MOTU M2 USB-C Audio Interface – REVIEW and Measurements!

MOTU M2 USB-C Audio Interface – REVIEW and Measurements!

In this video I’m having a look at the MOTU M2 audio interface.

Amazon | MOTU M2: https://amzn.to/3DGk4yD *
Support future videos on Patreon: https://www.patreon.com/juliankrause **

* Affiliate links from which I receive a commission for sales. This doesn’t generate any additional cost for you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
** Patreon is a platform where you can voluntarily choose to support the channel by purchasing a monthly subscription.

50 Comments

  1. Ibrahim 01 on December 13, 2022 at 12:46 am

    If I use one xlr port, can I get a mono output in studio monitor with direct monitoring

  2. hisroyalsucculence on December 13, 2022 at 12:47 am

    Great reviews! Will you ever do an Apollo X series interface?

  3. Blake Dennis on December 13, 2022 at 12:47 am

    Can you review the ik axe i/o solo?

  4. Brian Vassallo on December 13, 2022 at 12:48 am

    Hello Julian, with the M2 can I listen to the output of my MAC/DAW, and to the input signal of the M2, from let’s say my external synth, at the same time?

  5. Nick Boxer on December 13, 2022 at 12:49 am

    This actually looks like it would fill the gap between the Focusrite 2i2 and 414, when it comes to I/O.

  6. Ricardo Vicente on December 13, 2022 at 12:50 am

    Obrigado!

  7. M B on December 13, 2022 at 12:53 am

    Does anyone know a specialized YouTube channel like this one but for studio headphones?

  8. Celestial Melody on December 13, 2022 at 12:55 am

    There is a new Motu M2 made in 2021 with updated components, if you want to do research on it too~
    That one is easily recognizable, has 2 screws next to the XLR ports and is made in China, probably to lower its cost with the new components~

    I really love your reviews, best ones and not as subjective as the others which I personally found to talk a ton of nonsense, you speak facts and go straight to the point with proof~
    The only downside of Motu, even if it has great specs is that people love the sound of the SSL2 more somehow, not sure why, Motu M2 does sound more full or bassy and SSL2 more flat or as some may perceive it as, lifeless (without 4k)~
    Basically, from what I saw people love sound that has more "character" than a flat sound~
    However, my question would in this case be, wouldn’t a more flat sound be better for recording and editing in the Studio than a sound which has more "character" like Motu has~?
    And if that’s true then is there a way to get Motu with the better specs and still edit the sound properly, like is the sound of Motu M2 good for recording/editing and mastering~?

    Those are the things that confuse me, everything else is pretty clear to me, if you can answer that question~
    To most people they will give a very subjective answer, but I personally would trust your answer over others because you work with facts and not emotion or feel~

  9. Sakis Georgopoulos on December 13, 2022 at 12:58 am

    I’m really amazed of the work and effort you put on your reviews Julian. You have managed to make comprehensive techie subjects to people like me with poor technical knowledge acquired from "here and there". Just scattered information with no or little cohesion.
    I would love to hear your technical opinion on an issue that is troubling me for quite some time. What is the optimal way to connect an external mic preamp to an audio interface ? Should it be connected as a line signal to or through the built in preamps of the audio interface? I use the Focusrite ISA ONE and the Universal Audio 710 TWIN FINITY to record voice over and I would appreciate your opinion on that. Currently I’m using TC Electronic Impact Twin audio interface but I’m about to replace it probably going for the MOTU M4.
    Have a nice day. I would be delighted forward to hearing from you.

  10. Kip Count on December 13, 2022 at 1:01 am

    Would love to see an M4 with four mic pres on it!

  11. Tamas Szabo on December 13, 2022 at 1:03 am

    Hello Julian, love your style 🇩🇪 Do you know anyone who created a level meter sticker for Motu M2/M4? Many thanks ✌🏻

  12. John Heit on December 13, 2022 at 1:04 am

    Thanks for review,such a good professional information, Can you say me what track are playing at finish of the video?) It.s very good reference.

  13. rick deckard on December 13, 2022 at 1:07 am

    Hi, would you say the audio quality between the M series and the Ultralite Mk5 is very different and the Mk5 is worth the extra investment? Best and thanks! PS: will you be able to test the M6 ?

  14. M0NōCröm on December 13, 2022 at 1:09 am

    Hi, thank you very much for the info. Was the unit you measured made in the USA? . According to what I read, the new units are made in China. Do you think your measurements will be valid in the new ones? Is there any difference in sound? And please I would like to know if the measurements of the m2 are valid for the m4, thank you very much.

