A GREAT Starter Amplifier! NAD Integrated Amplifier – NAD C 338 Review

A GREAT Starter Amplifier! NAD Integrated Amplifier – NAD C 338 Review

Get the NAD C338 here https://amzn.to/364SH37 & here https://bit.ly/3iFlaBi
For a list of products we used in testing the NAD C338 as well as comparable integrated amplifiers, check the description below⬇︎

► REVIEWING THE NAD C338 INTEGRATED AMPLIFIER
My first real hifi amplifier purchase was an integrated amplifier from NAD, the 320BEE.
NAD C338 Hybrid Digital DAC Integrated Amplifier reminds me of my favorite amplifiers from NAD Electronics. The NAD C 338 DAC amplifier has almost everything an audiophile needs to build a hifi system in 2021.

► SHOP THE NAD C338 INTEGRATED AMPLIFIER

▹▹ NAD C338: https://amzn.to/364SH37 / https://bit.ly/3iFlaBi

► MORE FROM NAD

NAD 316BEE: http://bit.ly/2M32Qq6
NAD C368: http://bit.ly/3qOv1I2
NAD C388: https://amzn.to/3sYUgZZ
NAD M10: https://bit.ly/2UCYczX
NAD M33: https://bit.ly/2HzEgKY
NAD T778: https://bit.ly/3mkah8P

► TESTING THE C338 AMP

SPEAKERS
Dali Oberon 1: https://amzn.to/36c0Wuh, https://amzn.to/3sVRIfd
Klipsch La Scala: https://bit.ly/36bPQVb, https://bit.ly/klipschlas
Klipsch Heresy IV: https://bit.ly/35GRnlQ, https://amzn.to/3oF1i44
Monitor Audio Bronze 100: https://bit.ly/3c4fpfi, https://amzn.to/36503U6
Wharfedale Diamond 12.4: http://bit.ly/2Yf7PGM, http://bit.ly/39ZOlvi

TURNTABLES
Technics SL-1200G: https://bit.ly/1200GAA
Audio Technica LP140XP: https://amzn.to/33OfgXO

OTHER SOURCES
VIZIO P-Series Quantum X TV: https://amzn.to/35cC8BO

🎧 FEATURED MUSIC
Panic! at the Disco, Death of a Bachelor: https://amzn.to/3j9fHlw
George Shearing, Blue Chiffon: https://amzn.to/3iOCaEF

► COMPARABLE INTEGRATED AMPLIFIERS

Cyrus One Cast: https://amzn.to/3aviK4P
Cambridge Audio CXA81: https://bit.ly/cxa81ca
Leak Stereo 130: https://bit.ly/33NhWEY
Naim Uniti Atom: https://bit.ly/NaimAtom
Technics G30: https://bit.ly/2KTISgL

★ MORE ANDREW ROBINSON REVIEWS

➔ NAD T778 Review: https://youtu.be/JB8a5qlIl7o
➔ Musical Fidelity M5si Review: https://youtu.be/cnHYXcB_FI4
➔ Naim Uniti Atom Review: https://youtu.be/KdXkSeDn-Zs

INTRO: 00:00
SPECS: 00:58
CLASS D AMPS: 03:16
SOUND: 03:42
PHONO PREAMP: 07:32
HEADPHONE AMP: 08:22
DOWNSIDES: 09:03
COMPARISONS: 09:53
CONCLUSION: 11:29
CONVERSATION: 12:21

► MY REFERENCE AUDIO AND HOME THEATER SYSTEM

POWER
Naim Uniti Atom All In One Music System: https://bit.ly/NaimAtom
Musical Fidelity Integrated Amp: https://bit.ly/M5si

LOUDSPEAKERS
Q Acoustic Concept 300: https://bit.ly/C300wsA
Klipsch Heresy IV: https://bit.ly/heresyiv
Jamo S809: https://amzn.to/356tnK5

