HIGH END Home Theater Receivers – BEST NAD Amplifier? NAD T778 Review.

HIGH END Home Theater Receivers – BEST NAD Amplifier? NAD T778 Review.

HIGH END Home Theater Receivers – BEST NAD Amplifier? NAD T778 Review.
NAD T778 – https://bit.ly/3mkah8P
⬇︎DESCRIPTION⬇︎
Which AV receiver should I buy is a common question on the channel and everyone wants to know which av receiver is best for music. The NAD receiver, T 778, is a great home theater receiver. Packed with tons of performance and customization makes this NAD amplifier great for streaming music and watching movies.

@NAD Electronics – Review of the T 778 Receiver

► REVIEWING THE NAD T778 AV RECEIVER

▹▹ NAD T 778 AV Receiver (Crutchfield): https://bit.ly/3mkah8P
▹▹ NAD T 778 AV Receiver (World Wide Stereo): https://bit.ly/37d1eSC

► MORE FROM NAD

NAD T578 V3i Receiver: https://amzn.to/2Fp9una
NAD C338 Integrated Amplifier: https://amzn.to/2IqGfBI
NAD M33 Integrated Amp: https://bit.ly/2HzEgKY
NAD M17 V2i AV Surround Sound Processor: https://bit.ly/3lPpAGe

SHOP ALL NAD Electronics: https://bit.ly/2J6DZQr

► TESTING THE NAD T778 9.2 Channel Home Theater AV RECEIVER

HOME THEATER SPEAKERS
JAMO 809 Tower Speakers: https://amzn.to/356tnK5
JAMO 803 Bookshelf Speakers: https://amzn.to/2F6hMQw
JAMO Center Channel Speaker: https://amzn.to/2QXiYby
JAMO Subwoofer: https://bit.ly/Jamo810
SolidSteel Speaker Stands: https://bit.ly/SolidAA

HIFI STEREO SPEAKERS
Concept 300 Speakers with Stands: https://bit.ly/C300wsA

SOURCES
Chromecast with Google TV: https://bhpho.to/3o1xZIq
Nvidia Shield: https://bit.ly/nvidiasss
LG 8K TV: https://bit.ly/3kc1btW

🍿 MOVIES
Black Panther: https://amzn.to/3594uMr
Piper: https://amzn.to/346tBjD

🎧 MUSIC
The Japanese House, Good at Falling: https://amzn.to/3j5pSHs
Caroline Polachek, Pang: https://amzn.to/3dwR00R
Porches, Rangerover: https://amzn.to/3k79Bmr
The 1975, Notes on a Conditional Form: https://amzn.to/344znCa

▷▷ COMPARABLE HOME THEATER RECEIVERS

Arcam AVR30 Receiver: https://bit.ly/3nYvGpL
Lexicon RV6 7.2.4 Receiver: https://bit.ly/2FzYSSw
NAD T 758 V3i 7.1 Channel Receiver: https://bit.ly/37heplx
Sony STR 1080 Receiver: https://bit.ly/STRDN1080
Yamaha RXA2080 Receiver: https://bit.ly/YA2080R
Yamaha Aventage A3080 Receiver: https://bit.ly/Yamaha3080

★ MORE ANDREW ROBINSON REVIEWS

➔ Yamaha Aventage A3080 Review: https://youtu.be/fBifGxSda7s
➔ Sony STR1080 Review: https://youtu.be/pQJSyAMdda0
➔ Denon S960H Review: https://youtu.be/ow1hmpve-GM

► MY REFERENCE AUDIO AND HOME THEATER SYSTEM

POWER
Naim Uniti Atom All In One Music System: https://bit.ly/NaimAtom
Musical Fidelity Integrated Amp: https://bit.ly/M5si

LOUDSPEAKERS
Q Acoustic Bookshelf Speakers: https://bit.ly/C300wsA
Klipsch Heresy IV Floorstanding Speakers: https://bit.ly/heresyiv
Jamo C97ii Towers: https://bit.ly/C97II

