iPhone 6 & iPhone 6 Plus Review: Is Bigger Better? | Molly Wood | The New York Times

iPhone 6 & iPhone 6 Plus Review: Is Bigger Better? | Molly Wood | The New York Times

The Apple iPhone 6 Plus and iPhone 6 rival the competition in sheer size. But when it comes to taking advantage of those bigger screens, Molly Wood says, Apple’s new phones don’t always measure up.

Produced by: Rebekah Fergusson and Vanessa Perez

Read the story here: http://nyti.ms/1r6zZxS

Subscribe to the Times Video newsletter for free and get a handpicked selection of the best videos from The New York Times every week: http://bit.ly/timesvideonewsletter

Subscribe on YouTube: http://bit.ly/U8Ys7n

Watch more videos at: http://nytimes.com/video

—————————————————————

Want more from The New York Times?

Twitter: https://twitter.com/nytvideo

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/nytimes

Google+: https://plus.google.com/+nytimes/

Whether it’s reporting on conflicts abroad and political divisions at home, or covering the latest style trends and scientific developments, New York Times video journalists provide a revealing and unforgettable view of the world. It’s all the news that’s fit to watch. On YouTube.

iPhone 6 & iPhone 6 Plus Review: Is Bigger Better? | Molly Wood | The New York Times
http://www.youtube.com/user/TheNewYorkTimes

49 Comments

  1. Paul Grocock on January 4, 2023 at 2:13 am

    Great review as a note 3 user and an iPad user, this put all perspectives in view. The 6 plus is going to be a huge phone taller than the niche market note 3 and 4. The flagship spec should have been the iPhone 6 or at least make both equal. All the excuses I heard from iPhone users about the note series will now be consigned to exactly what they were, excuses and screen envy. Am I impressed with IOS8 well not really, does what it says on the tin, but it’s still the same OS Jobs conceived for the masses and computer non literate. Not to say that’s a bad thing, most of us grew up on PC’s designed for office use brought into the home.
    It just means that the next generation will be less computer literate than the last. No file structure on IOS even your Granny can use it. Will I buy an iPhone 6, for an easy life, maybe if I can keep my feet in both camps. But the nexus X may be the one to watch.

  2. TheDetox777 on January 4, 2023 at 2:16 am

    double tap the space bar and it will put a . and th end of your last word 🙂

  3. Lily Magana on January 4, 2023 at 2:16 am

    One of the best reviews so far. Many if the other reviews fail to mention it’s shortcomings when it comes to competitors like the Samsung Note. Let’s be honest, the iPhine 6 plus missed out on a lot of opportunities be not doing more with the big screen.

    While I really just wanted a larger screen and will be getting the 6 plus, many people I talk to wish it more than just a bugger iPhone.

    Amazing review.

  4. Aaron Tonge on January 4, 2023 at 2:17 am

    Read your mail dammit.

  5. Chrome47 on January 4, 2023 at 2:18 am

    iPhone now lets you use other keyboards so that point is null and any old stylus works with the iPhone so thats no biggie

  6. Warren Kirkpatrick on January 4, 2023 at 2:19 am

    there is no denying that samsung make awesome phones and I’m an iPhone user, i really like the way samsung take advantage of the big screen, with just the small things, but makes a big difference, that being said, i have quite a few apple devices so i love the way apple has integrated all its devices seamlessly and I’m a little iffy on third party apps, so for me its the iPhone 6 plus, to be honest, I’m not a hardcore user so apples specs are good enough for me.  

  7. Millionaire-Creator.com on January 4, 2023 at 2:19 am

    Very good and unbiased review .

  8. Axel Santos on January 4, 2023 at 2:20 am

    Aren’t you from cnet Molly

  9. mhxxd4 on January 4, 2023 at 2:21 am

    Haha. "Because i’m old"

  10. Furlong HVAC Services on January 4, 2023 at 2:22 am

    lady… you can make a period on iphone by double touching the space bar. You dont need a peiod button

  11. Martin Jung on January 4, 2023 at 2:26 am

    What a miracle

  12. otis ellis on January 4, 2023 at 2:27 am

    This made my Saturday! 

  13. MrQuick on January 4, 2023 at 2:28 am

    Hey Molly. Nice to see you doing a video! Haven’t watched you since Always On. Great. You are the best!!!!

  14. EurekaBlack on January 4, 2023 at 2:31 am

    Yea yea yea people so hit the space bar for period, but what about the comma when in upright mode?
    FAIL

  15. Harold on January 4, 2023 at 2:32 am

    Molly! I’m glad your back on YouTube!

  16. gibriel on January 4, 2023 at 2:36 am

    "I like it because I’m old" – I loved that

  17. ALT3REDB3AST on January 4, 2023 at 2:38 am

    "because I’m old…" But smoking hot!!! Finally a decent sized screen for all the Apple drones. Congrats.

  18. AW on January 4, 2023 at 2:39 am

    I miss Molly Wood from Cnet!

