Apple iMac M1 review: The ideal portable desktop

Apple iMac M1 review: The ideal portable desktop

Buy Apple’s new iMac here: https://amzn.to/3opcLFk

Get More Engadget:
• Like us on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/engadget
• Follow us on Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/engadget
• Follow us on Instagram: http://www.instagram.com/engadget
• Read more: http://www.engadget.com

50 Comments

  1. Cheshire Cat on September 6, 2021 at 10:41 pm

    Apple is behaving disgracefully and conning its customers by pretending that the new M1 iMac is now available. Unless you are a reviewer, the chances of getting hold of one in the next 2-3 months are zero for the majority of people, certainly in the UK. Unfortunately Apple’s behaviour in launching a product without sufficient stock is typical of an organisation that treats its customers with contempt.

  2. iamsheep on September 6, 2021 at 10:43 pm

    Watching this right after listening to a Slashfilm podcast was weird. Nice to see Devindra in a video though.

  3. Jim Kennedy on September 6, 2021 at 10:43 pm

    He’s Mikey Chen fan! Love me some Simply Dumpling!

  4. Garry Burgess on September 6, 2021 at 10:43 pm

    Small correction though, if someone trips over the cord, it probably will take down the computer. It’s not MagSafe, even though it’s magnetic connection.

  5. Israel Contreras on September 6, 2021 at 10:47 pm

    Good review.

    But im not a fan of all the different colors…i know they go back to the original colors of the original iMacs. The colors are too pastel. I had really always like the silver and grey apple had been using for a while. I know there is still the silver. But it looks different…maybe its the white bezel which is a deal breaker for me as well. Just not a good look imho.

  6. Richard Koerper on September 6, 2021 at 10:48 pm

    The lamp style iMac was a G4 not a G3

  7. N W on September 6, 2021 at 10:50 pm

    Apple really should add touch and pen support to these things, it would be more consistent, portable and competitive with PCs. 100% of artist would rejoice.

  8. DW H on September 6, 2021 at 10:51 pm

    Simple gaming? This thing can play the newest Tomb Raider on highest settings through emulation…

  9. An. tes on September 6, 2021 at 10:52 pm

    Creamsicle iMac lol true

  10. Jacoblox on September 6, 2021 at 10:53 pm

    I love a portable desktop

  11. Ernie Carrillo on September 6, 2021 at 10:55 pm

    You could order the iMac with a vesa mount

  12. Ashley Dale on September 6, 2021 at 10:57 pm

    Right……….. If I wanted a portable computer and I want to move it from room to room as often as this guy does, wouldn’t you buy……. oh I don’t, this strange device called a laptop?

  13. Tejeswar Tripathy on September 6, 2021 at 11:02 pm

    Desktops are meant to be moved around the house. We have laptop for that. 😂

  14. Steve Q2 on September 6, 2021 at 11:02 pm

    Great video… Engadget has always been a source of INFO when needed,. I’m going for Yellow, 512 and 16gb…. you can’t increase as you could with the Older iMacs! also wonder, I do have a wifi enabled HDD which also takes a memory card…or hook up a portable HDD with a card reader as well… I am FULL on Apple in my home, and have a few AirPorts….also had a Titanium Coloured imac years ago… I wish I still had it as a "Piece of Art"…which the New 24" will be….

  15. james cook on September 6, 2021 at 11:02 pm

    It’s playful with a chin for sticky notes…lol

  16. Megan Mengistu on September 6, 2021 at 11:02 pm

    Us 90’s kids have adult money now and want the adult version

  17. Miloš Stanojković on September 6, 2021 at 11:04 pm

    Fastest but ugliest of them all. All in ones

  18. Brad on September 6, 2021 at 11:05 pm

    The more I look, the more confused I get.

  19. May Just May on September 6, 2021 at 11:06 pm

    The ‘g3 lamp shade iMac’ is a G4 iMac.

  20. Terry Best on September 6, 2021 at 11:07 pm

    I can say with certainty there are a large number who will purchase the cheaper model who will plug nothing into the two ports at back or only a mouse.

  21. Jackilyn Pyzocha on September 6, 2021 at 11:09 pm

    Great video so far! Thanks!

  22. codecaine on September 6, 2021 at 11:09 pm

    Great perspective

  23. Stephen Lord on September 6, 2021 at 11:09 pm

    bad fowr the envirommnt the m1

  24. Brent Smithline on September 6, 2021 at 11:10 pm

    The NEW Apple 24 inch M1 iMac is made for normals, not for professionals, or pundits. Most normals never plug any accessories in to there iMac’s. Not even external drives for TIme Machine.