SPEAKER STANDS
Kanto Bookshelf Speaker Stands: https://bit.ly/Kanto26
SolidSteel Speaker Stands: https://bit.ly/SolidAA

TURNTABLES
U-Turn Orbit Plus Record Player (good): https://bit.ly/uturnspec
Fluance RT85 Turntable (better): https://bit.ly/RT85player
Cambridge Audio Direct Drive Turntable (best): https://bit.ly/AlvaCA

RECORD PLAYER CARTRIDGES
Ortofon 2M Blue Cartridge (better): https://bit.ly/BlueAA
Ortofon 2M Black Cartridge (best): https://bit.ly/BLKAA

HEADPHONES
Sony WH-1000XM4 Wireless Noise Canceling Headphones: https://bit.ly/WH1000xm4
Modern Wood Headphone Stand: https://amzn.to/3g9CpIp

SOUNDBARS
LG FLAGSHIP SOUND BAR: https://bit.ly/LGSN11sb
SENNHEISER AMBEO: https://bit.ly/AmbeoWWS

BEST SMART TV
LG 8K TV: https://bit.ly/LG8K99TV // https://bit.ly/3kc1btW

BEST BUDGET SMART TV
Hisense 65-inch QLED TV: https://bit.ly/H9GTV

MEDIA CABINET & TV STAND
BDI Octave Media Cabinet: https://bit.ly/BDIMEDIA

BLUETOOTH / DESKTOP SPEAKERS
Klipsch The Fives: https://bit.ly/fivesUS
Kanto YU Desktop Speakers: https://bit.ly/YUdesk

► MY STREAMING SERVICE
TIDAL (60-day FREE Trial): http://tidal.refr.cc/BL8G48M

► SHOP OUR LIVING ROOM

ARTICLE LEATHER CHAIR: http://bit.ly/NirvanaChr
ARTICLE SOFA: https://bit.ly/2HI6cMH
ART: https://bit.ly/howfaryt
EVERYTHING ELSE: https://bit.ly/ARdecor

► MY FILM KIT – https://bit.ly/ARFilmKit

► STAY CONNECTED

SUBSCRIBE & RING THE 🔔: https://bit.ly/RobinsonYT
JOIN THE CREW: https://bit.ly/ARobMbr
INSTAGRAM: https://www.instagram.com/recoveringaudiophile
BUSINESS INQUIRIES: https://bit.ly/andrewbiz

FTC: This video is not sponsored. Some links above are affiliate, meaning we make a small percentage if you buy through the link but it won’t change the price for you! Thank you for helping to support the channel.

#nad #hometheater #avreceiver

50 Comments

  1. Mark Lugg on June 29, 2021 at 12:34 am

    Thanks for the review. Help me in my final decision to purchase one.

  2. pg on June 29, 2021 at 12:34 am

    Concerning Dirac… on both the T778 and the Arcam AVR850, I preferred the out-of-box sound better after several attempts. I chalk this up to the included Mics not being up to the job.

  3. Buddy Jenkins on June 29, 2021 at 12:34 am

    This amp sounds so good on my old Klipsch RF7’s, I am considering the M33 on my La Scala II speakers, any thoughts?

  4. Jim Nixon on June 29, 2021 at 12:41 am

    What is the video with the birds? Thank you.

  5. Phil Tomaskovic on June 29, 2021 at 12:42 am

    Would have liked more input sources. I have a t787 and have to combine analog and digital sources on one input because I ran out. The 787 has 9 and a tuner on it’s remote, could have at least done 9 on the 778 and have the tuner button go with BluOS. Gee, anthem let’s you create 30, overkill but hey give me a couple more than 8.

    Also only 2 analog connections. Yes, there’s a phono but no use if I use my higher end phono preamp..

