Paradigm Monitor SE Atom Speaker Review – Bringing the Metal!

Paradigm Monitor SE Atom Speaker Review – Bringing the Metal!

#speakerreview #audiophile #hifi

Paradigm Monitor SE Atom $238 USD https://amzn.to/3arNwwT

Amps Used
Sony STR-DH190 Currently Out of Stock on Amazon. Best Buy has them in stock
Emotiva TA-100 http://emotiva.com?aff=9

patreon.com/cheapaudioman

High Res Music Streaming for FREE!!!!

Amazon Music Unlimited Free Trial (For HD, Scroll to the bottom of the linked page and select “Try HD” https://amzn.to/3fiiMPC

Test Track Playlist:
https://music.amazon.com/user-playlists/24d254ee836b42dda037530f77fedc2esune?ref=dm_sh_0c0d-7fb2-b9eb-7614-9cb17

If you click on this link and sign up for a free trial I will receive a small referral fee.

If you use any of my links to purchase products I will receive a small commission on the sale of that item. Won’t cost you any more to purchase with the link.

50 Comments

  1. Mike Dinno on December 27, 2020 at 10:05 pm

    No suprises here either. Top notch company that has been around forever. Great review!

  2. william may on December 27, 2020 at 10:05 pm

    Paradigm speakers are very good and I agree with your assessment on these speakers, good job 👍

  3. Kohn Futner on December 27, 2020 at 10:09 pm

    This channel is a blooper reel. That’s why I have so much fun when I’m watching or just listening which is normally the case. Much better than SnObBy talk with your neighborhood audioSnOB.

  4. Dean Patterson on December 27, 2020 at 10:10 pm

    Anyone else get Ron Swanson vibes?

  5. Theodoros Chronis on December 27, 2020 at 10:13 pm

    Thank you for the answer my friend!
    According to your opinion and experience, the Elac Unifi UB5 or the Paradigm SE Atom is the Tin P1 of speakers?

  6. ziggy8757 on December 27, 2020 at 10:14 pm

    which is a better speaker, this paradigm or the kef q150 and why?

  7. John Ricci on December 27, 2020 at 10:15 pm

    “Schwing”… is an important audiophile marker in the tonal traits of a good speaker. Seriously, thank you for bringing us to what’s identifiable, what’s important and what to listen for. Also loved your treble track btw! 🙏🏼

  8. Jeff Sloane on December 27, 2020 at 10:18 pm

    Keep it together Randy. Tammy’s is count on you for their 2021 sales. Merry Christmas brother.

  9. lucv13 on December 27, 2020 at 10:19 pm

    Glad you enjoyed the Atoms, as I indicated in a previous post they are my favorite bookshelf – I have the V5 version on my main system. Funny you mention the Klipsch 51M I use a pair on my secondary TT system with a cheap tube amp. You neglected to mention when you paired these with the Anthem that Anthem and Paradigm are the same company!

  10. BangARanggg on December 27, 2020 at 10:20 pm

    Sorry can’t mow the lawn today, it’s a brutal wilderness out there and i can’t find my gut knife 😅

  11. larry lee luck on December 27, 2020 at 10:20 pm

    Interesting. The theme song is very nice too- title?. Sent this for a friend who has an atom from many years ago.

  12. rick szabo on December 27, 2020 at 10:21 pm

    I don’t know if this has been done before ,but when you sing you should take a swig on cranberry juice, I bet it will go virial .

  13. Kohn Futner on December 27, 2020 at 10:23 pm

    I guess I should’ve got the jbl studio 570 rather than the 580 since 5.25" seem to do better than 6.5". Luckily, the "6.5 inch" "subs" in the 580 only measure 5.5". But I guess that’s the way all 6.5" are. The klipsch 250f might be better than the 280f. Who knows?
    I guess the 500m maybe better than the 600m?

  14. Rennie Ash on December 27, 2020 at 10:23 pm

    It seems like they are designed well. Inverted surround, waveguide for tweeter to match directivity. Would be interesting to see someone measure this

  15. Not Enough Records on December 27, 2020 at 10:24 pm

    these are simply the best stereo gear reviews going and it’s not close

  16. Sean Heisler on December 27, 2020 at 10:25 pm

    Randy, are you in Nebraska? The hat looks like a Cornhuskers hat. I’m in Nebraska. Let me know!!

  17. Les Matthews on December 27, 2020 at 10:26 pm

    I just subscribed literally 5 minutes ago – then this video pops up. The beginning made coffee come out my nose! I can’t wait for the rest of your videos!!!

  18. Gordon Simpson on December 27, 2020 at 10:27 pm

    During yesterday’s live stream I encouraged you to check out ‘Tin Pan Alley’ saying Santana, but I don’t know what I was thinking, it’s Stevie Ray Vaughan, not Santana. One of my preferred test tracks.

