NEW! Vox Cambridge 50 NuTube Modelling Amplifier – Review & Demo

NEW! Vox Cambridge 50 NuTube Modelling Amplifier – Review & Demo

Sam takes a look at the new Vox Cambridge 50 NuTube Amplifier, a fantastic alternative to the likes of the Boss Katana, Blackstar ID or Fender Mustang.

Check it out here: https://www.pmtonline.co.uk/vox-cambridge-50-modeling-guitar-amp

Shop VOX: https://www.pmtonline.co.uk/brands/vox

New for 2020, the Vox Cambridge 50 is a 50 watt modelling amplifier which offers a wide range of tones, is loud enough to use on stage and at rehearsals, but is also equally as suitable for quiet home practicing.

In terms of electronics and control options, it’s actually very similar to VOX’s existing VT50-GTV combo, which means that it uses their Virtual Element Technology, or VET for short, to create a versatile range of amp models, and the tonal circuit also features Vox’s exclusive NuTube vacuum tube, which helps to add the kind of natural overdrive and compression characteristics that you’d expect from a conventional valve amplifier, but without the reliability issues.

Where the Cambridge differs from the VX50 though is in it’s cabinet and speaker design. Instead of the slightly uncoventional, closed back, ported ABS plastic cabinet and 8” standard speaker which is found on the VT50, the Cambridge 50, whilst still remaining relatively lightweight, reverts back to a traditional open back wooden cabinet design. It’s styled a little more like a classic Vox, but most importantly it houses a larger, upgraded Celestion VX12 speaker, which offers a wider frequency range response and a bit more punch at higher volumes.

Looking at the control panel, it’s pretty simple layout, so if you don’t get on with menu based modelling amps such as the Fender Mustang or Marshall Code, the Cambridge might be a good option for you. There’s 10 amp models to choose from, plus a line option, that’s a super clean channel suitable for an electro acoustic guitar or keyboard but which still utilises the NuTube circuitry. Just like on the VT series, the onboard amp models range from clean to high gain tones, and included recreations of Vox’s classic AC30 and AC30 top boost amps, as well as amp models inspired by classic Fender, Marshall and Mesa amplifiers.

To tweak your tone, there’s a gain knob, treble and bass controls and then a master channel volume, and this works in conjunction with the power level knob, allowing you to crank the channel volume right up to replicate a tube amp being driven really hard, but then turn the power level down, so you can get that kinda valvey feel and response but at low volume levels, ideal for home practice and recording.

On top of the amp models you can add two simultaneous effects, a modulation, so that’s chorus, flanger, phase or tremolo and then a delay or a reverb, and these are controlled by two knobs, making it really simple to dial in an effect.

Once you’ve created a tone, you can save two favourites which can be recalled by pressing the program button, or if you connect the optional VFS5 footswitch, you can expand this to 8 saveable programs, accessed via the footswitch.

Other than that, there’s standard practice amp features such as a headphone output and auxiliary input, and there’s also a USB socket on the back of the amp, allowing you to record your tones through the NuTube circuitry directly into your computer’s recording software.

Take a listen here with PMTVU and check one out at your nearest Professional Music Technology store…

#namm2020 #voxamps #voxcambridge50
Subscribe: https://www.youtube.com/c/PMTVUK?sub_confirmation=1

Find us on social media:
https://www.facebook.com/PMTHouseOfRock/
https://twitter.com/pmthouseofrock
https://www.instagram.com/pmthouseofrock

50 Comments

  1. Truthseeker on July 5, 2022 at 11:24 pm

    so is it better than the Vt40x?

  2. Alsay on July 5, 2022 at 11:27 pm

    7:50 isnt that brian may’s "Since youve been gone"?
    Reminds me on that one..

  3. martinezq1 on July 5, 2022 at 11:29 pm

    Interesting but compare to Roland Blues Cube Hot?

  4. Ron Robins on July 5, 2022 at 11:33 pm

    Great demo good job!!!!

