Off-Grid Tiny House Appliance Review: Avalon Bay Portable Washing Machine + Portable Spin Dryer

Off-Grid Tiny House Appliance Review: Avalon Bay Portable Washing Machine + Portable Spin Dryer

We washed, we dried, we got a workout! As usual, we had way too much fun reviewing the Avalon Bay Portable Washing Machine and Portable Spin Dryer (or is it just a giant salad spinner). Could make a great off-grid clothes washer/dryer option for you. Watch and see!
✨Part of our new Tiny Stuff product review series. If don’t absolutely love or need one of these products, we’ll give it away. AND we’re giving this away! The winners have been announced–Watch HERE: https://youtu.be/l6UYoxPOJTY
👉For 10% off, use my promo code TINYHOUSE.
💦Avalon Bay EcoWash Portable Washing Machine: http://bit.ly/portawasher
💨Avalon Bay EcoSpin Portable Clothes Dryer: http://bit.ly/portadryer

🚚🏡💨 Follow our tiny house travels:
Subscribe to our channel ❤
👉 Instagram: tiny_house_expedition
Facebook: Tiny House Expedition *********************************************************************
New to our Channel? Welcome! We are Alexis and Christian, and this is our nomadic life! 🚚🏡💨After falling in love and building our 130 sq ft tiny house on wheels, we hit the road to explore the tiny house movement for our documentary and educational project. Together we are on a journey with a purpose and are now the World’s Most Traveled Tiny House.

✨Join us as we create community, cultivate experiences, advocate for the movement, share tiny living stories and resources. Our community is always growing. ❤️ You can find us traveling across North America. Miles traveled to date: ​50,000 miles and counting!

✨The BIG Purpose behind our travels: Inspire and empower others to redefine home and rethink housing as a means to provide more sustainable options, more meaningful lifestyles and more connected communities. 👉 More about Tiny House Expedition: https://tinyhouseexpedition.com

🏡 For us, tiny living is all about living consciously, living simply and living in harmony with our surroundings to create more abundance on personal and community levels. And it’s our ticket to adventure!

50 Comments

  1. taleharvest on September 9, 2022 at 3:23 am

    Tip for drying pants: save those hangers that have clips on them that come with the pants at the store. Hang your very wet pants outside, upside down, with the seams together so you get a nice line on your slacks, just like you ironed them. The kids sized hanger are perfect to hold the bottoms of your pants. The weight of the top of your wet pants, pulls the wrinkles out the bottom, while hanging to dry. Tips for t-shirts and shirts: Use those hangers that are extra long, so you don’t get any hanger bumps on your shirts. Button up your shirts to the top, so they dry with a nice shape. Use office clips as weights on the cuffs of your long sleeve shirts to keep them drying flat, looking like they were creased, and with few to no wrinkles. Can you tell that I hate ironing?

  2. SpongeAddict2018 on September 9, 2022 at 3:26 am

    Can also wash in the spin dryer

  3. Di Eag on September 9, 2022 at 3:26 am

    Funny video. Thanks.

  4. Tommy Smith on September 9, 2022 at 3:29 am

    Very nice!

  5. Loraine Jones on September 9, 2022 at 3:29 am

    We absolutely could use and need the spinner! Our washing machine broke where there is no agitation. We went online to buy this spinner and they are sold out! I hope you did not give it away, yet. Otherwise, we must keep on searching. Great video! How do I know if you still have it available to give away?

  6. Guitarist 1988 on September 9, 2022 at 3:32 am

    Why not just buy a solar powered generator and a portable electric washing machine? Looks like you live in a well ☀️ lit environment.

  7. Aymara on September 9, 2022 at 3:32 am

    these should be somehow connected to pedals so that you can bike your clothes clean ! Workout and chores done all in one

  8. Harriett 'Harr' Xing on September 9, 2022 at 3:33 am

    Where did you buy the spin dryer?

  9. Diane Celaya on September 9, 2022 at 3:34 am

    I’ve seen a lot of people use their rinse water to wash their next load

  10. activeheart22755 on September 9, 2022 at 3:34 am

    wow l was complaining about my mini washer lol

  11. Minh Ly on September 9, 2022 at 3:43 am

    That second one

  12. OnWednesdays WeWearPink on September 9, 2022 at 3:43 am

    I found this washer brand new for $10 at a charity shop. It works great for a single person

  13. Marilyn Ma'at on September 9, 2022 at 3:45 am

    Thank you! Very helpful

  14. Edgardo Martinez on September 9, 2022 at 3:49 am

    Which is the cheapeast portable option washer and dryer on Amazon?

  15. Nell the Pleasure Coach on September 9, 2022 at 3:51 am

    both of the links take you to something called newair and the products AREN’T there

  16. COVID sucks Bad on September 9, 2022 at 3:52 am

    There is a man the invented washing clothes on the bike, even made it stationary. Real neat how he did it. ❤️ we pay to go to the gym and use a bike, when we could be using a bike at home to wash clothes

  17. Planet of the Idiots on September 9, 2022 at 3:52 am

    I want the Portable Spin Dryer 2x larger 🙂

  18. Minh Ly on September 9, 2022 at 3:53 am

    The second one comes with an agitator attachment,

  19. Jacqueline miles on September 9, 2022 at 3:54 am

    Handle should be different. That one is to small for it .

  20. likeaSparrow inTheWilderness on September 9, 2022 at 3:55 am

    ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,”””””””””” 2 Esdras 2: 31 -100 ;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

  21. Van Lennon on September 9, 2022 at 3:56 am

    May I join the contest? I want the white washer! Thanks

  22. Eminem the goat fr no cap 🧢 🐐 on September 9, 2022 at 3:57 am

    Its worth bout $10000 $7000 innit bruv

  23. Megalomaniac on September 9, 2022 at 3:58 am

    Is there anything bigger?

