Sony's new WF-1000XM4 earbuds are really &#%!@ good! (review)

Sony's new WF-1000XM4 earbuds are really &#%!@ good! (review)

While they cost $280, or $50 more than their predecessor, Sony’s much-anticipated next-generation noise-canceling earbuds may just be the best all-around true-wireless earbuds available today. CNET’s David Carnoy gives you all the details in his hands-on review of the WF-1000XM4 and compares them to other top noise-canceling earbuds like Bose’s QuietComfort Earbuds.

You can buy the Sony WF-1000XM4 earbuds here: https://bit.ly/2SsDyVx
*CNET may get a commission from this offer.

Subscribe to CNET: https://www.youtube.com/user/CNETTV
CNET playlists: https://www.youtube.com/user/CNETTV/playlists
Download the new CNET app: https://cnet.app.link/GWuXq8ExzG
Like us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/cnet
Follow us on Twitter: https://www.twitter.com/cnet
Follow us on Instagram: http://bit.ly/2icCYYm

50 Comments

  1. Aeonitis on June 27, 2021 at 12:30 am

    Sony audio Bluetooth equipment doesn’t work with Sony Consoles. They don’t care!

    No one mentions that in reviews!

  2. PNBUNNII on June 27, 2021 at 12:31 am

    Can it be used as individual? Just left or right side independently.

  3. Abhishek Sarkar on June 27, 2021 at 12:31 am

    Love the copper ot makes it stick out of the crowd and looks cool otherwise

  4. 0the0ambient0 on June 27, 2021 at 12:32 am

    Well-done review, but I’ve had so many connectivity and customer service problems with Sony headphones, so won’t buy them.

  5. JP Nightengale on June 27, 2021 at 12:32 am

    The metal ring was “jarring” LOL

  6. fcfdroid on June 27, 2021 at 12:33 am

    Good sheet! I had to play 2x speed Because of how slow he talks but he has potential 🤛

  7. fcfdroid on June 27, 2021 at 12:34 am

    Now I’m curious about the other buds mentioned 🤔

  8. Tomer Ben David on June 27, 2021 at 12:36 am

    Not TWS you cannot listen to only one earbud thats a joke!!!

  9. A A on June 27, 2021 at 12:38 am

    Using children language to express as an adult is concerning.

  10. Chaitanya Jha on June 27, 2021 at 12:39 am

    Thanks for mentioning the multi-point part. Most reviewers forget this, but in my opinion for a average daily user this matters a lot, as all of us have two devices (smartphone & laptop) and having to switch manually is highly inconvenient.

  11. Technical Life Gyan on June 27, 2021 at 12:41 am

    Little bit doubt about 6mm driver size.

  12. Willing Tan on June 27, 2021 at 12:41 am

    Great review! The clouds behind you at 8 minutes is epic!

  13. Aina Joe on June 27, 2021 at 12:42 am

    Nice review bro 👍

  14. Elfin4 on June 27, 2021 at 12:43 am

    I prefer Flossy reviews

  15. Robert Garvan Snyder on June 27, 2021 at 12:47 am

    Big question: Do they announce every time the connect to a bluetooth device loudly over your music?

  16. Bob S on June 27, 2021 at 12:50 am

    are they louder than bose? thats what im looking for, bose dont stay in my ears very well, im nervous to wear them outdoors when i might stop listening to music for a little while

  17. Ivan Wan on June 27, 2021 at 12:50 am

    thank for the review!! have u guys wear longer hours or more?? do u feel discomfort??

  18. Morbid_J0ker on June 27, 2021 at 12:55 am

    I am watching this review using my WF-1000xm4’s. Damn these are really good all around. So happy with this purchase. they fit nicely in my ears and wear them hours at a time with no issues for me.

  19. John Doe on June 27, 2021 at 12:56 am

    Are those bong pipes in the back?

  20. tiada nama on June 27, 2021 at 12:57 am

    CNET just up their review game

  21. Mohinder Pratap Singh on June 27, 2021 at 12:59 am

    looks like testicles inside ears

  22. Liton Das on June 27, 2021 at 1:03 am

    The tiny design potentially reduce because yarn largely relax during a rough toy. disgusting, ill-informed radio

  23. Andres Rivera on June 27, 2021 at 1:03 am

    These sound amazing on paper but I bet if I put those massive pods in my ears, they’re gonna be sore before I’m even 1/4th of the way through my session. Currently I have the wireless Jaybird vistas which are way smaller and even those leave me sore after about 45 minutes to an hour, and that’s with the smallest case on without the rubber fin to keep it in your ear. One of the disadvantages of having small ears. They’re not that much smaller than average, though, so I’m sure plenty of people will also find these uncomfortable, they’re just so massive.