  15. Rick Biessman on December 13, 2022 at 1:11 am

    Julian, I have two questions. I’m looking for a better interface than my UMC404HD, better in that I would like to get less noise in my recordings as well as minimal round trip latency and the M4 is on my list.
    1) If I understand you correctly, the Behringer ("Midas") preamps are lower noise than the ones in the M2. Does that mean that a high noise floor is not the Behringer interfaces’s fault?
    2) Using Reaper at 48 kHz, I can play electric guitar with amp sims and virtual pianos with a buffer size of 128 samples, getting a round trip latency of 8.67 ms. At 96 kHz, I have to raise the buffer size to 256 samples in order to avoid the same pops and clicks as I’d get with 128 samples @48kHz. In both cases, the task manager indicates that I’m nowhere near maxing out my CPU. The output latency is fine for playing piano, but the round trip latency really bothers me when playing guitar. Do you think Reaper’s readings are correct if the M2 is supposed to be really low latency? Because in your measurements it doesn’t look nearly as good as my cheap Behringer interface…

    If you or anyone else has any recommendations, these are my requirements:
    – As low round trip latency as possible, output latency being more important
    – At least 2 mic inputs with low noise
    – At least 4 line outputs
    – Price: probably not gonna be cheap, so let’s just see… I don’t have money to burn but I’ll spend it if I have to.

  16. Avinash on December 13, 2022 at 1:14 am

    hey julian,could you please help me….i am planning to take an audio interface asap and I’m stuck between this one and id4mk2……..if mic preamp quality is my top priority and one that would probaly last without giving issues as i want to use these for live…..hope you will respond soon…thanks

  17. SLEVIN SHAFEL on December 13, 2022 at 1:14 am

    Like for that "jersey" i need winter now.

  18. Nicholas Carpenter on December 13, 2022 at 1:18 am

    Alright, I’m = confused on the line input on the M2….we can run an external pre into it via the line inputs, right? But it doesn’t have an impedance switch between line or instrument so what is it optimized for line, instrument, or neither. Is it worth considering the M4 for being able to run an external pre into the dedicated line inputs or is the difference negligible. I’m working on my Grammy award for best recording in an untreated garage space so this is obviously very important info.

  19. Mac Calhoun on December 13, 2022 at 1:18 am

    Thanks for the video, I appreciate the more forward explanation.

  20. Ryan on December 13, 2022 at 1:19 am

    Nice review / comparison as always. WOuld you recommend me to get that over the Steinberg UR22C for recording vocals? I would like the DSP effects as well but Selim explained some workaround which causes a little delay, but says that is ok since delay is an effect too.

    THat workaround involves using direct monitoring and creating a separate EFFECT track, then listen to that while recording the original track without effects. Or is it much easier with the Steinberg UR22C? I also fear that the noise will be an issue with the UR22C and I already suspect that the very noticeable noise I hear when recording vocals with a MIC directly plugged into our Yamaha DGX 670, owes to its mic preamp. But not sure, although it comes when singing.

    ALso I quit the idea of recording the piano with an external Audio interface since that preamp headphone outlet (on the piano where the pianos audio is taken out) will probably introduce a lot of noice, since it cannot be turned off. SO I decided to only record the vocals separately and not the piano, which I will record with it’s internal AUdio Interface through a USB cable to the PC’s DAW.

    THe piano/instruments are being recorded at 16 bit 44.1 khz with the built in audio interface.

    DO you know if when recording the vocals with say 24 bit 190 KHZ to another track in Cubase, there will be some capability issue between those two recordings. I noticed some problem when switching between 48 KHZ and 44.1 Khz in Cubase some times. I then suddenly would get a change in tempo and the pitch being altered, leading to the vocals being shiftet up/down.

  21. Finn on December 13, 2022 at 1:19 am

    Du bist doch deutscher ? 🤔

  22. mark cotton on December 13, 2022 at 1:20 am

    Great channel! Appreciate your reviews very much and I even get to find out about some of the equipment I already own. Thanks Julian!

  23. renderman.pro on December 13, 2022 at 1:20 am

    Need to mention that a lot of people have a problem with it at least in Windows, with popping, crackling and all spectre ot audio distortion regardless sample rate and buffer size. Out of the box. And no issues with other interfaces – junky drivers. I think you should make a pin on that, while people are happy to buy it after nice review ……and many could have issues. Just search on youtube problems with motu m2 m4 on Windows.

  24. Mark K on December 13, 2022 at 1:21 am

    This guy is dominating!!! I aint buying untill I see what Julian got to say first !!!!

  25. Onad VLOG TV on December 13, 2022 at 1:22 am

    nice review men..

  26. Sylvain Duford on December 13, 2022 at 1:22 am

    It has no monitor mix control right?

  27. Tephnos on December 13, 2022 at 1:24 am

    Julian, any chance of a re-measure of the new revision of the M2?

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ou30cb6I56M

  28. Carlos der Hund on December 13, 2022 at 1:25 am

    Is there any way to connect my Android Phone as an digital Input to the m2? I need something to drive my Headphones (DT 1990 Pro) and my Studio Monitors (active) that is able to connect to both my Pc and my Phone (Android, LG V60).

  29. Rob Perreault on December 13, 2022 at 1:26 am

    YOU are now my audio interface analysis guy!

    SUBSCRIBED

    cheers mate!