  19. C O on December 27, 2020 at 10:28 pm

    I recommended these puppies to a buddy of mine along with the paradigm 2000 centre for his new HT and music listening setup. He originally bought a sound bar and tried it out, which got quickly returned. He hasn’t stopped thanking me for weeks.

  20. Leroy Garcia on December 27, 2020 at 10:28 pm

    Hello Randy, the Paradigm SE Atom is a great pick for review. Was wondering if the SE Atom is enjoyable enough to replace your Polk S20’s?
    Also, since the price is comparable to Atom’s, would you consider reviewing the Dali Spektor 1 bookshelf speakers too?
    Thanks for continuing the barrage of blue collar audio choices. 🙂

  21. Michael S on December 27, 2020 at 10:28 pm

    What are your thoughts of these vs the Klipsch RPs vs Airmotiva B1+?

    Edit: rewatched the end and I missed you plan to compare them. I’ll wait! 🙂

  22. Barry on December 27, 2020 at 10:29 pm

    These seem like a good solution for right and left channels in my 5.1 system..what do you think?

  23. Stephen B on December 27, 2020 at 10:30 pm

    Truth is I bought these at my local 2001 Audio Video. Money was tight, so I bought these. I only had them for a bit. I only listened a few songs. Didn’t spend allot of time going through my CDs to form an opinion on them. I returned them shortly after buying because money was tight. I went on the used market, and picked up something nice for 100 bucks. But there was something cool about these when I had them. I would like to have them again, and spend more time with them going through my music. I remember the bass was good, I was surprised. And they were detailed, and the tweeter is pretty sparkly, in a good way. I prefer a good metal dome to a good soft dome. I think a metal dome done well, is better. More detail, just better. Just my opinion. But a bad metal dome, OMG! They hurt your ears. I really wanted to know you’re thoughts on them. I ramble on, sorry, 😉. Long message.

  24. Douglas Bonner on December 27, 2020 at 10:30 pm

    Those are on sale right now and a absolute steal. Randy how often do you find yourself behind your speakers?

  25. DJIJ SpeakerGuy on December 27, 2020 at 10:30 pm

    I have the old Atom v2 from 1999 and even those are awesome speakers, turn them up enough and I can feel them! They are the same dimensions as the (horrible) Polk audio t15s, and sound twice as big, and they are the old ones! I have the Titan v2 as well, the 6.5 inch version that they quit selling, and while they are not too muddy sounding, they definitely sound that way in comparison to the atoms.

  26. papapatriot on December 27, 2020 at 10:31 pm

    Love the Channel!

  27. Leonard Blush on December 27, 2020 at 10:35 pm

    Wow, that was fast work!

    (Often) agree with your observation re: 5.25 woofered speakers. You used the word balance; I might go with "coherence". They often seem to "disappear" and float an image a bit better. I can remember checking out earlier Paradigm lines and usually finding more "magic" in the Atom over the Mini-Monitor. In some ways, my NHT SB1s beat the SB2. Paul Barton downsized his famous Alphas from 6.5 to 5.25. I reckon there’s just less sonic ground to cover.

    And yet…. Bass. Volume. Scale. Room size. My smaller Diamond 10.1s are beautifully balanced near field in an 9 x 15′ room, but in the 12 x 15′ next room they’re too thin sounding, and it takes the bigger Diamond 225s to attain that balance and fill up that back wall with full-size people. Horses for courses, I reckon.

    A speaker that might bridge that 5.25-6.5 gap in terms of coherence might be the NHT SuperOne 2.1. Right now, they’re $360 a pair at Amazon, but they have been about $260 at times. At that price, they would make for a great review subject, IMHO.

    Thanks for the review. In years past, Atom reviews were everywhere, but they seem to have almost become the "forgotten man" in the last couple of years. Taken for granted , mayhaps.

  28. between 2 speakers on December 27, 2020 at 10:37 pm

    After your live session i tried out the ls50 vs q150. You mentioned it was not 3 x the q150.
    I have to agree 100%. Now I tried these monitor se vs paradigm prestige b15. I know it’s not fair comparison just like with the Kefs but the difference with the paradigms was nite and day. Eventhough I agree that the monitor se are very good.

  29. EyeStick on December 27, 2020 at 10:39 pm

    4000 subs by New Years? I meant 5000. Good for you Randy! I missed your live stream. Ill catch the next one.

  30. Rick Austin on December 27, 2020 at 10:40 pm

    Dig the hat!

  31. Kohn Futner on December 27, 2020 at 10:42 pm

    I didn’t know there were cheap paradigm speakers.

