Forget the AirPods Max! | B&O Beoplay H95 ANC Headphones Review

Forget the AirPods Max! | B&O Beoplay H95 ANC Headphones Review

Reviewing the Bang & Olufsen B&O BeoPlay H95 noise cancelling headphones, a super-expensive rival to Apple’s AirPods Max, and the best pair of ANC ‘phones I’ve tested in 2021. The audio quality is superb, as you’d hope for something this expensive, while you also get Qualcomm AptX Adaptie support for movies and gaming.

I’ve been testing the BeoPlay H95 for almost two weeks now, enjoying the peace from B&O’s noise cancellation smarts. This ANC can automatically adapt to suit your environment, but I preferred just cranking it right up. That way you can drown out most of what’s going on around you.

Bang & Olufsen have put those 95 years of experience to good use here. The dual 40mm titanium drivers pump out incredible sound, for any genre of music.

The only sore point with these headphones is the B&O app. On Android it had issues staying connected with my BeoPlay H95, often throwing up errors.

That issue aside, I loved reviewing these headphones, which are definitely among the best I’ve ever tested. If you have the cash and are tempted by Apple’s AirPods Max, I’d say grab these instead.

50 Comments

  1. Voodoofly on May 12, 2022 at 8:04 pm

    I buy one H95 and still happy with the H95, but B&O hase exchange the first device, no electronic problem, only the head cushion from the headband came off

    in the end I got a brand new one, but until then the repair and support process in Germany was pure horror
    I had to call countless times because I always got a UPS return label without a barcode

    this all took from 11 April 2021 to middle July 2021 !!! the purest horror !!!
    That is the reason why I prefer to buy from amazon, because something like this can normally be done in a few days
    I don’t know exactly how much anymore, but a few phone calls were necessary
    The B&O support staff (Germany) were always really, really nice, but in the end it doesn’t help if the logistics partner wrong

    Now I have made a protection around the fabric of the hanger
    The head cushion, like the ear cushions, should also be able to be removed for cleaning, then everything would be perfect
    Otherwise the best headset I have ever had in terms of sound, I would buy it again

  2. Lanonexa on May 12, 2022 at 8:06 pm

    Did I see a aot background?

  3. noupot on May 12, 2022 at 8:07 pm

    I prefer the AirPod Max and by far.

  4. aune on May 12, 2022 at 8:07 pm

    Im considering buying these, but ive got the 3rd gen beoplays and are they worth the upgrade?

  5. Blairtronica on May 12, 2022 at 8:07 pm

    The EU volume limiter is the only major thing holding these back.

  6. Xinyao Yin on May 12, 2022 at 8:09 pm

    honestly, the aluminum (I got the gold one) case is embarrassing to use in a coffee shop setting. I like to be incognito and this is not what I was looking for lol. I’ll just use mine at home

  7. Robin Singh on May 12, 2022 at 8:10 pm

    Thank you for your review. How many devices can H95 connect to parallel? How quickly it can auto-switch between 2-3 devices, if possible.

  8. Douglas SPRINGALL on May 12, 2022 at 8:10 pm

    that soft case looks good for putting these into a travel backpack

  9. Sean Joe on May 12, 2022 at 8:12 pm

    The sound almost similar to hd 600

  10. Simon Duncan on May 12, 2022 at 8:14 pm

    I got H95 excellent headphones
    Funnily enough I’ve had no issues at all with the app ???

  11. Jamie Laughton on May 12, 2022 at 8:14 pm

    I have a pair of airpods max & bose 700 and they are both awesome these do look amazing though!

  12. Fai Li on May 12, 2022 at 8:14 pm

    That’s ridiculous for that price I can buy 3 decent headphones

  13. Jacob Em on May 12, 2022 at 8:15 pm

    Soundstage is terrible here. I regret buying them.

  14. Carcharodon1968 on May 12, 2022 at 8:17 pm

    The price of the AirPods Max in Germany is 400€, the H95 is 799€. That’s a stupid comparison.