    Now having worked out of college for a professional production company my hopes are much higher for the new truly professional Apple M* iMac’s that will come next.

  25. Ergin Artesia on September 6, 2021 at 11:11 pm

    Wth does liking color have to do with being tech savvy? I’ll tell you… NOTHING. If you actually gave relevant rationale for that statement (and yes I have some but they are very minor) then please share.. but not buying the nuts idea that “serious” machines must be black bezels and black or silver frames. It’s not like silver isn’t an option.

  26. Gwen Walravens on September 6, 2021 at 11:14 pm

    These colors make the new iMac Pro more approachable to kids and less tech savvy users? When I was a kid, we had a grey metal box running windows potato (3.1 I think).
    The screen probably had some pixels.

  27. William Torres on September 6, 2021 at 11:16 pm

    I respect your opinion regarding the keyboard however, I’m noticing that no one have noticed that the keyboard feedback have been improved, it feels more sturdy than the previews design.

  28. David Routh on September 6, 2021 at 11:20 pm

    Where’s the design in a flat slab of nothing – the gory colours don’t help – maybe Apple could do a stainless steel version to honour SpaceX😂

  29. Rich Vanatte on September 6, 2021 at 11:20 pm

    An iMac that works with iPencil would make me a buyer right away.

  30. Jackilyn Pyzocha on September 6, 2021 at 11:21 pm

    What about the "tangerine" iBook clamshell or CRT models?

  31. Jay Dubhashi on September 6, 2021 at 11:23 pm

    Great review! It perfectly explains the portability factor which is one of the best features of this crazy light big screen desktop. And the colors are just plain amazing in a sea of blacks. Apple has made the desktop PC desirable again.

  32. BJ on September 6, 2021 at 11:24 pm

    Someone explain why he is wearing a Mac on videos at his home???

  33. Shawn Allen on September 6, 2021 at 11:25 pm

    Not a fan of the keyboard

  34. Carlos R on September 6, 2021 at 11:25 pm

    The best thing about these computers is that they shouldn’t feel a lot worse as far as speed goes over the years. They should last a lot longer and only lack in what hardware the new ones will get. Surfing the web should still be snappy 5 years from now. These will be very good to get as used models at much better prices after current users get tired of the color they chose.

  35. Jackilyn Pyzocha on September 6, 2021 at 11:26 pm

    I love "creamsicle."

  36. Brady Velvet on September 6, 2021 at 11:27 pm

    The orange one makes me think of orange cream popsicles!
    Yum! 😋 😂😂

  37. charityjf on September 6, 2021 at 11:28 pm

    Stupid question, but I’ve never had an iMac… do you have to shut it down to move it from one room to another, or can you just put it to sleep / keep it running for a short time?

  38. Warlock on September 6, 2021 at 11:28 pm

    Portable isn’t really what they want to call it. Moveable, maybe. It’s basically a giant iPad with a rubbish stand.

  39. techZoNe on September 6, 2021 at 11:29 pm

    Intel – everyone hats me 😂😘

  40. Michelle Williams on September 6, 2021 at 11:30 pm

    I brought mine 4 days ago in pink and red

  41. Leo Vice on September 6, 2021 at 11:31 pm

    In as much as the portability sounds cool, but if you have a family and that thing is put in different locations, you are just asking for the kids to knock it over. Its not if but rather when it will happen

  42. Russ Eagle on September 6, 2021 at 11:31 pm

    Great video, thank you. 🇬🇧

  43. Jackilyn Pyzocha on September 6, 2021 at 11:31 pm

    I had a "Bondi Blue" imac in the day!

  44. Ben Aqua on September 6, 2021 at 11:32 pm

    All of a sudden everyone will have the new iMac in their kitchens and bathrooms and maybe even one inside their underwear

  45. tiana roberge nut job 3 on September 6, 2021 at 11:33 pm

    Cool

  46. dankspain on September 6, 2021 at 11:34 pm

    Right, a lot people here are making fun of this “portable desktop” take but my dad has been dreaming of getting an imac to this for years and I think it is finally feasible. I think people on the internet are either enthusiasts or pros and miss the point of these base configuration consumer electronics.

  47. uzbekistan siberia on September 6, 2021 at 11:34 pm

    it doesnt need anything else. that is the whole computer?

  48. Video Station on September 6, 2021 at 11:39 pm

    Can we play games?

  49. Caden Churchill on September 6, 2021 at 11:39 pm

    Now that I’ve seen the orange, I’m not sure if I like this one or the pink/red best! So pretty!

  50. Chih Chang on September 6, 2021 at 11:41 pm

    so…lan party anyone?

Leave a Comment