Huawei P40 Pro review

Huawei P40 Pro review

We got the Huawei P40 Pro ahead of its announcement – enough to do a full review so we’ve come up with this video to show you the phone’s top features, build and screen quality, battery life, and performance.

*Correction: The 40MP ultra-wide camera has F/1.8 aperture instead of F/1.9.

▶ Find our full camera review here: https://youtu.be/6dIyTRoVfNA

▶ To learn more, read our detailed text review: https://www.gsmarena.com/huawei_p40_pro-review-2089.php

▶ Check out the full phone specs: https://www.gsmarena.com/huawei_p40_pro-10152.php

▶ Track Info: Gotta Get back 2 by Martin Landh and Washed by Anders Bothen

▶ If you want to know more about our host Will, check out his video episode in our Meet The Team series. https://youtu.be/T1V7G68dWKU

50 Comments

  1. fariz ascariz on August 7, 2021 at 9:28 pm

    It’s funny when huawei trying so hard to sell something that has no Google and yet tried to sell it as expensive as iPhone. What u thinking huawei? Keeping the punch up to show that you are a PREMIUM BRAND without solid OS? I rather pick Samsung laggy android as long it has Google.

  2. saw0man on August 7, 2021 at 9:28 pm

    Galaxy S1 stayed with me for 4 years, s20+ 5G Exynos stayed for 3 months, and I replaced with this phone, not amazing experience but good enough

  3. H Y on August 7, 2021 at 9:29 pm

    I just got my P40 Pro. Yes very impressive. If you like their phone I’m sure you’ll like their smart watches too. That how I was sold on HUAWEI!

  4. Giovanni Tanaka on August 7, 2021 at 9:29 pm

    is that a bill cipher t shirt he’s wearing

  5. Ganbat Gabi on August 7, 2021 at 9:29 pm

    Woow love it 😍. When can I buy in Mongolia

  6. Richard Lee on August 7, 2021 at 9:33 pm

    Is there a way to use the P40 pro with your Chromecast (without any jailbreak stuff)? 🙏🏽

  7. Mir S on August 7, 2021 at 9:35 pm

    4k 30 fps haha my s10 4k 60fps

  8. Ovidiu Sfia on August 7, 2021 at 9:37 pm

    Hello. What is the "right" choice between p40 pro and iPhone 11? Thank you in advance for your answer.

  9. Sohaib Almahagri on August 7, 2021 at 9:38 pm

    No stereo speakers deal-breaker for me.
    Aptoide for apps or even that wacky setup to get Google play services will do the trick, BUT NO STEREO ARE YOU FUCKING KIDDING ME FOR A 1000USD they fucked up big time

  10. Neofolis on August 7, 2021 at 9:39 pm

    I’m not convinced about Huawei build quality after my Mate 20 Pro decided to delaminate after 15 months. It’s never been dropped and wasn’t in particularly warm conditions, it’s May and I’m in the UK, but the back just randomly decided to become unglued, then a week later it no longer accepted a charge. Back to Samsung for me. My last Galaxy Note lasted me 4 years, then got passed onto my son who has had it for another 15 months and the only issue was needing to replace the battery, which was easy when phones had replaceable batteries.

  11. Georgie N JJ on August 7, 2021 at 9:40 pm

    I back up everything on my Google account I won’t upgrade to this now 😂😂

  12. Poppe Stäbler on August 7, 2021 at 9:41 pm

    Samsung, Xiaomi and OnePlus can thank Trump big time. With GMS this phone would be unbeatable

  13. ParadoxX on August 7, 2021 at 9:42 pm

    I think p30 pro has much better camera performance.

  14. Wilbert Parel on August 7, 2021 at 9:42 pm

    Huawei Forever

  15. cyclops1337 on August 7, 2021 at 9:43 pm

    basically a brick without play store. you might not use google services (even though its gonna be very hard using youtube without an app), but you do need the play store. good luck with huawei store and the apps there. and complaining about privacy, well, again, good luck with the chinese communist party vision of privacy.

  16. Wilbert Parel on August 7, 2021 at 9:43 pm

    I WATCH GSM ARENA EVERYDAY

  17. Shane Horne on August 7, 2021 at 9:44 pm

    How can the p40 pro have faster charging then the p30 pro same charger and the same size battery

  18. Joseph Olar on August 7, 2021 at 9:48 pm

    I wish all smartphone comes with minimal best software for the camera and video.
    now for all other apps should be eliminated their are too many that has no purpose.
    Why not let the consumer decides what they need of course from the cell phone company who creates app that is tailored for their phone and OS
    Also the cell phone carrier has no right to throw in a bunch of useless rubbish.
    Now the next best thing all consumer wish list.
    price point let make it reasonable so that even the person who makes a minimum income can least afford it.

  19. Guy Tero on August 7, 2021 at 9:49 pm

    Why did he say "Stay safe" at the end? Stay safe from what?

  20. Faiz Mufar on August 7, 2021 at 9:49 pm

    Planning to buy this phone but no google 🙁

  21. Eid media on August 7, 2021 at 9:49 pm

    Hello jee I’m Sri Lanka n

  22. Geoffrey Richard on August 7, 2021 at 9:50 pm

    I wanted to love the p40pro but my banking ap won’t work, the canada post ap that I use a lot as a small business doesnt work, the pc-optimum ap in Canada doesn’t work and that’s how you load your offers. An ap that I use that uses GPS doesn’t work well, I need to go into airplane mode and off again for the GPS to be recognized. Stayed with Huawei because of a promotion for a free watch they had but there was a discrepancy on dates that telus said vs what huawei said (1 day off) and they denied me the promo. Definitely jumping ship once I’m finished paying off this very expensive phone. Tired of the political drama

  23. Mae Duke on August 7, 2021 at 9:51 pm

    You have Netflix in your p40, hoooww????

