Hisense U8H 4K mini-LED TV Review | Budget Videophile's Dream?

Hisense U8H 4K mini-LED TV Review | Budget Videophile's Dream?

The Hisense U8H is the brand’s first mini-LED TV and possibly its best TV ever. Exceeding its own brightness claims, the U8H offers the kind of performance found in TVs that cost two or three times more. It has a shockingly good picture, but there are a few catches to be aware of. To get the most from the Hisense U8H, you’ll need to do some work, which we show in this video. Anyone considering this TV will want to see this video before buying.

Click here to read our full written review of the Hisense U8H: https://www.digitaltrends.com/home-theater/hisense-u8h-mini-led-tv-review/

Make sure you also check our Hisense U8H vs. TCL 6-Series comparison: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7S8hgDhipFc

You can buy the Hisense U8H at Amazon: https://amzn.to/3bCIOQ8

00:00 Intro
01:47 Quirks & Settings
05:12 Firmware Issues
06:08 Picture Quality
10:44 Picture Quality Recap
11:39 Can a TV Be Too Bright?
12:37 Sound Quality
13:31 ATSC 3.0
14:11 Gaming
14:47 Verdict

SUBSCRIBE FOR THE LATEST VIDEOS
http://bit.ly/DTYouTubeSub

VISIT DIGITAL TRENDS
https://www.digitaltrends.com/

In our studio:
BDI Corridor Media Console: https://bit.ly/2u1IMrs https://amzn.to/2JtnA8v
KEF Q750 Floorstanding Speakers: https://amzn.to/3cCCwhb
Music: https://artlist.io/Digital-142302

Digital Trends may earn a commission when you buy through links on our channels.

FOLLOW US!
https://www.facebook.com/digitaltrends

https://www.instagram.com/digitaltrends

50 Comments

  1. Mohammad Fahmid Hasan on December 26, 2022 at 1:27 am

    How is it with Xbox Series S?

  2. Khai Bui on December 26, 2022 at 1:29 am

    u7 vs u 8 which one better ?

  3. MarcusMcIntyre ⏩ on December 26, 2022 at 1:29 am

    Interesting that we’re speaking of the brightness of this, but we have not reached the 4000 nits mark yet.

  4. Jose Espinal on December 26, 2022 at 1:30 am

    Is it worth paying the extra $600 for the Hisense 75u8h over the 65u8h just for the extra 24 dimming zones and 10 inches?

  5. NYCeyes on December 26, 2022 at 1:31 am

    👎 Your cinematography is bad. Who taught you that "pop-zooming" in & out and in & out and in & in then out & out & out is something a human likes. It’s amature hour.

    Also, when showing particular settings, zoom close to what you’re demonstrating at that moment. You must account for viewer screen size and visual capabilities (eg, visually challenged). If you clean this mess up, then this is a decent reference; but as it stands, I’m abandoning in for another review of the U8H, hopefully without all the silly video gadgetry.

  6. paul martinez on December 26, 2022 at 1:32 am

    In your future video can you pls do the star night test

  7. Kyle Dimetri on December 26, 2022 at 1:32 am

    Got this tv like a week ago. They were not joking when they said this tv is bright. Even when the contrast and backlight is are to 0 and local dimming turned off, it’s still pretty bright ESPECIALLY if you’re in a dark room

  8. Drain The Swamp on December 26, 2022 at 1:33 am

    I want to buy the U8H 65-in. Best buy, Walmart, Amazon and probably others are all out of them.

  9. P Hartmann on December 26, 2022 at 1:33 am

    hmm..chinese product…i will avoid this

  10. Frank ### on December 26, 2022 at 1:34 am

    This or the TCL R646 ?

  11. royallstar on December 26, 2022 at 1:34 am

    Is the picture quality and angle better than the Samsung QN90B?

  12. AZSportsFan on December 26, 2022 at 1:35 am

    Just bought the 65 inch (mostly for gaming) on sale at Best Buy for $899 and it has been one of the best investments I’ve made in tech in some time. I was coming from a 6-7 year old 55 inch LG that had started to show signs of wear and right out of the box this thing made me in awe. Would’ve been happy even if I paid full price! Highly recommend (ps5) great review!

  13. Esfar on December 26, 2022 at 1:38 am

    What about 4k upscaling

  14. SamuraiPizzaCat on December 26, 2022 at 1:43 am

    Great to see Hisense and TCL keep the big dogs on their toes and allow them to have a bit of perspective of what the average enthusiast wants and can get for a certain price.

