1994: The Kotaku Review | Tim Rogers | Kotaku

1994: The Kotaku Review | Tim Rogers | Kotaku

I reviewed 1994 (the year), by ranking and reviewing my 25 favorite video games released during that year.

I had a reference to the OJ Simpson trial in the intro, though I cut it out so that the whole video possess a veneer of childish ignorance, like video games were the only thing that mattered in the world at the time. You need not be so childish in your comments, however. Feel free to talk about OJ all you want in there.

For a much better video about 1994, watch the 30 for 30 documentary “OJ: Made In America.”

50 Comments

  1. Apemopo on May 6, 2022 at 8:00 pm

    man, Timothy is so guerrilla youtube that he makes a numerical list video and doesn’t even advertise the fact in the title

  2. Mitch Gant on May 6, 2022 at 8:02 pm

    Yup. This is it. A good meal. Tastes great. Cheers to the chef.

  3. RetepAdam on May 6, 2022 at 8:03 pm

    48:52 To think, we had no idea what was to come…

  4. Connor S on May 6, 2022 at 8:03 pm

    It’s Crazy how Tim Rogers has had such a prolific career in the video game industry while also making time to front legendary Melbourne rock band You Am I

  5. Cameron Childress on May 6, 2022 at 8:06 pm

    Tim Rogers really has a gift for speaking from a place of passion in the most entertaining way. I think that’s why Tim articulates better than anyone why video games are more than just things to consume and can actually be impactful in people’s lives.

  6. Ukes of Hazzard on May 6, 2022 at 8:08 pm

    Kinda funny at the end he almost jokingly wonders aloud about possibly doing a 3 hour review of Earthbound. Now, almost two years and several 3 (and one nearly 6) hour reviews later, I’m here to pass the last few hours until the premiere of his (presumably) gargantuan Cyberpunk 2077 review.

    Nice to see people achieve their dreams.

  7. Linzolle on May 6, 2022 at 8:09 pm

    I feel like I know more about Tim Rogers from his life stories than I do about myself

  8. Alex Stone on May 6, 2022 at 8:09 pm

    “I was a jerk and a loser, and I deserved my it” Thus might be, However unfortunate that might be, the most relatable line I’ve ever heard in a YouTube video.

  9. Ulieq on May 6, 2022 at 8:12 pm

    Tim Rogers would be my best friend if I knew him in real life

  10. Remi Stardust on May 6, 2022 at 8:13 pm

    "1994 taught me how to 1995"

  11. BurritoKid on May 6, 2022 at 8:13 pm

    I want to play the steampunk cowgirl robot game but even more I want to live in a world where google knows what game that even is

  12. Camden Cantwell on May 6, 2022 at 8:13 pm

    Tim hopefully foreshadowing an Action Button Earthbound review here

  13. Jontman on May 6, 2022 at 8:13 pm

    I will watch this video, partially because Tim Rogers tweeted about it, but mostly because it is of my birth year.

  14. Remi Stardust on May 6, 2022 at 8:15 pm

    52:40 Konami is actually not dead. Just looked it up. It’s a company valued at a cool $7.7 billion!

  15. Robin Applegate on May 6, 2022 at 8:16 pm

    coming back here after story six of the cyberpunk review is a really cool feeling. I hadn’t consciously realized that it’s the same song. thank you for everything you make, if you happen to be reading this.

  16. Joseph Delacruz on May 6, 2022 at 8:17 pm

    I’m really sorry to hear that about your eye. 😞 That must’ve been really rough. Thanks for all your hard work. I’ve recently become a huge fan of yours via the Tokimeki Memorial review on your own channel. Your writing and vocal presence are both enlightening and hilarious.

  17. Obsessionist on May 6, 2022 at 8:18 pm

    This is a masterpiece and #1 hit me hard in the feels

  18. Ian Taran on May 6, 2022 at 8:19 pm

    Tim is intense when your on alot of acid

  19. RiskyWorks on May 6, 2022 at 8:21 pm

    Tim Rogers is an amazing game critic. Because he doesn’t constantly blame the games for his mistakes, and the humor, it’s amazing. It’s almost as amazing as Dragon Quest XI S Echoes of An Elusive Past Definitive Edition for the Nintendo Switch

  20. Vektroid on May 6, 2022 at 8:25 pm

    fuck yeah umihara

  21. Jenerik Entertainment on May 6, 2022 at 8:28 pm

    BEAT THEM UP GENRE

  22. Garrett's Apple and N U T Crumble on May 6, 2022 at 8:30 pm

    Not gonna lie, the clip of Michael Jordan just yeeting single palmed basket balls at people is some of the sickest shit I’ve ever seen.

  23. MoeJuggler on May 6, 2022 at 8:30 pm

    "Footage from 2018" lmaooo

  24. Mossex on May 6, 2022 at 8:31 pm

    The Jared reveal…

  25. th3giv3r on May 6, 2022 at 8:31 pm

    The improv made me harder than Dark Souls

  26. Gator on May 6, 2022 at 8:31 pm

    94 was the best year for videogames

  27. Fusion Space on May 6, 2022 at 8:33 pm

    I truly, truly hate both Earthbound and FFVI. I heard them talked up so much and so I rented them multiple times but every time the stories failed completely to interest me enough to tolerate the awful game mechanics in both. After you’ve played Chrono Trigger and had a JRPG designed with being fun in mind and having interesting combat where location mattered, the old style of random battles and plain old turn based combat where characters don’t even move just wasn’t worth dealing with. To date I’ve never played either one past the first hour. I hate the trend in modern games to sacrifice gameplay and fun for storytelling, because I won’t experience your story if your game isn’t fun to play.