  6. Andrew Robinson on June 29, 2021 at 12:46 am

    ★ *QOTD: Would you use a receiver for both high-end home theater as well as two-channel audio playback? If yes, what product comes to mind?*
    ★ *REVIEWING: **https://bit.ly/3mkah8P** // NEED MORE INFO? ✔︎ THE ⬆︎DESCRIPTION⬆︎*
    ★ *COMMENT RULES:*
    – No outside URLs or YouTube links.
    – Please be respectful to one another. Harassment and threats will not be tolerated.

  7. Emil Kihlström on June 29, 2021 at 12:47 am

    Thanks for the video. I have the NAD T187 pre/ pro upgraded with Dirac/ atmos and 4K hdmi. It has some minor issues but sounds really good with Dirac enabled. Movies or music have never sounded this good. Some issues with hdmi like 4K HDR can give a blank screen with the Nvidia shield. NAD are not as large as like Sound united so some issues is almost expected. Maybe they have the dongle to be able to easy upgrade it when new tech becomes available? Just like the MDC modules. Which are not cheap… spent about $1500 on these upgrades.

  8. I am puzzleman on June 29, 2021 at 12:48 am

    Handshake issue with LG, make sure earc is off inside LG when using arc, solved my problems

  9. Jeevan Motors on June 29, 2021 at 12:49 am

    Hi Bro 👋 This is Charles from India Actually Here YAMAHA RxA 3080 Selling it for 2000USd" But Nad For 4000"USD Price So which is a Great choice for Home theaters kindly suggest me your Expertise Advice Please"

  10. Colins121 on June 29, 2021 at 12:50 am

    Curious what you think of the NAD T778 vs Anthem MRX740.

  11. Ryan Lauko on June 29, 2021 at 12:51 am

    I’m on the fence with the NAD. It seems like the perfect fit for my needs, but if there is a chance that NAD will release an updated version of the 778 with HDMI 2.1, I’d gladly wait until a release later this year.. Does NAD usually do yearly updates? Do you have any guess as to whether they might release another version this year with refinements?

    This channel is fantastic, by the way. Recently upgraded my Pioneer Andrew Johnson bookshelf speakers to his ELAC reference speakers and replaced my sub with an SVS 1000 Pro based on your reviews.

  12. Blairtronica on June 29, 2021 at 12:55 am

    My beloved SR 5007 went into protection mode permanently, so I’m contemplating a new AVR. So, let me ask, in your opinion, which AVR? The NAD T778, the ARCAM AVR10 or another comparable Marantz SR? Keep in mind, I really don’t want another Marantz, considering mine only lasted eight years. Nonetheless, I’d like to know which Marantz is comparable to the aforementioned. Oh and thanks for this review, as the 778 appears to be the premium solution, if you can’t afford separates.

  13. Nikki & Tom Wallace on June 29, 2021 at 12:55 am

    PLEASE RAEVIEW THE Anthem AVR’s, review the 1140 PLEASE. It’s supposed to be great for music and I’d. Be curious as to your thoughts. They use clad AB for 5 channels rest are class D

  14. Thiem Brandt on June 29, 2021 at 12:56 am

    Bought one!

  15. Anthony Melendez on June 29, 2021 at 12:57 am

    Hey, not sure if you will respond to this since it’s an older video. But what are your thoughts on this AVR vs going with a slightly more expensive separate system. I’m looking at the Marantz AV7706 and MM7055 5 channel amp. Which would cost about $1000 more. Would you go with the more expensive separate system over this?

    Thanks

  16. Dark Room on June 29, 2021 at 12:58 am

    I use my Marantz SR7007 for my home theater 5.2 as well as my 2.2 music system. I even use it (on occasion) to power my headphones. Now that’s an all in one solution a lot of people could enjoy.

  17. AudiS4orce1 on June 29, 2021 at 1:00 am

    Thanks for this. Please compare to new Denon 4700/6700 receivers pls.

  18. Andras Andrew Molnar on June 29, 2021 at 1:03 am

    Andrew, how would you compare this to Anthem in terms of sheer sound quality?