  30. RAJENDRA SUBEDI on December 13, 2022 at 1:27 am

    .Hello Julian…I am your regular viewer, and a new subscriber too. I purchased Motu M2 around a year ago, after I saw so many positive reviews including yours. But I am facing an issue regarding connection to my windows 10 pc,,, when I switch it on, the LCD screen gets stuck with its Motu brand logo with a green bar like error and a red mark in the middle of the green bar ,,, right near the left bottom corner, and it doesn’t shows the display how it should actually do. I am not able to figure whether its a hardware issue or software problem… when this happens I mostly switch on and off the power button many times to connect it but most of the times it doesn’t work,, After switching on and off many times , the LCD screen says " update…." and just remains stuck in the same for a long time.. Then I have to switch of and on once mote to finally connect it .Can you help me out with some advice?

  31. Andrés on December 13, 2022 at 1:28 am

    Just bought the M4 and already having significant problems with it :/ . Every time I open a game such as Valorant or Apex Legends my M4 crashes itself and also the game. I either get stuck on the loading screen or my entire PC just freezes. Really disappointed, also I’m not the first to experience something like this. For example, VitaminZeth has some good criticism on this topic https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VnrhagxKKJA . Please anyone reach out if you have a fix. Thank you

  32. Kary Menuau on December 13, 2022 at 1:29 am

    Hey Julian, whtats your opinion on the Native Instruments Komplete audio 6, foind an used one online, or should i go with the Focusrite 2i2 3rd gen?

  33. Passion Soup on December 13, 2022 at 1:30 am

    Your videos really are infinitely better compared to the other audio interface reviews. You give useful and understandable technical information, rather than wishy-washy opinions.
    I am really appreciative and will definitely use your affiliate links.

  34. Lenser on December 13, 2022 at 1:32 am

    Anyone else struggling with the M2 with Windows 10? The drivers seems crack. Constant hiccups and pops and instability. I have tried everything possible. It seems others share my sentiment.

  35. jpdenk on December 13, 2022 at 1:32 am

    Excellent video, as always, but how about the M4? Especially now that they’re being manufactured in China, might be some significant changes.

  36. Jawad Benissa on December 13, 2022 at 1:34 am

    Vielen Dank Julian, Ich werde es bestellen 🙂

  37. peter parker on December 13, 2022 at 1:34 am

    "Talk like a robot." 😄

    Received the M2 yesterday still waiting for the USB extension cable, curios if the M2 will make a difference to my 20 year old PCI interface.

  38. Michael Mattson on December 13, 2022 at 1:36 am

    Is it iPad friendly?

  39. Ash Eternal on December 13, 2022 at 1:36 am

    Will you review the recently released Motu M6 next?

  40. Nicolas Soto on December 13, 2022 at 1:38 am

    Motu M2 vs SSL2 who wins?

  41. mi casa produccioness s.a on December 13, 2022 at 1:39 am

    A question this interface is used to use it in windows

  42. Vinícius Berbert on December 13, 2022 at 1:39 am

    Hey Julian, awesome work on this review. Do you know if it works on windows 7?

  43. Deep in Japan Podcast on December 13, 2022 at 1:41 am

    Great content as usual, Julian. Would love to see you review the Rodecaster Pro 2 at some point, if possible. Thanks for all your hard work!

  44. Laser Jakk on December 13, 2022 at 1:42 am

    Hi Julian, a question for you: Assuming that Latency is something not only for audio signal but also for usb/midi keyboard playing VST Instruments and 99% of the Home producers nowadays will produce at 24bit/48.000hz with 256 Buffer size to not demand to much of CPU with a bunch of tracks with VST Instruments and Plugins on the channels. Can you real talk about or even test Motu M2 Latency on this very common scenario?

  45. Jacob cain Carrasco on December 13, 2022 at 1:42 am

    That was not a nice place to put a commercial 😅

  46. Sandro Mireno on December 13, 2022 at 1:43 am

    I connect the keys to the 1st and 2nd channel .. sound in the center (in mono) how to make a panorama? 1st channel send to left 2nd channel to right? i want to play without delay through direct monitor function… Panorama in DAW i can do but it’s not the coat.. there is micro delay…. in steinberg souncard i could do it through mixer. .

  47. 해피주식트레이더 on December 13, 2022 at 1:44 am

    Hi~ . What programs are shown on your monitor?

  48. Sekrit Skworl - Sekrit_Studios on December 13, 2022 at 1:44 am

    How do you have absolutely NO UAD interfaces aside from the new garbage ones which no one really wants? I would have loved to have know the signal to noise ratios of UAD interfaces and preamps

  49. Skilpad on December 13, 2022 at 1:45 am

    The M2 seems great, but the lack of mix knob worries me. I have a knob for my computer volume, so lowering it is easy. But my fear is:
    *Is there any risk my feedback can be too loud compared to the DAW?*
    (Knowing that the input volume would be set for optimal recording.)

  50. B&B Woodcraft and Engineering on December 13, 2022 at 1:45 am

    Hello everyone!
    I use my PC for entertainment and job, so I need to speak with my teammates, work with DAW and basicly listen the music or watch the video
    I’ve got speakers, headphones and condenser microphone
    I need that sound from pc go to speakers, microphone work as usual, and wave out from PC and microphone both mixed go to headphones
    Can I use M2/4/6 for these purposes?

Leave a Comment