  19. Chicks2180 on January 4, 2023 at 2:41 am

    I love love my iPhone 6 plus Molly is so dumb!!! Take with Android

  20. Gustavo de Caires Anhaia on January 4, 2023 at 2:41 am

    You’re a moron! I’m sorry. The reachability feature is not made to use the phone like that all the time, it’s for tapping something at the top like the ‘edit’ button on the photos app… And get back to normal size, because if you want to reply an email, just use the normal size!

  21. josu g on January 4, 2023 at 2:42 am

    Molly!! I’ve missed you so much! 🙂

  22. Swrv on January 4, 2023 at 2:42 am

    I’m just gonna stick with my 5s cuz if I wanted a bigger screen I would have kept my galaxy

  23. Jon Worthy on January 4, 2023 at 2:42 am

    My mom is going from the 5 to the 6 Plus. Idk how she’s gonna do it. Maybe Apple should take hints from LG and make a 5.5 inch phone with tiny bezels so it’s still practical…

  24. Antimatter on January 4, 2023 at 2:44 am

    I guess it is enough because there all sold out!

  25. Ferrari on January 4, 2023 at 2:45 am

    Great review. Missed you Molly.

  26. Heymaeve101 on January 4, 2023 at 2:46 am

    I’m getting the 6, so excited!

  27. Tom Deal on January 4, 2023 at 2:46 am

    keeping my iPhone 4S. Mo screen size, mo problems.

  28. NOnya Business on January 4, 2023 at 2:46 am

    Great review Thank you

  29. Gol. D Rodger on January 4, 2023 at 2:47 am

    iPads are really just big IPhones

  30. steve stamps on January 4, 2023 at 2:48 am

    u keep talking about size, all the while it gets bigger & bigger!! juss let me know!!! call me.

  31. Pablo Felix Jr. on January 4, 2023 at 2:49 am

    Although Apple might not take advantage of the bigger screen size until a further software update, I have faith in there developers doing so a lot sooner. Can’t wait for my 6+ to arrive.

  32. ALT3REDB3AST on January 4, 2023 at 2:49 am

    "because I’m old…" But smoking hot!!! Finally a decent sized screen for all the Apple drones. Congrats.

  33. Supersnow on January 4, 2023 at 2:51 am

    Apple cannot make something like S-pen on iPhone. This is the screen feature or limitation. Multitask is almost impossible due to the OS system. However, according to my experience, android phones become super slow after using them for a couple months and iPhone runs still fast. Laggy is really annoying.

  34. 74Ljay on January 4, 2023 at 2:51 am

    Very good review

  35. The Hammerdown on January 4, 2023 at 2:52 am

    Yes that’s all it is bigger nothing else!

  36. asif seth on January 4, 2023 at 2:52 am

    Molly Wood, kudos for having an objective view point on the new iPhone’s. Surprising how so many so called jurno’s (talking about you on Bloomberg) are biased and unfortunately it shows in their reporting. Keep it up!

  37. Deliberate Thoughts on January 4, 2023 at 2:55 am

    And just like that I’m getting the note 4 big is cool but what else does it do apple huh?!?!

  38. Machine Xp on January 4, 2023 at 2:58 am

    This is probably one of the better unbiased reviews for the iphone 6/plus, great review! I agree with just about everything. This is why i’m getting a note 4, its bigger with things that you should be able to do with a bigger device. All in all Apple has finally made a good phone in over 4 years that will indeed take some android users in

  39. Erick Salgado on January 4, 2023 at 2:58 am

    Love Apple products, in fact I own a lot of their products but boy, are they getting behind on the mobile world?, so much that I just not sure if I want to keep buying them.

  40. Brandt on January 4, 2023 at 2:59 am

    She’s biased

  41. Srewoj on January 4, 2023 at 3:02 am

    Pause at 2:57 to see a derpy molly

  42. Johnny Tampocao on January 4, 2023 at 3:04 am

    You got a point about the 6+ it would have been better if they add some features like the GS note.

  43. H E C. M A N. on January 4, 2023 at 3:06 am

    Thier Getting closer to the Galaxy Note2 that’s why I’m going to get a GALAXY NOTE 4

  44. Fifi on January 4, 2023 at 3:07 am

    A STYLUS ? NOBODY WANTS A STYLUS 

  45. Don Lumiere on January 4, 2023 at 3:10 am

    The iphone 6 is just the same thing we iphone users have been using for years just bigger, they couldve been more innovative but i feel like they were just trying to play catch up.

  46. ZOFF on January 4, 2023 at 3:10 am

    i care about the video recording. 240fps BAYBAY

  47. Stringprodigy on January 4, 2023 at 3:11 am

    Shitty review.

  48. Doc's random channel on January 4, 2023 at 3:11 am

    Double tap the space bar idiot. Makes period. 😐 if you’re going to review tech, at least know how to use it.

  49. The Cake Glutton on January 4, 2023 at 3:12 am

    Very low mic quality for being the nyt :/

Leave a Comment