  19. Geoff holling on June 29, 2021 at 1:04 am

    Great review, pretty much as expected from NAD, be interesting to see how this compares to the Anthem MRX740, any plans for a review of this?

  20. Sterk Online on June 29, 2021 at 1:05 am

    Hi, I have recently purchased this t778. It is a massive upgrade from the maranta sr6008 I had. My speakers I tested it on are the B&W 685. A massive overkill with this amp and they never sounded this good. But I also ordered the B&W 702 s2 with the matching center htm71 for it to be my dream setup for music and movies. After listening to it for a week I feel it missing something. Where the 685 really came to life on the t778, the 702 are a bit dull unless I turn up the volume quite a bit. Now do I have a question. Does it help if add the c298 stereo amp to it? so use the pre-out on the t778 for the 702 and put them on the c298 and keep the rest of my speakers on the t778. Will it be in harmony for movies? I am sure it will sound better with the extra power for stereo music. Love to hear your thoughts on it.

  21. Nikki & Tom Wallace on June 29, 2021 at 1:05 am

    Please review the Anthem Marx 740

  22. eric hansen on June 29, 2021 at 1:06 am

    Have Nad 375cbee integrated amp 150 watts b&w sub & goldenear Triton 2s floorspeakers…400 jukebox music setup…good video. And nice amp

  23. Thiem Brandt on June 29, 2021 at 1:06 am

    Bought one after considering reviews like this. Thanks!

  24. Steve on June 29, 2021 at 1:07 am

    Being 2021, and pretty much everything having some sort of screen and/or touchscreen, I really hope to see more HT receivers (and stereo receivers, for that matter) have a nice large full color (and hopefully touch) display on it. It almost seems crazy this isn’t the standard yet. It’s nice to see what you’re listening too, album art, etc. right on the receiver. The VU meters are cool too. I see a lot of potential with other virtual meters, spectrum analyzers, etc. being integrated into the GUI.

  25. Sapoun Ngin on June 29, 2021 at 1:08 am

    Can you reviews the Lexicon RV-6?

  26. pg on June 29, 2021 at 1:09 am

    Great 3D-type sound with excellent mids. Where the receiver fails is in rich, deep bass. Pair this only with smaller sat speakers and a pair of powerful subs. Can NOT drive large, full range speakers properly, which is why I returned and went with the warmer Arcam 850. Also, because the mids are so clear and a little on the cool side with the NAD, you’ll get some harsh etching on not-so-well-recorded material… which can cause some fatigue in short order. As for LCD display vs traditional, I’m fine either way. It’s a nice upgrade, but not a deal-breaker.

  27. Krokettenteler on June 29, 2021 at 1:10 am

    This NAD T778 is looking nice, but how are the sound characteristics? Is it dynamic? I heard that this receiver does not have much bass.

  28. Jason Moore, L.Ac. on June 29, 2021 at 1:11 am

    BUYER BEWARE!!! I waited for 5 weeks for one of these. When it finally showed up the fan was broken and the batteries rattled in the remote like it was engineered by a 5 year old. For $3,000 you can do WAY better than this over-hyped, shiny new object. Just do a search for screen issues, power up / down issues, and fan issues. You will quickly change your mind.

  29. G B on June 29, 2021 at 1:12 am

    Argh… you say the T778 is "smooth" and "laid back", another professional reviewer says it is more detailed… I have watched your channel (and read your print reviews for years) and value your opinion. What AVR (70% music, 30% movies) around this price point, or a little higher, is not smooth/laid back – but more detailed…? Thanks!

  30. Satman S on June 29, 2021 at 1:12 am

    Hi buddy I’m thinking of buying the new NAD T778 for my home cinema, with dirac live setup will it make the bass greater than it already is or less bassier

  31. Magnus Hultqvist on June 29, 2021 at 1:14 am

    I only have a living room so one reciver to play it all is the only solution.

