SimpliSafe review: Our favorite security system finally looks the part

SimpliSafe review: Our favorite security system finally looks the part

Our Editors’ Choice Award-winning home security system features a better-looking design and all of the same protections at no additional cost.

SimpliSafe’s terrific security system finally looks the part: https://www.cnet.com/products/simplisafe-home-security-system-2018/

Subscribe to CNET: http://cnet.co/2heRhep
Check out our playlists: http://cnet.co/2g8kcf4
Download the new CNET app: https://cnet.app.link/GWuXq8ExzG
Like us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/cnet
Follow us on Twitter: https://www.twitter.com/cnet
Follow us on Instagram: http://bit.ly/2icCYYm

50 Comments

  1. Bukui Zhao on May 11, 2022 at 8:04 pm

    Nest is better

  2. Grass Master on May 11, 2022 at 8:04 pm

    I hear simply safe is quite hackable. Is this still true?

  3. ARMADILLO on May 11, 2022 at 8:06 pm

    where’s the review?

  4. carterdoesthings on May 11, 2022 at 8:06 pm

    SimpliSafe can also be bypassed with a $6 remote from Amazon

  5. cameron Gibbs on May 11, 2022 at 8:06 pm

    you can bypass the alarm with a 2 dollar remote

  6. ABHISHEK S KUMAR on May 11, 2022 at 8:06 pm

    Super

  7. Tito Alo on May 11, 2022 at 8:09 pm

    The alarm that can be simply corrupted by a 2$ rf remote control… best avoid this…

  8. Justin Mitchell on May 11, 2022 at 8:18 pm

    So if your Wi Fi crashes your screwed. The monitoring is a little expensive

  9. Todd Nye on May 11, 2022 at 8:19 pm

    My experience is this system is GARBAGE. Here’s how it went- install system…wouldn’t hook up to WiFi…replace base station…keypad wouldn’t stay connected to new base station…replace keypad…wouldn’t stay connected to new base station even though it was 15′ away. Tech support just wants to continue sending more crappy replacement parts. Save yourself the frustration and buy something, ANYTHING else.

  10. UFC Historian on May 11, 2022 at 8:19 pm

    your fav sec sys is expensve

  11. Miahzzeebest on May 11, 2022 at 8:20 pm

    This video is sponsored by simply safe

  12. MySharedMedia on May 11, 2022 at 8:22 pm

    Yeah, easy to use, easy to install and super easy to compromise with a $2 transmitter 🙂

  13. thaddeus buttmunch on May 11, 2022 at 8:22 pm

    My Late Dad had ADT put in. I think the whole thing got fried recently when I had a low-voltage issue in my inherited house (caused by the IDIOT electricians who wired it, in the early Sixties, not putting a Weather Head on top! Rainwater got into the meter can and breaker box, cost a pretty penny to fix.)
    I can try getting a new backup battery, but I don’t think it will help.
    Maybe Simplisafe is a Good, Cheap option??
    Better than the crap the Filipino scammers try to sell you over the phone.

  14. Edwin Zakrzewski Jr on May 11, 2022 at 8:23 pm

    I have the system but still NO outdoor cameras available I am starting to get upset about this When will they be available?

  15. Belinda Woodson on May 11, 2022 at 8:24 pm

    McGruff’s Kids

  16. Kierra McCullough on May 11, 2022 at 8:26 pm

    Noticing a lot of comments about Jamming. Simplisafe made a response to that.
    "All devices that use wireless communications protocols can be jammed. The good news is, a) this is *not* a known attack vector for home security, because it’s not a reliable way to enter and move about a home undetected, and b) we have a jam detection algorithm that is being constantly tuned and updated behind the scenes, which notices if someone is trying to jam your system and alerts you. […] In other words, prior knowledge of the layout of our motion sensors, door sensors and base station in the customers home and a rehearsal of how to move about the home would be necessary to confidently select a frequency that will both jam and not be detected — let alone on the first try. Plus they would have to keep the jamming interference in that range for the entire time needed to pull off a burglary, while continuing to avoid detection."

  17. Dara Abasuté on May 11, 2022 at 8:26 pm

    Since it’s so simple to remove from the wall etc. doesn’t seem like a good system to place in my vacation rental.

  18. DON'T CLICK BAIT on May 11, 2022 at 8:26 pm

    THIS WHOLE SYSTEM IS TRASH IT CAN BE COMPROMISED BY A $2 AMAZON REMOTE LMFAO 🤷‍♂️🤦‍♂️🤦‍♂️🤦‍♂️

  19. Jacob Day on May 11, 2022 at 8:30 pm

    Good to know it can work in the event of an outage – ADT was telling me otherwise.

  20. S C on May 11, 2022 at 8:31 pm

    Your commercials are disgusting. Look like a bunch of terrorists.

  21. BEAR777 on May 11, 2022 at 8:31 pm

    Wyze is way better looking and cheaper

  22. Spiffing Pepe on May 11, 2022 at 8:32 pm

    A baby monitor can defeat this system.

  23. Albert Lam on May 11, 2022 at 8:34 pm

    It looks like my graphing calculator

  24. Mel Makathi on May 11, 2022 at 8:35 pm

    I have this system but the $15/m security plan is awful so I’m returning it. You can’t arm/disarm the alarm. You don’t get notifications about alarm triggers. This looks better than ring but for 100/yr I can do everything on Rings alarm app

  25. aleks stoke on May 11, 2022 at 8:44 pm

    Excellent Video! Excuse me for chiming in, I would appreciate your thoughts. Have you ever tried – Mahorrla Defence Wisdom Method (probably on Google)? It is an awesome exclusive product for securing your home from danger without the headache. Ive heard some incredible things about it and my mate at last got amazing success with it.