SPEAKER STANDS
Kanto Speaker Stands: https://bit.ly/Kanto26
SolidSteel Speaker Stands: https://bit.ly/2VOs7p3

TURNTABLES & ACCESSORIES
Audio Technica LP140XP: https://amzn.to/33OfgXO
Cambridge Audio Direct Drive Turntable: https://bit.ly/AlvaCA
Ortofon 2M Blue: https://bit.ly/OrtBlue
Ortofon 2M Black: https://bit.ly/Ort2MB

TOP SMART TVs
LG 8K TV: https://bit.ly/LG8K99TV
Hisense H9G: https://bit.ly/H9GTV
TCL 6 Series: https://amzn.to/35Vn9NO

SOUNDBARS
SENNHEISER AMBEO: https://bit.ly/35yLQO1

BLUETOOTH / DESKTOP SPEAKERS
Naim Mu-so V2: https://amzn.to/33ASZxI
Kanto YU: https://bit.ly/YUdesk

HEADPHONES
Sony WH-1000XM4 Wireless NCX Headphones: https://bit.ly/WH1000xm4

► MY STREAMING SERVICE
TIDAL (60-day FREE Trial): http://bit.ly/TIDALrobinson

► SHOP OUR LIVING ROOM

LEATHER CHAIR & SOFA: http://bit.ly/NirvanaChr // https://bit.ly/2HI6cMH
ART: https://bit.ly/howfaryt
TV STANDS: https://bit.ly/BDIMEDIA // https://amzn.to/2MUpxNb
EVERYTHING ELSE: https://bit.ly/ARdecor

► STAY CONNECTED

SUBSCRIBE & RING THE 🔔 https://bit.ly/RobinsonYT
JOIN THE CREW: https://bit.ly/ARobMbr
INSTAGRAM: https://bit.ly/AndRobIG
BUSINESS INQUIRIES: https://bit.ly/andrewbiz

FTC: This video is not sponsored. Some links above are affiliate, meaning we make a small percentage if you buy through the link but it won’t change the price for you! Thank you for helping to support the channel.
@NAD Electronics
#NAD #audio #hifi

50 Comments

  1. ebroadnax1 on October 1, 2021 at 7:45 am

    Hello Andrew. I ran across an article on the Yamaha DSP A2070 being used for 2 channel listening. Do you have any feedback on this integrated amp? I have one, but don’t claim to be an audiophile yet and am taking interest. I really enjoy your videos and recommend your channel to friends who are also starting out. Keep up the good work.

  2. Blark Dexture on October 1, 2021 at 7:45 am

    Why must every NAD review have to refer back to the 3020?

  3. Josef Bretvold on October 1, 2021 at 7:47 am

    Great reveiw! I was choosing between this and the H/K Citation Digital Amplifier to connect to my KEF LS50s (old ones). This because of the chromecast integration both amplifiers have and the ability to connect it to my already existing Google-ecosystem. I ended up choosing the Citation amp because of the higher wattage specification since I thought the LS50s would need it. I’m not so sure I made the right choice though.

    Would be very interesting to see you (or anyone else for that matter) to review the H/K Citation amp. I think it’s the direct competitor to the popular sonos systems and fits right into that demographic that wants a good TV-soundsystem, and multiroom capability.

  4. s s on October 1, 2021 at 7:50 am

    Hi
    I need a favor
    Can you suggest which Avr or amp is best for the speakers of Sony MHC GNV111D 5.1 system for I also have 3d Blu-ray player & 3d TV to connect .

  5. Roland lickert on October 1, 2021 at 7:50 am

    I have the NAD C-388 that fits my needs flexibly to upgrade with various Modules and drive my Dynaudio speaker very well and to shine they do need power! I had the NAD S-300 for 20 years a nice warm-sounding amp. But innovation moves on and the 388 has it all in what I like and need.

