Apple Watch Review: Can it Free Us From Phones? | The New York Times

Apple Watch Review: Can it Free Us From Phones? | The New York Times

The technology columnist Farhad Manjoo asks whether the Apple Watch’s new Taptic interface will give us an alternative to constantly checking our phones.

Produced by: Rebekah Fergusson and Farhad Manjoo

Read the story here: http://nyti.ms/1y47ndU

Subscribe to the Times Video newsletter for free and get a handpicked selection of the best videos from The New York Times every week: http://bit.ly/timesvideonewsletter

Subscribe on YouTube: http://bit.ly/U8Ys7n

Watch more videos at: http://nytimes.com/video

—————————————————————

Want more from The New York Times?

Twitter: https://twitter.com/nytvideo

Instagram: http://instagram.com/nytvideo

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/nytimes

Google+: https://plus.google.com/+nytimes

Whether it’s reporting on conflicts abroad and political divisions at home, or covering the latest style trends and scientific developments, New York Times video journalists provide a revealing and unforgettable view of the world. It’s all the news that’s fit to watch. On YouTube.

Apple Watch Review: Can it Free Us From Phones? | The New York Times
http://www.youtube.com/user/TheNewYorkTimes

19 Comments

  1. Sharell Sixta on December 8, 2020 at 9:34 pm

    do it work can you tell me please

  2. JÖYの貓 on December 8, 2020 at 9:44 pm

    Technology will only makes us further away from true social interactions than bringing it closer

  3. B. B. on December 8, 2020 at 9:48 pm

    Well, here is one product that I will NEVER buy; or should I say – WASTE my money on.

  4. 525Lines on December 8, 2020 at 9:49 pm

    I just see myself bumping it against a door frame or wall and wrecking it. Forget it. My $10 Tozai watch works just fine.

  5. Jason Eman on December 8, 2020 at 9:49 pm

    is it a stand alone phone? like the Samsung gear s?

  6. José Duran on December 8, 2020 at 9:59 pm

    goodness the audio is awful

  7. necessaryevil455 on December 8, 2020 at 10:00 pm

    I hope the people that get them enjoy the little square impression they get when their airbag deploys. 

  8. Bezad S on December 8, 2020 at 10:02 pm

    Ha ha ha, a $600 to $10,000 watch, Apple is very funny.

  9. pyromcr on December 8, 2020 at 10:03 pm

    I still don’t see what the point is because you still have to have your phone with you. This needs to be a fully standalone device or if its going to be tethered to a phone, it needs to cost less than $100.

  10. Marc Chester on December 8, 2020 at 10:04 pm

    looking forward to seeing all the new wearable devices that come out after this.
    do you have any thoughts of what would be next?

  11. Luke Knudsen on December 8, 2020 at 10:05 pm

    How can a supplemental device free us from phones?

  12. AppleTechLikes on December 8, 2020 at 10:09 pm

    SO SICK OF PEOPLE COMPLAINING ABOUT THE WATCH. IF YOU REALLY HATE GO CUT YOURSELF JUST FOR THE SAKE OF YOU HATING IT

  13. mah0 on December 8, 2020 at 10:11 pm

    How can The NY Times not afford a proper mic is the question o.O

  14. Lemuel Ang on December 8, 2020 at 10:13 pm

    i think the apple watch is a great smartwatch

  15. Luke Withey on December 8, 2020 at 10:14 pm

    I want to know how his shirt pocket swapped sides at the end…

  16. IJustMadeAComment on December 8, 2020 at 10:19 pm

    Oh ya, that’s what I need a tiny, dulled down version of my phone that’s in my pocket on my arm.

  17. richard murphy on December 8, 2020 at 10:19 pm

    in the Seventies had payphones and people got Laid a Lot "Now not so much Dutch"

  18. asjeot on December 8, 2020 at 10:23 pm

    So you’re shifting your addiction from your phone to your watch? Smart…

  19. Ilqr D. on December 8, 2020 at 10:25 pm

    omg who the hell is this man?

Leave a Comment