  26. George Metz on May 11, 2022 at 8:45 pm

    Siren loction

  27. Wolf 5050 on May 11, 2022 at 8:45 pm

    Looks super cheap

  28. Belinda Woodson on May 11, 2022 at 8:46 pm

    McGruff’s Kid’s Safety Kit

  29. Emmy Engy on May 11, 2022 at 8:46 pm

    The best ways to protect your home are smart security systems, like Kangaroo. In the house at the door, windows, you can install motion sensors. Outdoor surveillance cameras. And to open and close the entrance doors using the application on the phone, now the keys are not needed and no one can open the master key. And all this you can manage with a single smartphone.

  30. God's Child on May 11, 2022 at 8:47 pm

    spy cam, no thanks.

  31. I love my camaro on May 11, 2022 at 8:49 pm

    It was ugly however back then I wasn’t thinking about security I was a minor. Lol I’m grown now and yes the new set up is cute 🥰 and I love my SimpliSafe the only thing I hate is the better plan is 24.99 instead of the simple 14.99

  32. michael morrison on May 11, 2022 at 8:49 pm

    Simply Safe or basically any residential alarm is a waste of money in Los Angeles. The city will charge you if there is a false alarm. My alarm malfunctioned and sent an alarm. Cops showed up two and half hours after the alarm was reported. I subsequently received a bill for $350.00 from the bloodsuckers in Los Angeles department of finance. Thieves and scum. Do not get an alarm. Get a dog and a gun. Move from the armpit of the earth known as Los Angeles.

  33. Dawn Dimanno on May 11, 2022 at 8:49 pm

    DO NOT GO with this company!! before you lay down hard earned cash call them and when the auto system comes up punch up EXISTING customer and then sit back and wait to see how long it takes for them to respond. This company is nothing but a scam a complete fake alarm company My system has gone down for the last time and I’m switching to another company. This company will not offer protection no matter who is claiming on the radio that they are.

  34. SteveJohnSteele on May 11, 2022 at 8:50 pm

    You clearly state "no contracts" and "no additional costs" and then you go on to tell us $15 a month or $25 a month. What the heck is that then? NO ADDITIONAL COSTS means I buy the product that that is it, final. And in 2019 I EXPECT to be able to record for free (just upload to Google or Dropbox etc) AND to view on my smart phone – all for FREE.

  35. TheLookingOne on May 11, 2022 at 8:50 pm

    If you do not get the optional monitoring service and the system detects a break-in, will you be notified on your cellphone when you are away?

  36. mike hunt on May 11, 2022 at 8:50 pm

    433.450

  37. Jack Scheeringa on May 11, 2022 at 8:50 pm

    Security

  38. Yaslina on May 11, 2022 at 8:51 pm

    He failed to mention that even though you do not need to subscribe for profesional monitoring, you do need to pay a monthly fee if you want to control your system with your phone or to remotely view your camera image. A deal breaker for me. Ring or Nest do not require a monitoring subscription and does allow you to control your system with your phone for free as long as you have WiFi.

  39. mike hunt on May 11, 2022 at 8:51 pm

    433.450

  40. K Stevenson on May 11, 2022 at 8:52 pm

    Again, what happens is there are no lights? For how long will it last? What happens if there is no internet? Does it have a siren? If the base station is the central figure, the burglar will attack it first. What next? What happens to your ability to monitor your home if the base station is attacked? This is a security system not just smart home toys. Who comes up with these videos. All this stuff in these videos are secondary to the issues expressed here.

  41. Park Chu on May 11, 2022 at 8:52 pm

    homemade home brings me here.

  42. Roberto on May 11, 2022 at 8:53 pm

    The youtube channel "LockPickingLawyer" has bypassed the system using a 2$ car remote, and even baby monitors or personal radio devices in the 433.92 MHz frequency band (the one used by SimplySafe) could bypass it, even your own household devices could be bypassing it involuntarily. Be careful and ask for a refund if you still can.

  43. VJBang on May 11, 2022 at 8:53 pm

    Rip off subscription.

  44. Jason Curry on May 11, 2022 at 8:55 pm

    It doesn’t come with camera’s?

  45. thefarside79 on May 11, 2022 at 8:58 pm

    That keypad is still ugly as hell

  46. Randomly Entertaining on May 11, 2022 at 8:58 pm

    So how do you respond to the fact that your editor’s choice for a home security system can be completely bypassed by someone using a cheap hand radio from Amazon, tuning it to 433.920 MHz, the frequency the system runs on and easily found by looking up their FCC filings, and using its vastly stronger signal to block and render mute the alarm?

  47. young park on May 11, 2022 at 9:00 pm

    Do not use simplisafe, I’ve used for 1 year and half, my montion sensor didn’t catch me and I called them, they made me liar, so I recored 3 different times when I had this situation. They never answer my problem. Keypad is too slow.

  48. Shawn Colton on May 11, 2022 at 9:00 pm

    Reports say this system is easily hackable and they can override your system to change the pin and settings.

  49. Cordella on May 11, 2022 at 9:02 pm

    As someone with *generalized anxiety and panic attacks* , Simplisafe brings more peace of mind in my new home. I can focus more on bettering myself, and not focusing on what COULD go wrong at night.

    It’s affordable, and tech savvy with the new Alexa features being released. Highly recommend to anyone who also suffers from PTSD or anxiety.

  50. Proton Neutron on May 11, 2022 at 9:02 pm

    So, they pitch that this thing protects me if someone breaks into my house. Takes about 30 seconds to break down the door and there area couple of men with guns. How am I protected?????????

Leave a Comment