  6. FanOWater on October 1, 2021 at 7:50 am

    Why do so many amps only have two speaker posts now? My NAD 3155 could connect two sets(and I used both), but since it cooked last Friday it seems the likely replacements will only power 1 pair. A real downgrade if you ask me.

  7. La Quintana on October 1, 2021 at 7:51 am

    Thanks! I looked at a number of integrated amps with my main criteria being streaming. I’d been familiar with the NAD name but never had any of their products. I decided to try the C368 BluOS. At first I was very disappointed in the bass response, but it took nearly a month for the amp to really open up. I am, however, driving a pair of power hungry Amphion Helium 2’s with it, and the 80 watts still needs to be cranked to pick out details. The sound has become excellent and I agree that the soundstage is a bit compressed, especially compared to my Parasound/Paradigm combo in the loft. That soundstage envelopes the entire room 🙂

  8. Derassassin on October 1, 2021 at 7:55 am

    From a "starter" standpoint, going down a notch in price, would an NAD 316bee V2 or a Cambridge AXA35 still be worth what they cost if one wanted to save some coin? In my case on pairing with KEF Q150s.

  9. Christian Wolf on October 1, 2021 at 7:55 am

    Hi, I keep seeing Wharfdale Diamond speakers in the video but cannot find them anywhere else on the channel. Have you reviewed them? I think they are gorgeous and they woulx be perfect for me if they sound great too.

  10. J B on October 1, 2021 at 7:56 am

    These are the best audio reviews I have seen. I own an older, NAD T761, which sadly, has had issues with one channel and I’m done fixing it. I would buy another one and based on this, I would go up one model for more power.

  11. En Ragé on October 1, 2021 at 7:57 am

    The best hifi I listened for the price is yet a pair of Sonos One connected in stereo. You need to have an iPhone to complete the configuration with their intuitive TruePlay equalizer but then you get the most incredibly well balanced sound possible and this deep tight bass sounds incredible. Limits are your only source will be your iPhone but for 400 $ you probably don’t get anything sounding better

  12. Marlon Houston on October 1, 2021 at 7:58 am

    Great videos. I have 2 questions. Your review on the Sherbourn PA 7-350 about 7 yrs ago. How do you feel about that amp now, because someone has 2 for sell and I was wondering if its worth buying today. Q. 2 How do you feel about the new Anthem MRX receivers as well as the AVR’s. Thank you for all you do and I do value your opinion.

  13. Neo Rider91 on October 1, 2021 at 7:58 am

    al you need is love

    i’m joking love doesn’t exists

  14. Paulius Petrauskas on October 1, 2021 at 7:58 am

    I’m now considering this option for my ls50s, but I think it won’t be able to drive them.

  15. Cameron Krause on October 1, 2021 at 8:00 am

    i kicked myself so many times for selling my nad c320bee

  16. MetalJoe on October 1, 2021 at 8:00 am

    Nad is a great brand. I still use a nad 326. Awesome amp

  17. Jason Lopez on October 1, 2021 at 8:03 am

    Thoughts on NAD C 338 vs the Marantz NR1200 receiver? My listening is 95% streaming SiriusXm and the rest my iTunes library. So very low resolution. Source component is an Apple TV. Speakers are Sonus Faber Liuto towers. Currently using a NAD M3 integrated and PS Audio Digital Link III DAC.

  18. Sukhpal Sandhu on October 1, 2021 at 8:04 am

    Love NAD, still using a 20 year old model. But those speaker stands look amazing,. My first best amp was the Mission Cyrus One.,

  19. R Yu on October 1, 2021 at 8:04 am

    I wonder how it would compare to the soundartist 200ia?

  20. Cameron Krause on October 1, 2021 at 8:07 am

    I wish that I had never sold my nad bee c320. It sounded better than a lot of amps that came after it.

  21. Frederica Szilagyi on October 1, 2021 at 8:08 am

    Over the last 15 years I have had a NAD cd player and two amps. They all craped out after about 2 years. I would not buy anything from this company because there is no quality control.