  5. Alsay on July 5, 2022 at 11:36 pm

    I got it today with a brian may guitar,
    It sounds amazing!!!
    Still the best in 2021!!!
    Thanks for the Video! ✌️

  6. David Renthlei on July 5, 2022 at 11:37 pm

    Hmm

  7. o o on July 5, 2022 at 11:40 pm

    whats happening with the mouth?

  8. We the People USA on July 5, 2022 at 11:40 pm

    Cambridge 50 vs VT40 ? Which one?

  9. Mountain Man on July 5, 2022 at 11:41 pm

    Anyone tried…how does it compare with the Vox vt40x?

  10. Kaic8 on July 5, 2022 at 11:42 pm

    Is this amp good for metal playing, its what i play so i really need to know.

  11. Josche Lei on July 5, 2022 at 11:42 pm

    When you say wood, you really mean MDF or Particle Board?

  12. arrrrrran on July 5, 2022 at 11:42 pm

    9:15 one vision

  13. arrrrrran on July 5, 2022 at 11:42 pm

    6:57 crazy little thing called love

  14. Mark Lazarus on July 5, 2022 at 11:43 pm

    Really great video and some tasty playing. Thanks from sunny Bolton 🙂

  15. Krystian Sęk on July 5, 2022 at 11:46 pm

    How would you compare sound quality (or maybe in other words: how real is "tube sound") to vt40x with tube pre-amp? Of course it’s not about Watts power now 😉

  16. Canadian Combat Wombat The 3rd on July 5, 2022 at 11:46 pm

    This amp has one of the best clean tones I’ve heard.

  17. jrfi orn on July 5, 2022 at 11:46 pm

    My god Vox needs to fire and forever banish their designers. That thing is so ugly! Model the look on a 60’s head for heaven’s sake! Not rocket science people…

  18. Arcade 1959 on July 5, 2022 at 11:46 pm

    Do you think the clean channel can be used for Jazz ?

  19. boseefus macmurphy on July 5, 2022 at 11:50 pm

    No mid control, no thanks. Ever cranked the mids and volume on a vox? It’s awesome.

  20. Todd Leonard on July 5, 2022 at 11:51 pm

    Cool looking amp, but for the money, it seems you’d be better off (options/channels/savable tones)with the Marshall code or the Fender Mustang

  21. Johannes Silver on July 5, 2022 at 11:54 pm

    Awesome sounds … did not know that it is possible to get so nice even though I have VX-15GT version. Mostly I use AC30TB model.

  22. Alejandro A. on July 5, 2022 at 11:55 pm

    Can anyone tell me if you can plug in a microphone and sign through this amp ?

  23. MIXALIS ROUTADIS on July 5, 2022 at 11:55 pm

    This amp is NOT for metal playing!

  24. Levi Creeger on July 5, 2022 at 11:56 pm

    I went to guitarcenter dead set on picking up a Fender Blues Jr. or Laney Cub. Instead I brought one of these home. The plug and play factor is huge. It’s probably missing an effects loop, but it’s a medium sacrifice for a big sound in a little box.

  25. David Barker on July 5, 2022 at 11:57 pm

    Great video very informative – thanks

  26. Joy Locker on July 5, 2022 at 11:57 pm

    Ok I have a AVT 100 watt marshall which is sounding horrible a Bugara which is OK a VOX VT20 which sounds amazing but Im starting again in quite big rooms.. Is this amp better than the Vox VT20 even tho obviously bigger and on saying that if I had an extra 400 dollars to spend what is better than the cambridge?? Maybe silly questions but I just compared my little practise vox with the marshall and bugara yesterday and was blown away so getting a bigger vox thanks heaps ??

  27. Larry Antinozzi on July 5, 2022 at 11:58 pm

    How about an acoustic guitar through the line out, please?

  28. Web Surfer on July 5, 2022 at 11:58 pm

    I just wonder how this will compare to the AD30VT amp, which i find seriously underwhelming?

  29. ajlguitfiddle on July 6, 2022 at 12:01 am

    I checked one out. There is a horrible fizz on the overdrive models that can’t be dialed out. It’s terrible. I can’t believe Vox would put it on the market like this. Cleans are nice.