  15. m123 l123 on December 26, 2022 at 1:43 am

    thinking of pulling trigger but very confused about if the u8h can handle 24fps movies properly or should i just forget the excellent picture quality and go for a sony/tcl/other
    i CAN NOT watch movies w soap opera effect which or crazy artifacts or whatever bc of processor and im kinda terrified lol

    thanks much

  16. STEVEN SANDLER on December 26, 2022 at 1:46 am

    I’ve just purchased a hisence u8h, youtube tv and paramount are both not very sharp, the tv slips in and out of a sharp picture. i have a fast connection and the other tv using a fire stick is not having these issues, any ideas
    thanks
    steve

  17. arif on December 26, 2022 at 1:46 am

    I have one u6 model but I problem some time jams tv screen . Pitchers & sound it good

  18. Andramota on December 26, 2022 at 1:46 am

    What I did not hear mentioned in this video is, what type of inputs the TV has? Are the HDMI ports 2.1 compatible? Any optical input ports? Wifi? Ethernet? eARC ports? 4k@ 60H, or 120H ports?

  19. Shane Freeman on December 26, 2022 at 1:46 am

    Can’t seem to get 4k content on one of my apps.on my amazon firestick

  20. thewanger on December 26, 2022 at 1:47 am

    Lag jutter and motion blur and the like really bother me in movies and sports. How is it for that?

  21. Rich Jr. on December 26, 2022 at 1:48 am

    What is the big difference between picture mode and filmmaker mode?

  22. brody lockwood on December 26, 2022 at 1:50 am

    I really want a review for the new Hisense x8hau oled. It’s available in Australia but not the US and I can’t find a single review. It’s only $1600 for the 55" compared to $2000 for the 42" LG c2. I want to know what the cons are compared to the LG for being thst much cheaper.

  23. special cook day on December 26, 2022 at 1:50 am

    I’m sticking to non commi chinese brand. Why do you want to support xi hitler jing tyrant dictator ping. Now he is causing break down and killing people.
    Remember xi dictator is using people of unfair force slave conditions and ant size payments for earnings himself and his close group.
    Don’t support this or TCL brand made in commi china.

  24. Jazz Monroe on December 26, 2022 at 1:54 am

    I do a lot of gaming and have been looking for a nee tv. Looks like I’m between this and the vizi p65q9. I’ve been seeing things about a lot of 4k120hz TVs not delivering true 4k120 and outputting at only half resolution. Something about cutting vertical resolution. Makes text unreadable and overall picture quality kind of garbage. Does the U8H over true 4k120 or does it do this half resolution thing?

  25. Rob Trombino on December 26, 2022 at 1:57 am

    Thoughts and settings on the Hisense 75U8H.

    I want to thank the reviewer for their time and effort in creating the reviews for this model series.

    So I’ve been living with my Hisense 75U8H for about a month now, and I wanted to share my thoughts and settings for those that may find it useful in some way.

    I’m not a gamer so there won’t be anything related to that. I’m fortunate to have a light controlled environment and these settings are mainly based on that, with most viewing done at night and with the ambient light kit also recommended by another reviewer.

    The quality is everything that has been said about this model series, including the black levels truly approaching oled territory, with virtually no noticeable blooming. I was concerned at first with the flesh tones, as no matter the source or material, it exhibited an awful pinkish/magenta-ish/sunburned hue, and the greens seemed to narrow themselves down to one dark green color for everything. Played with every setting to no avail. So I reset back to ground zero and pulled out my ancient AVSHD disc and carefully proceeded. So after putting a bunch of hours on the set( yes, they do break-in), and tweaking everything for the different sources and inputs, the color finally started to settle in. The flesh tones are now 90 to 95 percent accurate, yellows and golds and browns look like they’re supposed to without any tint leaning in one direction or another, and the greens now have the variation you would expect to see in a mixed scene of trees and grass, etc.

    The following are the settings based on a wide variety of material on all the sources, and in setting the backlight, contrast and local dimming so it doesn’t melt my retinas, but still has a good level of ”kick” and dynamic range. Of particular note is my go-to reference disc of The Fifth Element (the good pressing), because it has such a wide variety of colors and levels of saturation, which makes it challenging to reproduce accurately. Filmmaker Mode was the starting point where applicable for SDR. HDR is kind of all over the place in terms of settings, for me at least. When HDR is flagged, the three default choices that you’re given work for some things but not all, so I’ve had to tweak things based on the particular content being viewed. Again, personal taste and the room it’s being viewed in.