  24. Michael Duke on June 27, 2021 at 1:04 am

    Carnoy’s reviews are the only good thing left about CNET. Keep ‘em coming David.

  25. Ravi Raj on June 27, 2021 at 1:04 am

    You look like Sasta Michele Vaughan (English cricketer) 😂

  26. siicege on June 27, 2021 at 1:06 am

    UHHHH HOT DADDY

  27. Derek Banas on June 27, 2021 at 1:08 am

    Do I have to jam a toothpick into the charging case to charge the headphones like I do with my Airpod Pros?

  28. Winston Cole on June 27, 2021 at 1:12 am

    Sound great, but real uncomfortable. I can’t even listen to a full album without feeling pressure or pain. Airpods sound quality sucks compared to these, but they’re way more comfortable. I returned my XM4s this morning. Sony still needs a lot of work.

  29. WICKED is good on June 27, 2021 at 1:12 am

    can multi point bluetooth pairing be fixed by firmware update/hack? Or is it due to missing hardware?

  30. AWESOM-O on June 27, 2021 at 1:14 am

    Great review! I really do apreciate when reviewers mention features like LDAC, because a review based on a low res MP3 file played back over AAC is like asking a drunk person what floor you should get.

  31. Ven Vedam on June 27, 2021 at 1:15 am

    Good to see Mr Carnoy after a while, you were my go to man sir when I started out on my audio journey. Thanks for the video review, short and sweet.

  32. Elfin4 on June 27, 2021 at 1:16 am

    its ridiculous that they dont sync with two devices such as a lap top and iPhone so you can switch between devices. Huge negative just when I was considering these as a real contender

  33. Mr.Q on June 27, 2021 at 1:16 am

    Hi, whats your equaliser setting for sony wf 1000xm4?

  34. B Morris on June 27, 2021 at 1:18 am

    I gotta get the earbuds n over the ears.

  35. Lukeson on June 27, 2021 at 1:18 am

    these and the big brother WH-1000XM4 are amazing!

  36. A on June 27, 2021 at 1:19 am

    Nice starched shirt, shill.

  37. [] on June 27, 2021 at 1:19 am

    Great review! I really wanna get these but they’re priced at £250, more expensive than $275 USD… if it was the same price as the USA price i would’ve bought it right away. I’m being optimistic but I hope I catch a flash sale during amazon’s prime day event this month.

  38. Tauqeer Ahmad on June 27, 2021 at 1:19 am

    What a design 😍

  39. Vrashabh Sontakke on June 27, 2021 at 1:21 am

    The perspectives in tech depends on the age and generation of the reviewer

  40. VICKI MILLER on June 27, 2021 at 1:22 am

    The quarrelsome detective concretely cycle because flight weekly practise absent a husky sense. second, arrogant cousin

  41. bdkhairuldk on June 27, 2021 at 1:23 am

    Dose it support deep base & Dolby digital/Atmos?

  42. noomy 663 on June 27, 2021 at 1:25 am

    Even though I still feel insecure about its comfort and functional measures to prevent falling from my ears while moving around daily, I assume this is a great product that reflects all the lessons or analytical data in use from previous gen or other types of Sony’s products.

  43. Fabio Baida on June 27, 2021 at 1:25 am

    The buds are great, but they don`t fit perfectly and because of that, I cannot enjoy the noise-canceling perfectly. For 280 they should give you 4 tips and not only 3.

  44. Wanga Manda on June 27, 2021 at 1:26 am

    I’m getting the beats

  45. matthew burno on June 27, 2021 at 1:26 am

    i really was hoping for them to have a little fin to keep them on better they seem to be hanging weirdly instead of flush with the ears!

  46. Em J on June 27, 2021 at 1:27 am

    7:56 that sky!

  47. Todd from IT on June 27, 2021 at 1:27 am

    Can the earbuds work independently, or do they have a master and slave configuration ?

  48. Mohamad Ali on June 27, 2021 at 1:28 am

    One small question. Does both earbud connecting at same time or should we use when it feels ok to work (same as previous generation) !

  49. SleepyRhythms on June 27, 2021 at 1:29 am

    You need much more music-focused HiFi gear to get anything out of Qobuz Wasapi Exclusive Mode. At least a Vali 2+ amp and Modi 3 dac with a 6XX or better. Just stick to Spotify otherwise.

  50. PS Wong on June 27, 2021 at 1:29 am

    May I know, MW08 or this Sony is better?

Leave a Comment