Playdate review: a magical gaming machine

Playdate review: a magical gaming machine

After years of anticipation, the Panic Playdate is finally here. This tiny handheld console comes packed with a total of 24 games, released 2 a week, and uses an innovative crank mechanism as a controller.

Get More Engadget:
• Like us on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/engadget
• Follow us on Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/engadget
• Follow us on Instagram: http://www.instagram.com/engadget
• Read more: http://www.engadget.com

50 Comments

  1. Ranum Bakoh on April 28, 2022 at 7:04 pm

    Actual reviewer who knows how to play games! Nice vid bestie

  2. Totoy Bibo on April 28, 2022 at 7:04 pm

    her tats are so nice

  3. AM Real on April 28, 2022 at 7:06 pm

    Cant wait to see what developers do with this thing. Might try tinkering with the SDK too.

  4. goldfingerhardcore on April 28, 2022 at 7:06 pm

    Love the idea of this device and its marvellous design, buuuut no backlight for a 2022 device is a dealbreaker. Definitely a no go for me.

  5. Scott2781 on April 28, 2022 at 7:09 pm

    The most pointless hipster crap I have ever seen !

  6. d3plus on April 28, 2022 at 7:10 pm

    Great review, what an amazing feature being able to connect and stream from a PC/Mac…. 🤯

  7. B007 on April 28, 2022 at 7:12 pm

    I’m going to say it, Jessica got really nice tattoos.

  8. codytappen on April 28, 2022 at 7:14 pm

    I wish I could charge it with the hand crank. Otherwise looks exciting. Steep for that hardware, but I guess you’re paying for the games

  9. luckviii on April 28, 2022 at 7:15 pm

    Great point that this brings games back to the essentials which is make it fun. In some way this used to be spirit for Nintendo when they release wi with it motion controller, ds with touchable screens. Wi sports and the world end with you has left lasting impact in all other games. The difference now is that it is much easier to develop for Playdate than paying for licensing. So great for the industry.
    The screen does look awesome but can be a tad too tiny for those of us with aging eyesights. Without backlight remind me of the days of gameboy, pocket gameboy, neo geo pocket. Hard to see in anything less than direct light source which is plenty of spaces. Wished they had gone with what Analogue had done with their screen.

  10. Sam on April 28, 2022 at 7:15 pm

    i like how cute it looks.

  11. mjadamci on April 28, 2022 at 7:15 pm

    She had beautiful tattoos even though i usually don’t care for them

  12. Cormac on April 28, 2022 at 7:17 pm

    Awesome video i left a sub 🥇🔥 we should defo collab sometime

  13. sanuzi on April 28, 2022 at 7:17 pm

    1 bit screen? 🧐

  14. AirChreece on April 28, 2022 at 7:21 pm

    Why are there so many videos about it?
    One year later… oh this thing really existed?!

  15. bobbysworldrox on April 28, 2022 at 7:23 pm

    Get a better mic

  16. Benny B on April 28, 2022 at 7:26 pm

    Is that price really fair tho?

  17. Jack on April 28, 2022 at 7:26 pm

    Reasonable 180?! Nope

  18. Duncan Self on April 28, 2022 at 7:26 pm

    Whenever I see this I can always imagine a hipster playing it!

  19. Mark design on April 28, 2022 at 7:29 pm

    What the hell…

  20. Super Hans ✅ on April 28, 2022 at 7:30 pm

    Bad review, bad product. No doubt this will do well initially thanks to the totally biased, paid reviews like this one, I guarantee once real consumers get their hands on this it will go the way of the Ouya.

    This is going to end up in the back of the drawer very quickly, people will be getting rid of them for less than $100 on eBay within weeks.

    The product is a total gimmick. It’s unique I’ll give it that, but it’s still a total gimmick.

  21. AustrianFilmGeek on April 28, 2022 at 7:30 pm

    „my favorite handheld since the VITA“ isn‘t exactly high praise. The Vita was an unmitigated disaster.

  22. Katphood Plays A Game on April 28, 2022 at 7:31 pm

    Yeah, question: when will the crank break?!

  23. chris code on April 28, 2022 at 7:31 pm

    Hmm, how long can you play with that crank before getting cramp?