  32. wade venters on December 27, 2020 at 10:43 pm

    Hey Randy great video on these speakers. I have a opportunity to buy a Yamaha RX-V659 av receiver for $75.00. Will this receiver be a good source for just Music listening in my shop? I just plan on listening to music on this Receiver with 4 speakers and maybe a sub woofer. Any bodys opinion would be appreciated

  33. williams on December 27, 2020 at 10:45 pm

    Must of had my mike on, don’t know where "stink’ came from sorry .

  34. Ken Lane on December 27, 2020 at 10:46 pm

    Hey Randy…..Great review. If I may be so bold,,, Here is an idea for a song to give a spin for yer list- Boz Skaggs – Thanks to you. Very remarkable
    recording. Cheers,,and keep on keeping on!

  35. Beer de Mus on December 27, 2020 at 10:47 pm

    Randy, are you into trip hop (Massive Attack, Portishead etc)? Quite challenging music to most speakers. Would be cool to incorporate in your reviews maybe.

  36. REGITRON on December 27, 2020 at 10:47 pm

    Randy, really enjoying your channel and nice work on the live stream last night. I am considering the Paradigm SE Atom and for another $80 the Kef Q150. Is the extra $80 worth it. Look forward to your thoughts. Thanks.

  37. Owen on December 27, 2020 at 10:48 pm

    so did you not use a dac with the sony receiver?

  38. TheChipiboy on December 27, 2020 at 10:48 pm

    Could you possibly throw the adam T5Vs in the shootout?

    Or maybe the 11.2s?

  39. Todd Chivers on December 27, 2020 at 10:51 pm

    Had a pair of floor standing I bought in 1996. The lasted a long time sold about two years ago

  40. Audio Electronics on December 27, 2020 at 10:52 pm

    Great quality speakers!

  41. Tim Schutte on December 27, 2020 at 10:52 pm

    I am torn between these and the PSB – P-5s.
    Both are great. I may just get both, ha ha and also the P-3s.

  42. Theodoros Chronis on December 27, 2020 at 10:54 pm

    Ever since I discovered your channel my friend, I have been stuck with your reviews! In my country, Sony SSCS5 cost 217 € while PARADIGM SE ATOM cost 298 €. Which should I choose as value for money? Which pair sounds best for you? I already have the ELACs UNIFI UB5 (how do they compare to ELAC’s ?) with a CYRUS ONE amp in my listening room and I want to make a system in the living room with the FOSI amplifier you suggest, because I do not have much space there. I prefer to listen music from FLACs and DSDs files because I like hi-res music and detailed high end. Thank you very much.

  43. J Sorrien on December 27, 2020 at 10:54 pm

    I have a pair of older Paradigm Esprit v.3 floor stands boxed away, don’t have the room for them at the moment. Remember back when I was testing them out (back when there was still places you could do that, and people weren’t scared of other people) The salesman was trying to push a much more expensive speaker (can’t remember what) but the Paradigms just sounded better to me.

  44. David Newboult on December 27, 2020 at 10:55 pm

    Nearly went for a pair of these having seen and read good reports, I finally went for a 2nd hand pair of Mark Audio Cesti MBR’s and have to say I am very happy, I even emailed Paradigm about shipping to the far east, and they would most probably have sent had I finally plumped for a pair, I’m sure I would have been happy with them, If ever you get the chance to listen and review the Mark Audio I would love to hear your thoughts, gobsmacked at how low these speakers go, Nearly went for a pair of Klipsch 600’s which I could have purchased here, but I got the MA’s cheaper including shipping, Great review and thanks for giving your time

  45. eriksven on December 27, 2020 at 10:55 pm

    You are the Tom Segura of YouTube audio reviewers. Thank you, sir.

  46. Mike Dinno on December 27, 2020 at 10:57 pm

    I think the ultimate showdown would be these vs the Elac 5.2 and the NHTSuperOne 2.1. What would the 4th speaker be? Maybe the Elac 6.2?

  47. Theodoros Chronis on December 27, 2020 at 10:58 pm

    And how about the detail of the highs? Which speaker is more detailed?

  48. Steven Smith on December 27, 2020 at 10:59 pm

    I just found your channel! I’m so glad you use more popular music to review equipment and not some weird jazz tracks from 60 years ago. I am also a cheap audio man, but I love my music sounding good. I just clicked the subscribe button.

  49. David Strahs on December 27, 2020 at 11:00 pm

    From Metallica to miles Davis have every song you mention on cd or vinyl. So now I can listen to everything on my speakers and see what you are talking about. This is the best channel.

  50. williams on December 27, 2020 at 11:03 pm

    Good brand miss mine, got ripped off you get a lot for your money.

Leave a Comment