9 Video Games That Got Terrible Reviews (But Were Actually Great)

9 Video Games That Got Terrible Reviews (But Were Actually Great)

Let’s be reasonable now guys…

For more awesome content, check out: http://whatculture.com/gaming
Catch us on Facebook at: https://www.facebook.com/whatculturegaming
Find us on Twitter: http://twitter.com/wculturegaming

———-

Check out our merch store at: http://teespring.com/stores/wcg
Why not join our Discord? http://discord.gg/MHBjvVv

———-

WhatCulture Gaming Podcast now available!
– iTunes: https://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/id1433583146
– Spotify: https://open.spotify.com/show/75Wj1jpLKribbIZKTrf9aI?si=Zj0yx0zpTe-AmFCZXFFI2A

WhatCulture Gaming Podcast is also available on Acast, Podbean, Podbay, Podcast Addict, and more to come!

50 Comments

  1. Jamie Swint on December 18, 2022 at 1:11 am

    Kingdom come deliverance. Probably my favorite game of this gen.

  2. Devanshu Vishwakarma on December 18, 2022 at 1:11 am

    Castlevania lorad of shadow 2 is actually a fun game.

  3. Joe Seward on December 18, 2022 at 1:12 am

    I loved arkham origins! Also loved other m.

  4. R9SNick on December 18, 2022 at 1:12 am

    70+ Metacritic are TERRIBLE reviews? Rly? U mad, bros?

  5. Samuel Melo on December 18, 2022 at 1:12 am

    I guess less than 80 in metacritic means terrible

  6. Soliad OV on December 18, 2022 at 1:13 am

    Most of this games are uninspired trash.

  7. Biggie Turkey on December 18, 2022 at 1:14 am

    where is infinite warfare

  8. SarajevoSunshine on December 18, 2022 at 1:14 am

    Days Gone!

  9. Ian jedi on December 18, 2022 at 1:16 am

    Lost planet was garbage. Sorry dude.

  10. Rebollion Station on December 18, 2022 at 1:17 am

    I actually had to delete Jurassic Park evolution from my pc as I became too addicted to it. Will make a video about it regardless

  11. James Stephenson on December 18, 2022 at 1:17 am

    Arkham Origins getting bad reviews is a massive misconception. It actually got pretty solid reviews, they just weren’t QUITE as good as Asylum and City. As such many people have taken "not quite as good" to mean "bad" when, in fact, it’s arguably as good a game as City but is somewhat underrated The reason for this, in my opinion, is that it’s a sidestep. Where everyone wanted a game that would top city, they got a sequel two years later that was merely "as good as" thus leading to a slight sense of disappointment in some corners. But I’m not sure I know of any Arkham fan who considers it a bad game at all.

  12. tric onex on December 18, 2022 at 1:17 am

    I really liked castlevania lords of shadow 2. The combat is awesome and there are many epic scenes, like the fight against the golden paladin, the battle against Carmilla and the pray of Victor Belmont. I played it on my old ps3 and I was glad when I saw it on games with gold, so I can replay this game on my Xbox one.

  13. Steven An on December 18, 2022 at 1:17 am

    your sentence inflection….it’s too much for me haha.

  14. jihad4realniz on December 18, 2022 at 1:19 am

    Alice Madness Returns Had some Bad Reviews but it was a great Game

  15. Harshit Arora on December 18, 2022 at 1:20 am

    Where’s days gone?

  16. OmarOBboss on December 18, 2022 at 1:22 am

    Arkham Origins is criminally underrated, and for what, not have enough Reddler collectables, kid you not some review mentioned that as flaw

  17. Rishabh Lenka on December 18, 2022 at 1:23 am

    Arkham Origins may have been somewhat buggy, and the controls were a little clunky for me. But the boss fights in Arkham Origins and the story were the absolute best.

  18. Dimitar Rusev on December 18, 2022 at 1:28 am

    Castlevania lords of Shadow 2 is my favourite game. I love every part of her and I am big stealth fan.

  19. Omid Mehdipour on December 18, 2022 at 1:28 am

    and this, my friend, is exactly what you did for Calisto protocol, two years after this video.

  20. AK RAY 11 on December 18, 2022 at 1:28 am

    Its shocking, REALLY SHOCKING, how origins got so much criticism

  21. Simon Reilly on December 18, 2022 at 1:31 am

    No God Hand? This list was MADE for God Hand.

  22. Abhay on December 18, 2022 at 1:32 am

    Arkham origins was a great game
    But the open world is too damn boring

  23. Alexander Blackman on December 18, 2022 at 1:32 am

    Sonic Unleashed to me is this game. Got horrible reviews when it first came out and wasn’t critically loved, now a hit classic and maybe the greatest sonic game ever

  24. LilzMoez on December 18, 2022 at 1:33 am

    Batman was amazing. I was pissed when my save file got corrupted. I didnt want to start all over so i never finished it

  25. Tyrone Green on December 18, 2022 at 1:34 am

    Srry aliens colonel marine’s is legit 1 of my fav games

  26. spyrg on December 18, 2022 at 1:37 am

    Days Gone should be in the list as well. Underrated modern game that was crushed by reviewers. But I am glad that the game is commercial success and sequel apperantly on the way.

