Pop!_OS 21.10 Review – Applications Redesign?? What else is NEW?? (System76 – Rust DE?)

Pop!_OS 21.10 Review – Applications Redesign?? What else is NEW?? (System76 – Rust DE?)

Pop!_OS 21.10 by System 76 featuring all new Applications Page Redesign. Let’s review Pop!_0S 21.10 and explore updates to the desktop. Pop!_OS is a great Linux distro. Recently it was announced that a new RUST Desktop Environment is under dev.. are they preparing to port their design?
______________________________________________________________
Want to Support the Channel & Learning?
💸 Patreon – https://www.patreon.com/savvynik
📚 Ko-fi – https://ko-fi.com/savvynik

Awesome Electronics:
Yeti Microphone – https://amzn.to/3p5uT7C (My MIC!)
ROKU Streaming – https://amzn.to/314Tj9D (4K Streaming)
Seagate External Drive – https://amzn.to/3pc2Pj5 (2TB Storage)
Over-ear Headphones – https://amzn.to/3G2GyLB (Amazing at Noise Cancellation)
Mesh WIFI – https://amzn.to/3Eiwsp6 (Big Houses/Areas)
WIFI Range Extender – https://amzn.to/3o5VGBD
NAS Storage – https://amzn.to/3o3u9R7 (Up to 12TB)
Keyboard Choice – https://amzn.to/3o4v5om

https://www.amazon.com/shop/savvynik
Above contains affiliate links, this means I may receive a small commission if you click one.
_______________________________________________________________
Useful Commands/Links
Discord: https://discord.gg/P9QC2km

00:00 Pop!_OS Applications Screen
02:22 No More Stacking
03:03 Updated Search Bar
04:00 Launcher
04:28 Autofill
04:48 Multi-Monitor
05:07 RaspPi Preview
05:25 Wifi Sorting
05:44 Review of Desktop
08:03 Rust DE?
08:33 No Update to GNOME?
08:57 Resource Usuage
09:56 System Info
10:38 Thoughts

#linux #system76 #popos

12 Comments

  1. Leslie Satenstein on December 21, 2021 at 12:22 pm

    Your review is well done, thank you.
    I found many other bugs.
    I use a non-USA keyboard. It is recognized in terminal mode, but not in all graphical windows.
    For example, if the screen lock occurs because of inactivity, I am not able to enter. My keyboard layout is not recognized. If I try and cheat and use the USA default layout, it too does not work.
    The provided audio/video player does not work with *.mp4 files.
    The non-usa keyboard that I selected is not recognized for the software Popshop. It is recognized for the login or sudo command.
    If I want graphical updates, I have to log out and log in as root (I did setup a root password). It works that way because root has full security access.
    I have not tried installing and testing the extensions but tomorrow is another day.

  2. q on December 21, 2021 at 12:23 pm

    <3

  3. Thom Giordano on December 21, 2021 at 12:26 pm

    thanks for showing htop and neofetch. so many ppl leave that out for whatever reason

  4. Harman Singh on December 21, 2021 at 12:27 pm

    All linux distro’s except for arch based are made up of trash code

  5. Jesse on December 21, 2021 at 12:32 pm

    Nice review as always SavvyNik. Does PopOS still require a 500 MB EFI partition for booting, and still not recognize other OSes until you install and run os-prober? That always seemed a little wonky to me.

  6. Andromydous on December 21, 2021 at 12:34 pm

    I haven’t used Linux in a couple of years and I’m not sure if this is specific to Gnome or PopOS!, but one of my biggest gripes was that when Steam was "closed out" it would run in the background and you would have to close it out in the task manager. Now when you hit the "X" button, it actually shows up on the bar on the right side. From there you can can right click to get to a previous played game or hit exit to completely kill the program. I actually like the way PopOS! looks and feels. The Applications window isn’t in my way anymore and I can turn the bottom bar into a dock (albeit 2D) which looks much better. From a beginner’s perspective (hot from Windows), it’s a little irritating that I have to unplug my controller and then plug it in (if it’s not been used in a while) before Lutris or Steam will realize that it’s there (Steam recognizes it but the controller does nothing until you unplug and plug back in). Also, I don’t know if this is a dual boot issue, but Bluetooth only works if I boot into Windows and log in and reboot into PopOS! I tried manually restarting bluetooth through terminal and, even with a quick check, system says it’s running. However, this issue is only there if I have to reboot or restart from a complete shutdown. So, unless the system is calling for a reboot after an update or you turned it off because you’re going to be away from the computer for several hours, it’s not that big of an issue.

  7. Jan Enemark on December 21, 2021 at 12:43 pm

    I found a new feature. Now you cannot add and app to favorites unless you open the app. Before you could add it by right clicking an app and then add it. I was surpriced that Gnome 41 was not their choice. Great review.

  8. Dorinakis on December 21, 2021 at 12:48 pm

    To many bugs in this new pop_os. Cannot set wallpaper from settings manager unless restarting gnome shell after adding the desired picture. I don’t know if is a bug, but I cannot add applications to favourites. Besides all that, this new version of pop desktop continue to make the gnome desktop more and more uggly. A step back for pop_os.

  9. Mr Booshit on December 21, 2021 at 12:52 pm

    Does installing steam break the pop desktop ? Did they fix that ?

  10. fer na on December 21, 2021 at 1:06 pm

    Looks unfinished, best wishes for them. I move back to gnome but this is good gnome could take some from their set up. The folders looks cool.

  11. John on December 21, 2021 at 1:10 pm

    I like the new app folder, but let’s be honest, we had perfectly nice panel menus way back with Gnome2 and this is basically a panel menu except it pops up in the middle of the screen. Fine. But it seems like it is just a slight correction on the weird Gnome decision to make your desktop look like a phone by having that huge app window. And a correction that comes 10 years later hardly seems like a cutting edge breakthrough. But I admit I like it.

    Except that so far there doesn’t seem any way using the keyboard that you can open those folders. So it is actually a regression from the old classic menu bar, which you could scroll through with a keyboard. And while the gnome3 app window was sort of ridiculous, I like the fact that it combined apps with desktop search, whereas in this new app window, you can only search for apps, not files etc. And in the "launcher" window you have file search but it is arbitrarily limited to 8 items so there’s no reason I’d ever use it and not just use "locate" in bash.

    I know, it’s free software, but every "upgrade" seems to me like sort of an anxiety-filled hastle to do, which half the time breaks your system, and for what? To discover that they’ve reinvented the wheel, or just made some arbitrary change for no obvious reason, or thrown in some arbitrary window-dressing as a big "feature."

  12. The Seeker on December 21, 2021 at 1:12 pm

    Great video, question can you do a review of StormFish OS found on sourceforge.

Leave a Comment