  30. TheMasonator777 on July 6, 2022 at 12:02 am

    I think people might be missing the fact that is a TUBE amp with some modelling. It’s not just a digital modeller. The Nu-tube concept is amazing. I have one of the mini-heads and it’s great.

  31. Visitor One Productions on July 6, 2022 at 12:02 am

    Simply can’t decide between this or mustang gtx

  32. Larry G. Overton on July 6, 2022 at 12:03 am

    This video review has proved to be the most helpful to me thus far. Sam took the time to go through each of the models, and didn’t skip or skimp on the cleans. Yes, I agree with the other Larry (Antinozzi), running an acoustic/electric guitar (or even a keyboard) into the Line "model" would have been nice, but this video is still the most comprehensive I’ve seen thus far.

  33. zero zero on July 6, 2022 at 12:05 am

    Why is there no mid control !!! Why!!! Do companies continue to make this mistake!

  34. David Kay on July 6, 2022 at 12:05 am

    Great review. Would you say this is better than the vox vtx amps.they seem similar but can’t make my mind up on which to go for. Your advice would be helpful

  35. Jer Justice on July 6, 2022 at 12:06 am

    Isn’t there an app where you can adjust effect settings and save 8 presets?

  36. Atharva Wamorkar on July 6, 2022 at 12:07 am

    This or the Boss Katana 50??

  37. Stewart Tomkinson on July 6, 2022 at 12:07 am

    On the lowest setting it is loud as hell

  38. DARIN COX on July 6, 2022 at 12:08 am

    thats why i use vox,the tone cant be beat by any other amp,great demo.

  39. Ragnad Rabinowitz on July 6, 2022 at 12:08 am

    I don’t care if there is no effects loop

  40. arrrrrran on July 6, 2022 at 12:14 am

    7:32 hammer to fall

  41. Dave H-Reid on July 6, 2022 at 12:15 am

    Just ordered one

  42. Daniel Hartman on July 6, 2022 at 12:17 am

    No Thanks. I like my 50 watt Katana better.

  43. THE KOMEDY KING on July 6, 2022 at 12:18 am

    At 7:06 it kinda sounds like crazy little thing called love 👀

  44. Klaus on July 6, 2022 at 12:19 am

    Too bad it has no fx loop

  45. W. Scott on July 6, 2022 at 12:22 am

    Another modeling amp — by definition made for fiddling and tweaking — with the controls buried on the back/top of the amp where they are harder to see and use.
    Is it just me? It must be just me…

  46. Eric Nelson on July 6, 2022 at 12:22 am

    I will most likely get one of these soon. I have always enjoyed Voxs hybride oriented amps but never thrilled at the reverb. However, I keep wondering why Marshall isn’t able to create things like this. It is easy to understand why some marshal employees left and created Blackstar.

  47. dekzan on July 6, 2022 at 12:22 am

    Best review on the item 👍

  48. Alex Murphy on July 6, 2022 at 12:22 am

    How well does it take pedals? I know it’s a common question but… This looks really solid

  49. Sean in France on July 6, 2022 at 12:23 am

    Quite a few people posting here have expressed their regret that this amp doesn’t have an effects loop. But as far as I can see, you really have to step up to Boss Katana 100 price range to get that (the Vox AV30 also has one and is cheaper, but it’s a hybrid).
    I can’t help thinking that the big manufacturers are missing a trick here. I’m sure if one of them could come up with a modelling amp which offered the following for under 300 euros, they could wipe the floor:
    – attenuator or master volume control to allow playing saturated valve-type sounds quietly
    – just the classic amp models, say 2 Fender, 2 Vox, 3 Marshall and 1 MB and 1 clean/instrument channel, and dispense with all the obscure "boutique" models
    – just the simple basic good quality effects which the Katanas have
    – a good quality 10 or 12" speaker
    – simple control layout, like this Vox
    – and an Effects Loop!
    Surely it can’t be so difficult or expensive just to add an effects loop?

  50. myob357 on July 6, 2022 at 12:23 am

    no fx loop, crappy class d pwr amp, hearing and reading reviews and its not good…oh-hum

Leave a Comment