  27. Badaboom on December 18, 2022 at 1:38 am

    Arkham origins was just riding off the coattails of an amazing game dev like rocksteady. Origins wasn’t great it was just good. Very glitchy the missions were repetitive and the traveling was annoying

  28. michael james on December 18, 2022 at 1:38 am

    It’s time for games that have good reviews but very bad 1.assassin’s creed odyssey

  29. MagicPenuts on December 18, 2022 at 1:39 am

    I second the Arkham Origins vote, that game was legit solid and had some great elements. The Deathstroke fight, for instance.

  30. Matches_Malone on December 18, 2022 at 1:39 am

    Arkham Origins didn’t really get ‘terrible’ reviews, it got more ‘meh’ reviews. But I totally agree that it was a great game, just misunderstood by its critics.

  31. Aggro'd Kreg on December 18, 2022 at 1:44 am

    Well, I definitely agree with the Arkham Origins entry to a degree. The leveling up system was not perfect, and depending on your playstyle, you could miss out on upgrades in a given run if you completed certain parts of the game without doing the challenges attributed to them.

    I do NOT agree with Other M, though. I have that game, and its gameplay is outright BORING. The issue is Samus can lock on and dodge pretty much anything the game throws at you, breaking the game in your favor. Not to mention that the story railroads you into unlocking several upgrades as the story progresses, so the notion of sequence breaking is non-existent in this game.

    Makes me wonder how truthful they are about the rest of the games in this list.

  32. Hayden Whitbread on December 18, 2022 at 1:45 am

    I really like castlevania LOS2 always thought the reviews were silly!

    Not a perfect game but a damn cool art direction and incredible music! Only thing was the ending was a bit abrupt.

  33. MeludramaticDUDE on December 18, 2022 at 1:45 am

    God Hand should’ve been number 1 , because it received a lots of critics and low ratings more than any game in this list

  34. Talha Ali on December 18, 2022 at 1:46 am

    Scott sounds like he’d be an absolute asshole in real life

  35. TÉCNICA & FUNDAMENTO on December 18, 2022 at 1:46 am

    I really don’t understand origins bad reviews. It’s just awesome!

  36. Syantor on December 18, 2022 at 1:52 am

    I’m glad Other M made a list… i despise what they did to Samus, she’s best girl, and gamings no. 1 woman, but characterization was NOT needed for her. She was a badass, she could of remained one, but they had to ask those questions which im certain no-one was asking… the gameplay is proper solid though, good mix of the 2D and 3D games

  37. Devilsown 18 on December 18, 2022 at 1:52 am

    Slap your head before starting videos bruh.

  38. Steve Chase on December 18, 2022 at 1:52 am

    Great vid. Thanks for this!!!

  39. Reaper Bandit on December 18, 2022 at 1:54 am

    I play bionic commando on a GAME BOY way back in the 90s

  40. sridharan on December 18, 2022 at 1:54 am

    I have no idea why Arkham origins is trashed with negative comments 🙁I finished that game 2 times and I enjoyed it really ♥️

  41. TECHNO KING on December 18, 2022 at 1:55 am

    Arkham origins was a good game but it was not developed by rocksteady

    So critics gave low ratings 😾

  42. frep you on December 18, 2022 at 1:57 am

    the issue i had with jurassic park ev was the limits on building you were only given a fraction of the island to build on and blocked the rest

  43. Game On Dude on December 18, 2022 at 1:57 am

    I loved arkham origins and played it many times..

  44. patrickinferno 1 on December 18, 2022 at 2:00 am

    Lords of Shadow 2 was awesome! It wasn’t revolutionary or anything but still very good and worth playing

  45. Alexandre Rocha on December 18, 2022 at 2:00 am

    They say Castlevania LOS 2 is bad, they are fucking crazy it was a phenomenal game, I like it a lot!

  46. Lamaldo78 on December 18, 2022 at 2:01 am

    gears judgment

  47. Axcel RaVe on December 18, 2022 at 2:05 am

    ..nice seeing Lost Planet here..i own the trilogy (and the spin-off)..i might give it a spin now that were on extended quarantine/lockdown.

  48. Skeletor on December 18, 2022 at 2:08 am

    Shrek the game on PS2 was a blast for me as a kid

  49. Atsu Nymphae on December 18, 2022 at 2:09 am

    Thank you for the validation in regards to Lords of Shadow 2!
    That game looks dope. The cinematic trailer and enemy designs especially (available on Creative Uncut) are excellent.
    Can’t wait to give it a go ^^

    Concerning Other M, I do feel the tight Team Ninja gameplay and clever control scheme were oft overlooked unfairly…
    I’d love to see more of that with this IP.
    This being said, the damage Sakamoto wrought upon Samus’s character cannot be overstated, turning what the community held as a strong female protagonist into a fanservicey, emotionally fragile character who is wholly dependent on a man’s permission for upgrades…

  50. Oliver Tree on December 18, 2022 at 2:10 am

    DAYS GONE! Most underrated game of all time!!!

Leave a Comment