  28. Yo Mama on May 6, 2022 at 8:40 pm

    everyone here talking about how this video foreshadowed the now legendary _Tokimeki Memorial_ review, i’m just here seeing that this video clearly _also_ foreshadows the, at the time of this writing, as-of-yet unmade but quite likely destined to be even _more_ legendary future _Earthbound_ review

  29. Spyder on May 6, 2022 at 8:40 pm

    Good video

  30. Jules K on May 6, 2022 at 8:40 pm

    Loved the improv

  31. Matthew Koopman on May 6, 2022 at 8:45 pm

    Wow, that #3 game sounds interesting! I’d love to hear Tim discuss it for roughly 6 hours.

  32. Zero Wing on May 6, 2022 at 8:45 pm

    Besides literally referencing Tokimeki Memorial, you can really see the prelude to the gargantuan epic Tokimeki Memorial Action Button Review in the last 20 or so minutes.

  33. Spuds Larsson on May 6, 2022 at 8:47 pm

    Cant wait for the 6 hour MOTHER2 review

  34. Dan Patrick on May 6, 2022 at 8:47 pm

    I love Tim. Also he’s insane

  35. Alexander Gauthier on May 6, 2022 at 8:48 pm

    You are my spirit animal.

  36. Mr. Negative Nancy on May 6, 2022 at 8:48 pm

    1:05:50 "My brother’s best friend Jared . . . [ate] Subway sandwiches everyday" Whoa I did not expect this at the end of a video I thought I finished already.

  37. Rikka-ka ka on May 6, 2022 at 8:49 pm

    I’m glad you feel similarly about Earthbound. It really is special.

  38. Kieran Westphal on May 6, 2022 at 8:49 pm

    #3 is like a delicious, charcuterie board sized cut of the behemoth six hour long meat feast we’d have to wait another year to devour

  39. jay folk on May 6, 2022 at 8:50 pm

    I too worked Target which paid for college education, and can honestly say: being a cart barn attendant in the sun for store guests and ungrateful team members and behind-your-back gossiping managers sucked assssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssss. If youre gonna work retail kids, go work for costco kids – at least they wont schedule you 39 hours weekly to deny you benefits~

  40. Matt Casseday on May 6, 2022 at 8:51 pm

    obligatory I was a 94 baby comment

  41. Poruasecas on May 6, 2022 at 8:53 pm

    Great video!

  42. Phill Ernst on May 6, 2022 at 8:54 pm

    #1 video game character name in 1994: Jad the Taff 39:40
    (honestly, I’d already died when I saw "Kart Bradfield" but then spontaneously imploded as I finished reading the screen left-to-right)

  43. Luxaron on May 6, 2022 at 8:54 pm

    I really appreciate this review of the year I was born.

  44. Milo V on May 6, 2022 at 8:55 pm

    I am looking foward to see when Tim Rogers is 80 years old and see him doing a 60 hour documentary about his passion for videogames and his experiences in the industry.

  45. Jackamomo on May 6, 2022 at 8:55 pm

    Has anyone ever said you are annoying and pretentious?

    Mother? Really? Why? You never really said why that was number 1. You don’t need to. It’s your wordy wordy wordy wordy list. But with so many words being thrown around it might have been interesting to elucidate to me your thought process in choosing Mother as the best game of 1994.

    Forgive me, but. A game where you guide a cast of very simply drawn characters with giant heads around a world full of tweeness and safe gurgling baby noises and pink hairdos only to occasionally read dialogue and waggle your sword at an enemy as scary as a lion-crab or swamp-blob for hours on end, one character at a time and sometimes use a heal potion…. is supposed to be a more compelling prospect than Elevator Action Returns I want to know your not simply regurgitating the sentimental twiddle that poses as game criticism when it concerns a Nintendo product.

    I am left to assume that despite the light and shallow gameplay and modest but admittedly charming art style that the game possesses a je-ne-se-qua, a certain I-don’t-know-what that is just so… perfect and…. quintessential and… sublime that to outline that ‘certain something’ would tarnish or pollute the divine perfection of the masterpiece and its fleeting magic would be lost to ugly boring old words and descriptions and you would be left with tiresome facts and cold hearted criticism when what we are talking about here is religious. Nintendo. The most perfect brand to ever grace video games with it’s indescribable perfection. Along with Square. A developer so sublime they need not change their formula and will tolerate no faltering of your worship towards them.

    Mother 2. The best game of 1994 because. It just IS.

    Oh and you forgot to pronounce the p in Hard Corps. Hard Corps. Hard Corps. Hard Corps. Hard Corps. Hard Corps. Hard Corps. Hard Corps. With a p.

  46. Hunter Haller on May 6, 2022 at 8:56 pm

    1:07:35 this aged very well

  47. GeneralTofu on May 6, 2022 at 8:56 pm

    Watching Tim talk about Tokimeki Memorial for less than six hours just feels wrong.

  48. Erik Feral on May 6, 2022 at 8:57 pm

    9.4/10, I was born that year.

  49. Thomas Lichman on May 6, 2022 at 8:57 pm

    All this video taught me was that my pockets would have been hurting in 1994

  50. PK Mongoose on May 6, 2022 at 8:58 pm

    Remember kids, drink your OJ everyday and you’ll be OOOOOOOK

Leave a Comment