  24. John Wang on September 9, 2022 at 3:58 am

    When washing with a salad spinner, the agitation is from changing direction of the spin not the spin itself so you don’t push the handle through a full turn before reversing the direction. It’s often best to just open the spinner and agitate the clothes by hand. Just spinning does nothing to washing the clothes. Also, you want to wash a lot longer, 15 to 30 minutes or even more which makes these hand powered devices just too tiring to use. Look for ones with an electric motor or a foot pump mechanism. The small capacities means multiple loads so it’s a good idea to save the soap water and the first rinse water for reuse especially if you are van living where water conservation is an issue. Spin drying between wash and rinse is a good idea as well as between rinses.

  25. Lady_EVE Ning on September 9, 2022 at 3:59 am

    finally the video I was searching for 🫵🏽☺️👍🏼

  26. Planet of the Idiots on September 9, 2022 at 3:59 am

    Fill it 2/3 and test SPIN

  27. Angie Conklin on September 9, 2022 at 4:00 am

    You guys were great. I have been looking for something just like this. I am tired of using the machines everybody in the apartment building uses. I am strange about things like that. I know, I know I have been told before. Can’t help it. You did a very good job. Had I not seen your video I might have just bought the spinner not knowing that is about the only thing its good for. Thanks a lot.

  28. I Sea Anemone 7007 on September 9, 2022 at 4:01 am

    The pipe bit for removing the water slipped away from its silly little holder and I got water EVERYWHERE

  29. Carol Oakes on September 9, 2022 at 4:02 am

    I have the same washing equipment as you ,but i do it in my house in the bath , then let the clothes hang on lines over the bath , i only use the spinner for jumpers or tea shirts & yes it shakes , i do have a portable hand wringer but don’t use it as much now as drip drying has less creases in things … i love washing off grid to save electric

  30. nisha on September 9, 2022 at 4:02 am

    How much the hight is the blue one

  31. Hawa Karshe on September 9, 2022 at 4:03 am

    Too much work honey.

  32. nisha on September 9, 2022 at 4:05 am

    Where can I buy this blue one and how much to pay?

  33. Pure Blood on September 9, 2022 at 4:06 am

    Im getting them for when SHTF and we have no power already have the washer now need the spinner thanks for sharing

  34. Wanda Jane Trusett on September 9, 2022 at 4:10 am

    Need big Bowl how come without draining out water to wash all your cloths than drain water. Have Another Big Bowl for spin dryer only thought only my opinion!!

  35. eddyvideostar on September 9, 2022 at 4:10 am

    At 9:32 minutes: " Don’t try this at home." Selassie. Bless.

  36. Guy Solis on September 9, 2022 at 4:11 am

    I think I could make a contraption to wash clothes for under $10. One issue I have with each of these units is storage. Gotta be careful not to break the plastic handles off..good video, looks like you are all adapting to the tiny house..

  37. James Rogers on September 9, 2022 at 4:12 am

    Just brainstorming, but maybe if the manufacturer of the dryer put a basket with a center agitator in it. Of course I don’t know if the basket lifts out or what. Of course I’m still watching as I type this

  38. anima italiana on September 9, 2022 at 4:14 am

    oooh nice. you will make my day, guys
    …i just decided to live on my sailboat and i really need that dryer )))
    you still have a promo code? 😉

    keep on shooting, guys
    thank you

  39. Private1 on September 9, 2022 at 4:14 am

    That’s a lot of water isn’t it? My full size Samsung uses about that for a 10kg load. Most modern washing machines decycle water through the programme. Currently in the uk we have a drought situation developing so it’s worth noting.

    You don’t need agitation with washing detergent as they work by reducing water surface tension (surfactant action). Soap works by agitation,

    By the time you’ve used that salad spinner the c,others you’re wearing are no doubt sweaty and need washing lol.

  40. twig d on September 9, 2022 at 4:15 am

    i just let my clothes drip dry much easier

  41. Fil Baxter on September 9, 2022 at 4:15 am

    In the UK out washers are front loading. Gravity naturally agitates the clothes…..I’ve never understood toploaders?

  42. Marcel Flückiger on September 9, 2022 at 4:16 am

    The salad is ready to eat

  43. Mr. 1000 on September 9, 2022 at 4:16 am

    Damn! That spinner is expensive!

  44. Koko Kita on September 9, 2022 at 4:18 am

    Maybe change arms too🤣

  45. Robert Hutton on September 9, 2022 at 4:18 am

    I found and watched this video last April. (I took a screen shot of this video for my “Home Appliance” photo folder.) I liked it so much, it was so informative, I’ve watched it again. Really enjoyed it. I thought you would like to know. I really do intend on getting these two items!

  46. Samie Paradise on September 9, 2022 at 4:19 am

    Fun fact if you’re really struggling and need a cheap temporary solution… a literal $20 salad spinner from Amazon does wonders. Only cleans a few pieces at a time but works amazing and spin dries

  47. Jacqueline miles on September 9, 2022 at 4:20 am

    I use my salad spinner for small clothes .

  48. Catalina Baby on September 9, 2022 at 4:20 am

    The link for dryer goes to a cooler company ,no dryer there

  49. Apotheoz on September 9, 2022 at 4:21 am

    They should add a vertical stand for the spinner, it would be way more efficient to use it vertically for washing since clothes would mix better and horizontally for drying.

  50. Kyu T Lee on September 9, 2022 at 4:23 am

    Ever thought of the "EZY WASH"??? It does wash, spin , rinse then spin and is manual. That way you only have one unit and save space!!! OR GO TO FOOT POWER WITH "YIREGO DRUMI" !!

Leave a Comment