    Also, since the Dolby Vision issue has not been fixed at this point, I used the “Custom” mode to tweak that in.

    The bottom line is, I feel these are all good starting points before a “real” calibration, but each person has their own taste and preferences, so of course, feel free to tweak-away!

    Cheers!

    >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

    Hisense 75U8H – “Dolby Vision Custom” Settings

    Contrast: 38

    Brightness: 48

    Color: 35

    Tint: 0

    Sharpness: 8

    >>>>>>>>>>>>>>

    Local Dimming: HIGH

    Backlight: 13

    Color Temp: MED

    Motion: CUSTOM – 5 / 7

    Gamma: 2.2

    >>>>>>>>>>>>>>

    Color Tuner –

    Red-
    HUE: 3
    SAT: 0
    BRT: -3

    Green-
    HUE: -1
    SAT: -1
    BRT: -3

    Blue-
    HUE: -1
    SAT: -1
    BRT: -1

    Yellow-
    HUE: -7
    SAT: 0
    BRT: -1

    Cyan-
    HUE: -1
    SAT: 0
    BRT: -1

    Magenta-
    HUE: -2
    SAT: -2
    BRT: -2

    White Balance – 2 Point

    R-OFFSET: -1

    G-OFFSET: 0

    B-OFFSET: -5

    R-GAIN: 0

    G-GAIN: 0

    B-GAIN: -4

    >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

    Hisense 75U8H – SDR Settings

    Contrast: 7

    Brightness: 47

    Color: 42

    Tint: 0

    Sharpness: 0

    >>>>>>>>>>>>>>

    Local Dimming: LOW

    Backlight: 17

    Color Temp: MID-LOW

    Motion: CUSTOM – 5 / 7

    Gamma: BT1886

    >>>>>>>>>>>>>>

    White Balance – 2 Point

    R-OFFSET: 1

    G-OFFSET: 1

    B-OFFSET: -4

    R-GAIN: 2

    G-GAIN: 0

    B-GAIN: -4

    Color Tuner –

    Red-
    HUE: 3
    SAT: 0
    BRT: -3

    Green-
    HUE: -1
    SAT: -1
    BRT: -3

    Blue-
    HUE: -1
    SAT: -1
    BRT: -1

    Yellow-
    HUE: -7
    SAT: 0
    BRT: -1

    Cyan-
    HUE: -1
    SAT: 0
    BRT: -1

    Magenta-
    HUE: -2
    SAT: -2
    BRT: -2

    As of 11/24/2022

    Kernel: 4.19.182-ab92 (August 9th, 2022)

    OS Build: RTT 2.211209.001

  26. Wrin10 on December 26, 2022 at 1:58 am

    I’m still looking for one to replace my h8g. Nowhere to be found.

  27. FRESH Life Hacks on December 26, 2022 at 1:59 am

    Just watching al day ! Butter smooth playing any videos 🙂 🎉

  28. arif on December 26, 2022 at 2:00 am

    Some time jams screan

  29. Armando Serafini on December 26, 2022 at 2:01 am

    Thank you for your reviews of the Hisense 65" U8H TV. I recently purchased one for $900 during a Best Buy "Early Black Friday" sale and I’m loving it! I noticed the HDR setting on my TV is grayed out and set to Auto. Is this due to a software update or does the setting change depending on the contact being viewed? I also recently purchased a Hisense sound bar U5120GW+ for $600 on Amazon. The sound bar seems to follow the same Hisense business practice as the TVs where the product has many high-end features for an unbelievable low price. It would be great if you did a review for this sound bar so I could discover more user information about it. Thank you for all the great tech insight your videos provide.

  30. ValueOfNothing on December 26, 2022 at 2:04 am

    How is the glare on this TV? I have HD 1080p Sony that seems to have a lot of glare

  31. Caleb Loves Tech on December 26, 2022 at 2:04 am

    Hey all! Thanks as always for all the great comments. I’ll try to get through some of them and reply where I can. I’m supposed to be off work today. But hey, while I’m here, something you’ll want to know: The 75-inch U8H does not — repeat, does NOT — use an IPS panel as some have suspected. It uses a VA panel which, technically, has slightly better specs than the 55- and 65-inch variants. Thanks for watching and I’ll see y’all on the next one!