  24. tracy t on April 28, 2022 at 7:31 pm

    Great review! Love having your take. You are very good at going in depth! Thanks!!!!

  25. Max Post on April 28, 2022 at 7:34 pm

    I preordered it after seeing all the reviews I’m excited now, gotta wait a bit but it’ll be a surprise when it comes

  26. yyyeesaaccc on April 28, 2022 at 7:35 pm

    "jUsT gEt A sWiTcH lItE!!!"
    The people who are buying this are looking for something unique, not just another gaming handheld.

  27. mercster on April 28, 2022 at 7:35 pm

    Gameboy for hipsters.

  28. Virgil Hawkins on April 28, 2022 at 7:37 pm

    This isn’t for me; but I’m glad it exists.

  29. ulrik owen on April 28, 2022 at 7:39 pm

    One of the most compelling, articulate exposés I’ve ever heard. Thank you, Ms. Konditt.

  30. Marcus K on April 28, 2022 at 7:41 pm

    Considering that a Switch Lite costs $199 and the Playdate costs only $20 less, reviewers should be much more critical about this. It has a B&W screen with no backlight and comes with simple basic games a lot of which are just clones of old famous games. And yes, the crank is a gimmick.

  31. 寿司sushi on April 28, 2022 at 7:42 pm

    it’s funny to me how riled up people can get over this small, cute handheld. can’t wait for mine to arrive and try to get started with some game development 🙂

  32. Sin Supreme on April 28, 2022 at 7:43 pm

    damn can’t get it until next year wonder what the resell is looking like

  33. Colten Becker on April 28, 2022 at 7:45 pm

    Ugh. That VO audio is so bad. Sorry but you can do better.

  34. Saif Choudhury on April 28, 2022 at 7:48 pm

    It’s crazy how emotional I got from seeing just one second of footage of Gravity Rush being played on a white PS Vita…that was a very personally important game for me back in the day! I miss the Vita so much…

  35. Cim on April 28, 2022 at 7:50 pm

    In what world is close to 200 bucks "reasonable" for this?

  36. stevey500 on April 28, 2022 at 7:50 pm

    We need more UI’s like this. TiVo, Palm WebOS, Pebble Watch, GameBoy Camera…

  37. T Woo on April 28, 2022 at 7:50 pm

    lol vita

  38. sgune on April 28, 2022 at 7:51 pm

    This was such a well written review.

  39. krazislav on April 28, 2022 at 7:52 pm

    Really cool. Absolutely no way I’m paying 180 usd for this, though.

  40. Jake P on April 28, 2022 at 7:52 pm

    Outstanding review!

  41. salvation13 on April 28, 2022 at 7:52 pm

    They literally did a review on this thing 2 years ago. Just look it up.

  42. Techni Myoko on April 28, 2022 at 7:53 pm

    "4 MB of flash storage"

    I think that’s GB

  43. Duy Le on April 28, 2022 at 7:53 pm

    That thing is trash wtf is wrong with this chick, cute doesn’t equals fun

  44. Matt Manson on April 28, 2022 at 7:55 pm

    We know it’s just an over priced over hype Gameboy with a crank. Thanks for the paid review.

  45. CrazyMen Tech on April 28, 2022 at 7:55 pm

    I love the way you put it together!! I think this is one of the best ones yet !! Looking forward to your next one! It’s awesome!! Keep up the Good work!!!!! 👍💖👍

  46. Constantine Belias on April 28, 2022 at 7:55 pm

    and what about left handed people?

  47. NETVO TV on April 28, 2022 at 7:57 pm

    If it require ambient light, is it same no eyes strain quality like an eink screen?

  48. Trey on April 28, 2022 at 7:59 pm

    I had a feeling that Teenage Engineering was involved! They are hardware design masters!

  49. lowtech42 on April 28, 2022 at 7:59 pm

    Batch #1 baby! Let’s go!!!

  50. 1fareast14 on April 28, 2022 at 8:00 pm

    These comments need to calm down. This ain’t competing with an anbernic. It’s for people who like to pay for cute hardware gimmicks.

    No need to go after the presenter’s cred or appearance. Conclusion you disagree with does not equal paid review.

Leave a Comment