  32. I am puzzleman on June 29, 2021 at 1:14 am

    Aside from cost, T778 with amp vs NADs M17 V2i processor? Whats better for sound?

  33. Jim Nixon on June 29, 2021 at 1:14 am

    Is it true that once you have DIrac’d the system, you can’t turn up any individual speakers? Also, can I see and adjust the settings from my TV? It would be a lot easier for me to do that. Thanks.

  34. chemicallust77 on June 29, 2021 at 1:16 am

    NAD does a touch screen but NAIM or CS EVO can’t at the same price point?…..Hmmm

  35. rob Kelly on June 29, 2021 at 1:19 am

    My Dad was a Hi-Fi buff when I were a lad way back in the early 80s.. We had literally dozens of retailers you could go to and listen to kit before buying it ..Now they’re like hens teeth! I’m desperate to make a purchase but it feels like a leap of faith more than a choice these days… I miss the high street, the biggest casualty of the internet.

  36. MegaF1guy on June 29, 2021 at 1:19 am

    I use a AV receiver for movies and 2 channel music. I use a NAD T785. It sounds AWESOME with my MoFi Studiodeck+ turntable and either my Parasound Z-Phono USB or SoundSmith MMP4 phono-stage. I don’t use dsp for my lp’s. I have KEF Q950 mains and PSB center and surrounds. PSB 5I powered sub times 2, 10 inch.

  37. cbalano on June 29, 2021 at 1:21 am

    Hmm, Andrew, you are asking me what I think? I think you should saw off 1 inch from the credenza’s feet, so you can place a center channel speaker and equipment on the top without obstructing the TV.

  38. rob Kelly on June 29, 2021 at 1:22 am

    Sound quality …. this, or a CXNv2/emotiva basx a2 combo?

  39. Danilo Zoff on June 29, 2021 at 1:23 am

    Has the popping sound been fixed on these when changing sources or when turned on? Love the look of it but the reliability of this unit is worrying.

  40. obinna12 on June 29, 2021 at 1:23 am

    That’s an ugly remote

  41. Sofia Costa on June 29, 2021 at 1:23 am

    Andrew excelent review!
    I did love your furniture!! What’s your AV furniture brand?😊😊

  42. John Robins on June 29, 2021 at 1:25 am

    Watched this for the FOURTH time :)…purchased an Aurender N100SC over it, but still want one…thank you that it’s here to continue to whet my appetite

  43. Petr Krenzelok on June 29, 2021 at 1:27 am

    I do own the Denon x3500h AVR. Back at the time, it was 2 times cheaper than the Yamaha A1080, hence I considered it being a good start. While I kind of like it for movies, I find it lacking for the stereo music sessions (owning Monitor Audio Silve 200, recently at 5.0 setup). So I thought to buy an dedicated integrated amp and connect it to Denon AVR, as Denons are feature packed and there is many pre-outs. But – something like Denon pma-1600ne does not have a main-in input. Simply put I wonder, if owning the dedicated amp + AVR for the price of something like NAD T778, has any advantage. I really like what I am seesing, really nice menu system, simple, not that old school Denon, Marantz, Yamaha menus. As for mobile apps, BlueOS looks nice, the only competition here might be Yamaha once again, as Heos is once again an old school looking app. Your review made my scratch my head os to – what to do next about my setup 🙂

  44. Blairtronica on June 29, 2021 at 1:27 am

    Recently replaced a Marantz SR5007 with this AVR. Hefty and solid build quality. Punchy, powerful, quick and clean sound.

  45. Rocco Bruno on June 29, 2021 at 1:28 am

    Wonderful review.

  46. Jamie Boyd on June 29, 2021 at 1:29 am

    I notice Tidal connects directly to the T778, does bluos app allow better quality?