  22. Robert Culp on October 1, 2021 at 8:09 am

    Crossed it off my list right away. No recorder output.

  23. Jim Alden on October 1, 2021 at 8:12 am

    The way you pronounce "Technics" kind of tells me how young you actually are.

  24. J R on October 1, 2021 at 8:14 am

    Would this or more specifically the 368 be a upgrade over the Emotiva pt100 BassX300 combo. I have the Emotiva combo with modified CerwinVega! Speakers and it can be a bit bright at times. I’m looking for a bit warmer sound and think that the NAD might provide some warmth over the Emotiva sound. Any feedback is appreciated thanks!

  25. IulianE on October 1, 2021 at 8:17 am

    I bought this C338 and a pair of Wharfedale Diamonds 12.4,is my first hi-fi system and I love it.Noone talks abouts convenience with this amp,toslinked to a tv is amazing because of auto on/off function of the amp and YOU CAN PROGRAM THE TV REMOTE to turn volume up or down….amazing.I was looking for months to buy a receiver with hdmi arc only to operate the volume of the system by the same remote.

  26. Nick on October 1, 2021 at 8:17 am

    I purchased a NAD C338 just before last Christmas. Its running through a pair of Q Acoustics 3030’s. I’ve previously had much more expensive Arcam and Denon amps running through B&W speakers. In all honesty it sounds great. Its musical, rythmic and fast. I’ve been so pleased with is. Even streaming Spotify its still sounds CD quality. The remote was a little disappointing but I haven’t really needed to use it because the app doea everything you need. I have a very eclectic music taste where everying thing from Fleetwood Macs Rumours to Cardi B’s Up goes and it has yet to disappoint. I’ve seen a few reviews suggesting it doesn’t deliver on musicality but I simply disagree. After barging for a discount, all in i paid 730 GBP and for this money i think its as good as systems I’ve spent 1500 on. If you are thinking of an all in one solution this is a real good option. Also have tv playing through it via optic and again, its great.

  27. Sky on October 1, 2021 at 8:17 am

    why would someone buy this over a home theater AVR?

  28. andré Perron on October 1, 2021 at 8:21 am

    Allo,me I am using NHT 1.8 floor loudspeakers cut in 45 degree diamond point what do you think if it would be connected with the NAD c338 or a Denon pma 600 or even a denon pma 800 thank you,from Montreal,Canada

  29. Stefan Gligorić on October 1, 2021 at 8:22 am

    In Germany this amp is sold used for more than 500€. Who on earth would spend so much on something, if he wants to buy on budget?

    I’d consider spending so much if I had a salary of 5000€, which only few people in Germany have.

    That’s far beyond realistic.

  30. Keith Moriyama on October 1, 2021 at 8:22 am

    Love the loudness boost. A big no, no in the audiophile world, but under certain conditions it can make a system… I don’t have one on my separates system, but I wish I did.

  31. Andrew M on October 1, 2021 at 8:24 am

    Integrateds at this price point would probably be better if they omitted the headphones section and maybe even the phone stage if customers really want those facilities they aren’t that expensive to add at a later date

  32. E S on October 1, 2021 at 8:24 am

    I used to enjoy NAD C320 paired with Dali AXS 5000 for 20+ years.
    Never thought about any upgrade. I could afford times more expensive system but… there was no need, as I was completely satisfied with my system sound.
    Recently C 320 passed away. It looks like 338 is my next NAD.

  33. R. Delgado on October 1, 2021 at 8:25 am

    Andrew!!! Well done sir. Your thoughts on this vs the Marantz NR1200 that you also review well and also called it a "smooth operator”? Thanks!!! I’d love to hear Kristi’s thoughts as well! Sending love from Chicago!