  32. Will D on December 26, 2022 at 2:04 am

    Bought one last week. Amazing TV for the price. Just take your time calibrating it for your living room/theater area and you’ll love it.

  33. Michael Zoran on December 26, 2022 at 2:06 am

    $1,500 is not a "Budget" type of 75" TV. And it is TERRIBLE the way the Hisense U8H was released with so many severe problems with hardware glitches and other problems. Some of the problems include "Stuttering" with "Motion" in movies at 24 frames per second. And others include problems with "Posterization" and "Macroblocking" and other glitches that require firmware updates. The firmware updates still haven’t solved most of those problems, and there is no promise to solve the problems with "Posterization" and "Macroblocking" and "Stuttering."

  34. tigerbalm on December 26, 2022 at 2:07 am

    Dat looks just like my C6 and B6 OLED tv’s!

  35. TNitroH on December 26, 2022 at 2:08 am

    How do I update my tv if I don’t have internet at my house? I am strictly OTA customer

  36. R W on December 26, 2022 at 2:08 am

    Viso or Onn roko tv 70 in at Walmart?

  37. Oscar Gilbert on December 26, 2022 at 2:09 am

    Love it

  38. Violet Veil on December 26, 2022 at 2:09 am

    every year i’m like hmmm, wait until next year, 4K tvs will soon hit their peak as 8K becomes more popular.

  39. Bdub10 on December 26, 2022 at 2:09 am

    Too bad gaming ain’t so great on it

  40. John Fox on December 26, 2022 at 2:10 am

    So has Hisense ripped off we Aussies by giving us a U7H+ instead of the U8H as seen overseas ? It really sucks that we don’t get the Subwoofer, we also get their OS instead of pure Android . Gee thanks Hisense 🙁

  41. Andrew Dellarco on December 26, 2022 at 2:10 am

    Almost bought a U7G last year, glad I waited for this to come out, gonna go from Samsung to this model cuz you just can’t argue with that price

  42. Cody Lutes on December 26, 2022 at 2:12 am

    Would you say this is better than the TCL 6 Series??? The Hisense with Google is $50 cheaper than the TCL with Roku. I’m really stuck between the 2.

  43. Wismark Ramirez on December 26, 2022 at 2:12 am

    What about the u6h?

  44. Michael Gordon on December 26, 2022 at 2:19 am

    I’m having an issue with my this new TV not finding the EARC sound bar and when I try to change from TV speakers to ARC, it will not let me have you had this issue at all?

  45. InspectorGuru on December 26, 2022 at 2:19 am

    I’ve had LG TVs for 11 years and still own two of their 3D TVs that I will never get rid of. I bought one of their 4k TVs 2 1/2 years ago but I knew I was missing out on image quality and black levels for sure and wanted to experience that without the hassle of oled. I got the 65 U8H for my ps5 and I still can’t believe the picture quality. I’m in awe every time I watch 4k anything on this bad boy. And the gaming features was the cherry on top. Experiencing 4k120 is everything I thought it’d be.

  46. Mark Tepper on December 26, 2022 at 2:22 am

    Caleb, I just purchased this 55 inch version at Best Buy for 599.99. It looked spectacular at BestBuy, that being said not sure I want this TV super bright? Lol I will be watching mostly sports. Consumer Reports also loved this TV. Should I spend the extra money on the BestBuy warranty? Thank you for all you do!

  47. Neo on December 26, 2022 at 2:22 am

    Should I get this tv or the TCL 6 Series?

  48. Ryan G on December 26, 2022 at 2:24 am

    I have the U8G and software is by far the worst part on that TV as well. Any more than one app open and it’s very noticeably slower to respond. Quality of the picture of course makes up for it, though

  49. Garry j on December 26, 2022 at 2:25 am

    Which TV handles motion better between U8G and U8H

  50. Drain The Swamp on December 26, 2022 at 2:26 am

    Two things you didn’t mention Caleb. One is very important and one is minor. Unlike the U6,7,8G TVs these feet are not adjustable. The second point is more important I believe. It is not an Android operating system but it’s a Google operating system. That may be a deal breaker for some or it may be a plus for some.

Leave a Comment