  47. pg on June 29, 2021 at 1:29 am

    I purchased the T778 and demo-ed it for a week against an old Arcam 350 (which is moving to a second small room) and a newer 850. Here are my conclusions and why I ultimately had to return it… sticking with the 850 for the main room. The T778 has a phenomenal processor, beautiful display, thoughtful hook-ups at back, and even has a built-in Phono amp. Out-of-the-box sound is clean and very detailed in the mids and highs, but it can not plumb the depths of bass on my full-range paradigm Signature S8s and C5, like all of the more powerful Arcam amp sections can. The T778 is half the weight of the Arcams and, while the new digital amps in them are impressive, you won’t get any of that chest-thumping SLAM Arcam can give you in your full-range fronts. The T778 has ever so slighttttly better highs than the 850, seeing as it’s a 32bit Sabre chip, and the 850 is a 24bit Sirus Logic, but I still found the treble presentation less fatiguing over extended sessions on the Arcam, proving that it’s the whole package that has to be judged… Processor+Amp section. When I test an amp section, I always like to do it without the sub to get a measure of it’s true, full performance with the fronts. So my conclusion is this — If you plan on purchasing 2-way speakers for your fronts and centre, and trick out with an awesome sub, or 2, go with the T778. It is really the best bang for your buck. But, if you already have excellent, large full-range speakers, then get yourself an Arcam or separate amps.They will extend that 3D bubble from the centre of the room all the way down to the floor. On each system, my speakers were always consistently set to "large" at 7ft from listening position. No tone adjustments and no Dirac adjustments. For those thinking that Dirac would make the difference and add bass depth to the T778, I tried Dirac several times with the T778. It could never equal the bass weight/depth of the Arcams.

  48. Brent LeVasseur on June 29, 2021 at 1:30 am

    First, to answer your question..YES I use it for both home theater and 2 channel stereo music listening and it works great for both, although this amp really shines for home theater/Dolby Atmos listening.

    I bought the NAD T778 based on your recommendation and love it. It is a gorgeous design and I would argue even better looking and more functional than your beloved NAIM Unity Atom. It has a workable touchscreen which the Unity Atom doesn’t have, it sounds fricken amazing, and it looks absolutely gorgeous. The dongle doesn’t bother me, however there are some bugs such as the front touch panel display sometimes goes black when the AMP is on. This is a bug that hopefully will be fixed in future OS updates. The Dirac Live software is fantastic. However the iOS version is not the same as the Mac OS or PC version. You really need to use a laptop with the Mac OS version or PC windows version for calibration tweaks, setting speaker volume etc…

    Oh and the 4k limitation on the HDMI connectors is a non issue for me. I have an LG 8k TV and I use the HDMI Arc channel 2 on the LG TV to send the decoded sound signal to the NAD amp. So there is really no need to even pass video through the amp at all. You can use your LG TV as the HDMI switch between your HDMI sources. The only confusing thing is that NAD labled their HDMI 2 Arc input channel as an “out” which had me confused at first.

    Finally on its drawbacks…
    1)Blank screen bug which hopefully will be fixed in future firmware updates
    2) The remote is over sized and I have no idea how to use the remote.
    3)The NAD iOS App sucks. It doesn’t connect to the app and doesn’t work well. I did however find an awesome 3rd party app that does everything you wish the NAD app did. It’s NAD OSD (search for it in the iOS app store. It costs $4 and well worth the money.
    4)There is no way to tune Dolby Atmos height channel speakers in the Dirac Live software (as far as I can tell).

    Overall this is a freaking awesome amp and I highly recommend it. i am very happy with my purchase.

  49. Ron Burgundy on June 29, 2021 at 1:31 am

    I’m having my home theater installed in the next couple of weeks. Equipment has been ordered and wiring started. I bought the NAD T778, on the advice of the owner of the business, and pairing it with Goldenear Triton One r’s, Supercenter XXL and Atmos overhead system. To say I’m excited would be an understatement. Thanks for confirming my decision. 🙂

  50. HamletNOR on June 29, 2021 at 1:32 am

    I love your voice! So soothing!

Leave a Comment