  34. LieLuo on October 1, 2021 at 8:27 am

    You take too long to make a point

  35. IulianE on October 1, 2021 at 8:27 am

    bring her into video…that’s rude

  36. Richie Rahlke on October 1, 2021 at 8:27 am

    Hello together, don’t even try to rate any audio that has been revied by Andrew Robinson. Don’t sing any songs that have been sung by Joe Cocker and don’t try any Leonard Cohen songs. Hard to beat.😊

  37. Keskeinen Aika on October 1, 2021 at 8:28 am

    Thanks for this great review 👍

  38. Ray S on October 1, 2021 at 8:28 am

    I have two NADs.

  39. Jingle Nuts on October 1, 2021 at 8:31 am

    $700 for 50 w why not get Yamaha 801 which can give 100 w with the Dac .

  40. Michael Chatfield on October 1, 2021 at 8:31 am

    Do people find the NAD’s highs quite piercing? I listened to the C328, and really like it EXCEPT that the highs are just too high – just right at the top end. That’s really the only thing that puts me off them

  41. TJ on October 1, 2021 at 8:35 am

    I’m on the hunt for a new integrated amp and Andrew had me convinced this was the one. That was until he said there were no tone controls. That’s a deal-breaker for me. Seriously, how freaking hard could it have been to add that simple feature?

  42. Gryff Longdong on October 1, 2021 at 8:36 am

    Love my nads

  43. Fernando Pires Marques on October 1, 2021 at 8:36 am

    Hi Andrew. I have a question. The Nad c 368 is an amplifier or amplifier and a stream together

  44. gordon james on October 1, 2021 at 8:38 am

    Owned a 316 NAD lasted 3.5 YEARS ,Then i bought a 356 bee it lasted 2.8 years burned power supply So check with your local repair shop ,check the forums for reliability issues and consider an extended warranty wish i had. This is my experience on older NADS ,maybe this is not an issue anymore

  45. eanhalt1 on October 1, 2021 at 8:39 am

    I own a NAD C388 and one thing that absolutely floored me is how much better it sounded after about 100 hours of use. The bass improved and the soundstage opened up even more. Fantastic amp for the bucks. Anyone else experienced this?

  46. Michael Coles on October 1, 2021 at 8:39 am

    I own this amp and the 368 with BluOs Module installed, I love them both. The 80 watts of the 368 is a little extra insurance to drive most speakers nicely. My listening space is about a 12 X 15 room. Paired with Golden Ear Aon 2 and NAD C546 CD player, Project Debut Carbon SB DC turntable with ortofon 2m blue and Emotiva phono pre-amp. I enjoy your reviews, Im subscribing.

  47. Andrew Robinson on October 1, 2021 at 8:40 am

    ★ *NAD C338: **https://amzn.to/364SH37** **https://bit.ly/3iFlaBi** QUESTIONS? ✔︎ THE ⬆︎DESCRIPTION⬆︎*
    ★ *QOTD: What are your thoughts on NAD’s hybrid amp direction?*
    ★ *Love our outtakes? Be sure to watch to the end*
    ★ *COMMENT RULES: Please be respectful. No outside links, URLs, email addresses, etc. Violations are automatically deleted.*

  48. FallenShamsiel on October 1, 2021 at 8:41 am

    Is there any way you can review Magnat Transplus 1500 and Dunavoice DF-8? They both seem to be super nice speakers below 1000$ – I am very curious to know the difference and which to get of them…

  49. Winston Broadway on October 1, 2021 at 8:42 am

    I owned several 2 speaker systems as well as a separate home theatre.. All entry level mostly but reasonably OK.. Better than these colossal muktispeaker setups and I’m purely audio anyway.
    … I was given-yes.. Given!!.. A great condition nad C320BE in great condition… Damn!! Sounds amazing!! Truly great sound for a low power amp. I still have it 15 years later.. Many mates have made offers on it haha

  50. Paulius Petrauskas on October 1, 2021 at 8:43 am

    Could it drive a pair of LS50 Metas in your opinion?

Leave a Comment