 pm

    Sony is king

  6. Donovan Guilfoyle on August 11, 2021 at 9:46 pm

    oof that OS is clunky AF, for $3000 needs to be better, typical sony, I am looking forward to seeing what the G1 has in store

  7. Mister Bigglesworth on August 11, 2021 at 9:49 pm

    Movies max out at 1000 NITS. So the extra NITS, potentially, may burn out the TV. This TV looks great, but I worry about the screen burning out at an accelerated pace. At the Sony price point, the LG is just a better buy. For each their own.

  8. John Ulrich on August 11, 2021 at 9:49 pm

    Great video, could live without the munching and smacking in the background.

  9. RH on August 11, 2021 at 9:49 pm

    I love mines!

  10. Raitzi on August 11, 2021 at 9:50 pm

    I am pretty sure Panasonic still is brighter. US guys are just excited finally to get a TV with heat plate.

  11. Robert Schuster on August 11, 2021 at 9:55 pm

    I hope it comes in more options than just a 55", that is not big enough for such an amazing tv

  12. Steve Smith on August 11, 2021 at 9:56 pm

    Nice tv but I wouldnt trust Sony as far as I could throw them. After they screwed me with the 950H and I had to deal with their customer service I am all done with them and will never own another Sony tv as long as I live. But again nice tv and I am sure people will love it. Me? I will stick with my LG OLED for a few years then go the projection route.

  13. Patrick Troy on August 11, 2021 at 9:57 pm

    Hey man what happened to our weekly live event last week’s live event was awesome

  14. K3N on August 11, 2021 at 9:57 pm

    I hear the comparisons to the A8H. What about the A9G?

  15. Waymon French on August 11, 2021 at 9:58 pm

    Very introsting! Well done!

  16. Henry Addy-Grigsby on August 11, 2021 at 9:58 pm

    1300 nits on an oled is live Vegeta’s over 9000! As excited as I am for this tv the burn in factor concerns me.

  17. Braedan Robinson on August 11, 2021 at 9:58 pm

    Awful video I doubt it’s even the a90j he testing

  18. Zonawolf on August 11, 2021 at 10:01 pm

    What software was used to calibrate?

  19. jjchmiel78 on August 11, 2021 at 10:03 pm

    How effin rude and unprofessional! EAT BEFORE recording the video.

  20. wblebon on August 11, 2021 at 10:03 pm

    How is the banding on this tv thats what i am curious about

  21. Scott on August 11, 2021 at 10:04 pm

    Does anyone know if the LG C1 is similar to the CX peak brightness wise? Great video here by the way!

  22. 文武両道 on August 11, 2021 at 10:06 pm

    LG G1 > Sony A90J

  23. John Smith on August 11, 2021 at 10:07 pm

    $3KKKKKKK?

  24. Cthis on August 11, 2021 at 10:07 pm

    17:21 "Not as good as the Panasonic" – enough said!

  25. Andrew Towell on August 11, 2021 at 10:08 pm

    I asssume the live broadcast mentioned the size of the tv, but I don’t think it was specified in this condensed version. Is it a 55 inch?

  26. C H on August 11, 2021 at 10:09 pm

    Is this using the new EVO panel ?

  27. Keeping Up With The Jones' on August 11, 2021 at 10:11 pm

    This was a great stream. So nice to hear Robert, John and Dwayne.

  28. toorop111 on August 11, 2021 at 10:11 pm

    So happy I own a 65” GZ

  29. Sean Hoyt on August 11, 2021 at 10:11 pm

    Temp image retention at 13:00? Does that mess with the calibration?

  30. Douglas on August 11, 2021 at 10:13 pm

    who cares if the motion sucks. I have never seen a newer TV with good motion processing. They are great if nobody moves in the movie.

  31. Make73 on August 11, 2021 at 10:15 pm

    John the Autocal(ibrator)

  32. Chris Bullock on August 11, 2021 at 10:15 pm

    1080p of a 4k tv…..but at least its clean…lol

  33. John M on August 11, 2021 at 10:16 pm

    The MSRP for this TV has gone up compared to the previous A9G. That’s not how it’s supposed to work lol. LG is lowering their prices significantly from the previous gen. These are electronics not cars.

  34. Michele Di Tullio on August 11, 2021 at 10:19 pm

    John, please could you elaborate more on the "specular highlight details might be brighter than a (let’s say) 2% windows size pattern" because as I got it so far it isn’t right, unless you are talking about stars in a black sky. If you are talking about a bright scene with the sun, then there’s nothing there that could be brighter than a 2% window size white pattern

  35. Keith Luken on August 11, 2021 at 10:19 pm

    Can the legs be reversed on the i3 inch? I mess the A9G base.my media center I had custom built was designed for a 75 inch TV. My C9 77 fits the exact width, but the 83 A90J with the legs at the out edges is a no go.

  36. Chris Nelson on August 11, 2021 at 10:19 pm

    did you have to be eating the whole time? freaking discusting. i would of venmoed you $8.00 if you would have just hit up a mcds drivethru and ate in your prolly lame prius on your way to do this calib

  37. michael on August 11, 2021 at 10:20 pm

    HAVE FOMO on your show.

  38. Daisuki Prince on August 11, 2021 at 10:21 pm

    Is it true that game mode is limited to 800 nits?!

  39. madmax2069 on August 11, 2021 at 10:22 pm

    3:10 that image retention though.

  40. 4K HDR RTX Gaming Channel on August 11, 2021 at 10:23 pm

    what about nits in game mode? vivid mode – no one cares

  41. Jay G. on August 11, 2021 at 10:26 pm

    Please do the same on the A80J.

  42. Sean Lacroix on August 11, 2021 at 10:26 pm

    I wouldnt touch that TV with a ten foot pole. When they turn the 10% window off to a dark screen you can see the image retention big time. Unless you babysit this tv you’re just asking for burn in. No thanks.

  43. Kelly Williamson on August 11, 2021 at 10:30 pm

    Just ordered the 83 inch . . . $8K . . . yikes!

  44. Jian Shen on August 11, 2021 at 10:33 pm

    So judging by 3:15 . 775 nits on a 10% window. Only reaches 1300 on vivid and others maxed out.

    Still higher than the 500-600 nits of previous Sony and 650-700 of LG CX.

    Also wanna say, thanks for being one of the first to publish measurements on these TVs. Even showing how the calibration and measurement is being done. This is the info we need

  45. Othman 007 on August 11, 2021 at 10:34 pm

    on vivid mode only not interested honestly
    with C9
    HDR I use HGIG 800 nits/150 nits paper white

  46. Dominik Gastreich on August 11, 2021 at 10:34 pm

    That‘s some great news. Could you guys also do a quick video going through the game mode? I would love to know how bright that one gets and how much ABL will be noticeable. I know that we‘ll have to wait a month or so for the VRR update though.

  47. mycolortv1 on August 11, 2021 at 10:35 pm

    Nice…but still want a LG OLED

  48. Jason Sullivan on August 11, 2021 at 10:36 pm

    The guy doing the Calibrating sounds like he’s trying to eat his mic.

  49. Sven Veader on August 11, 2021 at 10:37 pm

    What ya think the Black Friday price 4 the 83 will be? I say 7 clams

  50. Marlo G on August 11, 2021 at 10:38 pm

    Unk was calibrating that plate 🍽 too. 😂 🔊

Leave a Comment