  15. Jawsjawsjawsrg on May 12, 2022 at 8:19 pm

    How do they stack up against Sony 1000mx3 s?

  16. Nikolai on May 12, 2022 at 8:21 pm

    Is there a problem with beeing from the noise cancellation still? Had that problem with H9i

  17. Florin Moldovanu on May 12, 2022 at 8:24 pm

    6:18 :))

  18. Charlie FM on May 12, 2022 at 8:25 pm

    If ANC doesn’t work when it’s plugged in, does that mean that it doesn’t work on flights?

  19. Charica Roche on May 12, 2022 at 8:27 pm

    Thanks for sharing your views on the B&O Beoplay H95. Would love to see you release a comparison video of Technics headphones, specifically the F70N vs A800.

  20. Peter Tingley on May 12, 2022 at 8:29 pm

    I love the look of these but I wouldn’t say "forget airpods max" when the price of these new are around $800 usd

  21. Robert F on May 12, 2022 at 8:31 pm

    Would like a pair, but here in Aus, they retail for $1399. Never seem to be offered at a lower price during sales.

  22. ricardo duran on May 12, 2022 at 8:32 pm

    I have the h95 but the volume while using it with iPhone is very low

  23. LaughingSaint on May 12, 2022 at 8:36 pm

    Will they pair to two devices at once ?

  24. Armin Drk on May 12, 2022 at 8:37 pm

    I wonder how their sound quality compares to Sennheiser Momentum 3 (the best sounding wireless headphones available) I tried every highly rated wireless headphones,except the new Bang & Olufsen H95.

  25. Marinko Marinko on May 12, 2022 at 8:40 pm

    800EUR vs 425EUR, huge gap.

  26. Alfie - on May 12, 2022 at 8:41 pm

    Bangin’ review

  27. Daniel Ortiz on May 12, 2022 at 8:41 pm

    "I almost sh*t myself when they came off" I would of too man…

  28. chill6789 on May 12, 2022 at 8:42 pm

    Money isn’t the problem
    For $800 the ear cups aren’t comfortable, they’re heavy, the battery isn’t great, they’re not low profile
    I can buy 2 Sony xm4 and have $100 extra
    You people may say the Sonys may break after a couple of years, that’s why I will buy 2
    The Sony’s are lighter and have a lower profile
    I don’t care how great those headphones sound & what premium materials they’re using it’s still not worth $800
    Sennheiser 3 are 350$ and have better battery life and has leather on the ear cups

  29. mohamedahmed1023 on May 12, 2022 at 8:44 pm

    Does this headphone have voice prompts? Like when transitioning from ANC to transparency to nothing? Or when connected or disconnected to a device? I have the HX and there are no voice prompts. Just subtle sounds, which I find very unsatisfactory.

    Also, is H95 integration to the B&O app solid? I found the app to be buggy as hell on my HX and Android phone.

    Finally, is the wear sensor reliable? I found the HX’s wear sensor worked decently on my phone but not well on my PC.

    I think B&O needs to work on their app and other software details that Sony, Bose, and even companies like B&O have figured out.

  30. Arnav Patel on May 12, 2022 at 8:44 pm

    Hey you can use VPN and the app will connect faster

  31. Darrell C. on May 12, 2022 at 8:44 pm

    The touch controls are hooooorible!! Worst part about them.

  32. Shawn ZX on May 12, 2022 at 8:44 pm

    For some reason I just can’t appreciate the tuning of the H95, as I recall it was way too crisp? AirPods Max or B&O H9 sounds more balanced or a nice V Shape

  33. Brian on May 12, 2022 at 8:44 pm

    $800 and the anc doesnt even work when using it wired? They had enough foresight to include an airplane adapter but not to let you use the ANC when using the airplane adapter?

  34. CaraPlay on May 12, 2022 at 8:45 pm

    One thing I’d add is that they also have very good microphones. So you can use them as your work headset as well.

  35. Bob Whyte on May 12, 2022 at 8:46 pm

    Rubbish. You likely were given these for the review

  36. Rolf Berge on May 12, 2022 at 8:46 pm

    I have the 1 Gen H9 and the sound quality is awesome, the ANC not so much. So if these are much better when it comes to music sound I will buy these even if they cost over $1000 where I live.