  24. jazzi p on August 7, 2021 at 9:55 pm

    Huawei out sold apple for couple of years and then the Google ban came….what coincidence!!!!

  25. Muhamad Azmani on August 7, 2021 at 9:56 pm

    I love the face sensor function without swipe the screen, camera function so good but no google

  26. sh50 on August 7, 2021 at 9:57 pm

    cisco, is that you?

  27. Pay Janky on August 7, 2021 at 9:57 pm

    sunmi

  28. Todd Swift on August 7, 2021 at 9:58 pm

    does the huawei p40 pro have single slots for sim card,sdcard or 2 sim card slots and 1 sdcard..?..?..?

  29. hahaha on August 7, 2021 at 9:58 pm

    If only they had Google services, I’ll buy it. Love the specs.

  30. szewei1985 on August 7, 2021 at 9:58 pm

    Haha i am still samsung 4 life😄😆🍿🍻

  31. Ghonzhauri Gonzaga on August 7, 2021 at 10:00 pm

    Huawei one tym u taking me the day u make a single piece with all total features of the end piece phone,i hate the policy producing alot of pieces of the same name🤔

  32. Arlind Ai on August 7, 2021 at 10:00 pm

    Would you please do a detailed camera review on this channel, to keep it honest with all the huawei ads of its perfection from reviewers, and all the negative feedback you can find online for its cameras in different sites commens, i dont see a more trustful site and reviewer than you, thats why i keep comming back here so one honest video would be appreciated 🙂

  33. Siyathokoza Zwane on August 7, 2021 at 10:05 pm

    Could you please send me the phone 😭🙏🙏🙏

  34. Richard's archery reviews on August 7, 2021 at 10:05 pm

    I’m not tec savey I do enjoy watching YouTube and and have Gmail email address would these work on the p40 pro or not many thanks Richard

  35. Bharath Poojary on August 7, 2021 at 10:05 pm

    P 40 pro just shit and huwei products… I experienced all products… Very bad device

  36. Ana 01 on August 7, 2021 at 10:06 pm

    Very elegant looking phone, love the camera📸👌👏

  37. Ronny Yok on August 7, 2021 at 10:08 pm

    please make videos on harmony os ?

  38. James Ria on August 7, 2021 at 10:09 pm

    One of my decisions to go with Huawei is the Google spying BS on their phone and the pre installed and hard to remove apps they collect data on you whenever its possible! Will buy this phone and wait for huawei to get better as they are developing very fast! I personally have no problem with the MIUI and if an app doesn’t support it i don’t use it simple! Great phone and with free gifts and especially the price!!!

  39. Shane Horne on August 7, 2021 at 10:09 pm

    You forgot the p40 lite

  40. T-Rex Ngatokorua on August 7, 2021 at 10:10 pm

    my mate 20 pro finally cracked from years of me dropping it on the daily..looking at this for sure lol

  41. Ronny Yok on August 7, 2021 at 10:10 pm

    does huawei p40 pro comes with harmony os ?
    how it is different from android os ?

  42. DARK DJ SHOW on August 7, 2021 at 10:15 pm

    I am planning this soon for my video and photos. Hope this would be nice

  43. Babz Jackson on August 7, 2021 at 10:15 pm

    Can I down load the app Bigo live ?

  44. Eye of the Horus on August 7, 2021 at 10:16 pm

    I found the way to log in into your YouTube account on YouTube Vanced without installing Google services. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WC1L2zhm8cA

  45. Happy Kid on August 7, 2021 at 10:16 pm

    Buy it and flash a custom ROM

  46. sol man on August 7, 2021 at 10:19 pm

    Anybody even considering the P40 Pro should read this article very carefully. Considering that Huawei claims to be a “leader in 5G” their “FLAGSHIP” P40 PRO does not the best mmW 5G Modem but rather just the ordinary Sub 6Ghz spectrums like the entry Samsung Galaxy S20.

    https://www.rcrwireless.com/20200326/analyst-angle/huawei-p40-kirin-990-5g-features-analyst-angle

  47. Farisyal B.K on August 7, 2021 at 10:19 pm

    long hole in front make it look bad 😵😪😩

  48. hannah Saucy on August 7, 2021 at 10:20 pm

    How to fixed tinted yellow p40 pro please help me

  49. Cosmin › on August 7, 2021 at 10:25 pm

    ugly wobble during video

  50. Mark Li on August 7, 2021 at 10:26 pm

    You cannot buy Huawei p40 pro because its battery life is only up to an abnormally high drainage of 15 hours of video playback, unlike iPhone 12 Pro Max, its score is abnormally low of up to 20 hours of battery life which is low draining operation, but Huawei p40 pro has a high battery drain issue because it doesn’t have efficient hardware like iPhone 12 Pro Max and iPhone 12 Pro which also has a slightly smaller 3690mAh battery in iPhone 12 Pro Max, unlike Huawei p40 pro, it has a slightly larger 4200mAh battery but the battery charges more quickly and not a lot of efficient hardware which makes the battery drain more quickly than iPhone 12 Pro Max which has a score that is abnormally high in battery life, with a maximum of 4500mAh because its capacity may slightly be above or below the minimal capacity, the iPhone 12 Pro Max has a maximum of 4100mAh capacity and a minimum of 3400mAh battery, but with longer battery life than Huawei p40 pro, do not buy Huawei p40 pro, now!

Leave a Comment