  37. Orlok Subodai on May 12, 2022 at 8:47 pm

    I just received the H95 and I have owned the APM for around 6 months now. Before the APM, I owned the Sony WH-1000XM3 for several years and this was primarily used for my frequent business trips to Asia as well as within the US. For this purpose, the Sony was just fine – kill the noise during the flights – but the sound wasn’t up to snuff considering that I’m an audiophile with headphones like the Abyss AB-1266 Phi TC and RAAL SR1a being driven by Chord TT2 DAC, Mscaler and TToby amp as well using Audeze LCDi4 and a custom JH Audio Layla IEM for mobile. So, I’m one of those crazy audiophiles (although I decided enough is enough and that I’ve reached my endgame for that kind of stuff) and decided that I need to really upgrade my collection of mobile true wireless ANC headphones and earphones.

    Compared to the Sony XM3, the APM was definitely a big upgrade in almost every way – especially the sound but in usability as well. For me, the comfort wasn’t quite as good as I expected and it has moisture condensation issue in the ear cups that become bothersome after an hour or two so that has started frustrating me. That’s when I started looking at alternatives. I’ve been through the Sony and Bose QC route over the years and wanted to move on from those although they are fine for what they are in their price points. So I looked at the pricier options from the likes of M&D, B&W, and Mont Blanc before deciding the APM made the most sense. The ANC is great and the sound is very good but I just couldn’t seem to bond with it. I liked it but I didn’t love it.

    Enter the B&O H95 on my radar. At first, I rolled my eyes at the price but, heck, the Abyss headphone with its TOTL cable is almost 10x the price of this and needs another $17K worth of DAC, amp and cables so it could very well be a "bargain" in comparison. Plus, I can take it on my business trips and RV/camping excursions as well as use it at the office (at work and at home) without being tethered by a cable while enjoying pretty decent sound quality. That was my hope and plan and, I have to say, it has worked out exactly to my expectations. The H95 is great and addresses all of the shortcomings – however small – of the APM.

    The build quality is excellent as expected and has all the necessary features and I do like the dials to adjust the volume and the ANC level although the small dial on the APM is fine as well. Most of the time, I have the ANC set to the max and that’s fine. I think the ANC on the H95 is excellent and very comparable to that of the APM and the Sony XM3. Comfort is definitely better on this for me than the APM. Not sure what it is about the APM but it just doesn’t seem to conform to my head as well as the H95. I’ll need more time with the H95 to reach a verdict but, after a few hours, it still feels good and I don’t have the annoying condensation I’ve been experiencing with the APM.

    Sound-wise, which is the most important factor, the H95 isn’t going to compare to TOTL "summit-fi" headphones from the likes of Abyss, RAAL, Hifiman, and Audeze that I own or have owned in the past but this is just in a different category and price point. That being said, I’m quite impressed with the overall sound quality of the H95. Even coming from that absurd segment of the audiophile world, I can say that I’d be happy with the sound quality of the H95 for most of the day and relegate the expensive stuff to occasional serious listening sessions when I’m willing to be chained with cumbersome cables to a morass of boxes connected by a spaghetti mess of more cables.

    The H95’s sound is very clear, balanced, neutral, and spacious with a deep but unobtrusive bass. The soundstage is by far the best I’ve heard on an ANC wireless headphone and the imaging is also excellent with nice separation between the various instruments. The midrange is full-bodied and very natural sounding. The treble has just the right amount of shimmer and never gets grating, no matter what kind of genre I play. I mainly listen to classical, jazz, acoustic and ambient electronic although I will sometimes dig out my old rock, metal, and pop kinds of stuff. I prefer a very balanced sound without any specific bands of frequencies being emphasized and the H95’s sound signature delivers exactly that.

    I still plan to keep the APM and I’m sure my wife will use it more often than I do now. I guess it’s basically hers now. Overall, for me, the H95 is just so much better – especially in regards to the sound but also in comfort – than the APM. To me, the sound of the H95 is easily superior although the APM is no slouch and is certainly much, much better sounding than the Sony XM3 which I’ve now passed onto one of my sons. My wife and my sons get my leftovers. Haha.

    In conclusion, the H95 is everything I expected it to be and, for me, it’s definitely worth every penny. It seems that it will still be some while before I can go on my quarterly 2~3 week business trips to Asia visiting suppliers and customers or even within the US with this unending pandemic situation but the H95 will be great at home and in the office as well. Very pleased with the H95 and I highly recommend it to the audiophile types who want to get the best possible ANC wireless headphone. This being said, I fully understand that $850 can seem kind of ridiculous when there are very good options like the APM, XM4, Bose 700 and other great brands like Bowers & Wilkins and Master & Dynamic. If you can allocate the budget, do go for it. It isn’t perfect but it pretty much checks all the boxes.

  38. Kamil Kublicki on May 12, 2022 at 8:47 pm

    Much better looking than airpods max maybe a little more expensive but also better quality (not metal or alu) in this price range i think they are worth it.

  39. Rizki Ferdian on May 12, 2022 at 8:47 pm

    Apple products are average bias. Honestly. Apple to compare to Bang & Olufsen is like Day and Night. B&O is real High-end Audio Visual limited quantity.

  40. Horvàthh Csongor on May 12, 2022 at 8:48 pm

    What? A full month salary? Hell nah stick to my imaginary headphone

  41. Langdon on May 12, 2022 at 8:49 pm

    debating whether to lash out and get these, or stay with my Sennheiser Momentum 3…

    It’s a sh*t-tonne of cash for just headphones… This amount of dough could get the top Bose Soundbar 900, or even a full Samsung 7.1.2 Atmos/DTS:x Soundbar home-theatre setup.
    Im hoping the cost isn’t just materials and fancy case, but sound clarity/quality that would blow all typical popular bluetooth headphones away!

  42. Kanz on May 12, 2022 at 8:49 pm

    How do these compare to the Drop Pandas?

  43. Barrie Moorcroft on May 12, 2022 at 8:50 pm

    Or think of them this way, these once in a 20yr purchase of quality headphones are the uquivilent price of a mid-range phone with a 2 yr life span.
    Buy these, and keep your phone an extra year.

  44. David Guldager on May 12, 2022 at 8:51 pm

    Sorry but your are totally worth. H95 does not have any noise cancellation. I hear everyone around me and I don’t think it’s the money worth!

  45. Christian Stald Skoven on May 12, 2022 at 8:51 pm

    @TechSpurt – or others sporting the same haircut:
    tl;dr: Do you get the "gamer’s dent" while using these? Are they hurting your scalp?

    I have the Beoplay HX and use them multiple hours at work.
    I get the famous "gamers’ dent" and they get quite (VERY) painful to wear on the scalp.
    I have to rearrange them every 15min for it to be bearable.

    I had the same issue with Sennheiser Momentum 2.0.
    None of them are what you would call cheap headphones – so they should also be comfortable, IMHO.

    I’m thinking of "upgrading" to the H95 – if they’re more pleasant to wear?

    Any of you "short haired" guys experiencing similar issues with the H95 – or is the "pillow" on the headband soft enough that you are not annoyed by it?

    I’m assuming this wouldn’t be a problem if you had hair…

  46. Alexander Dalca on May 12, 2022 at 8:54 pm

    Great review. Very informative.

  47. floyd roldan on May 12, 2022 at 8:55 pm

    Can these headphones be played with Xbox series x

  48. darkdayzero on May 12, 2022 at 8:58 pm

    You absolutely skipped the Aluminium carrying case. Why use a pouch when you get a super stable aluminium case?

  49. Sam on May 12, 2022 at 9:02 pm

    This is exactly what ive been looking for!!!

  50. Terrell Dodson on May 12, 2022 at 9:03 pm

    I couldn’t get past "spooge-worthy" lol

Leave a Comment