Spotify Car Thing review

Spotify Car Thing review

Spotify’s Car Thing is a smart touchscreen with voice control that lets you listen to music and podcasts in the car. But for $80 it still needs a phone to run and you have to be a Spotify Premium subscriber to get your hands on one, as they’re still hard to come by.

Follow Lexy: https://www.instagram.com/lexysavvides/

Subscribe to CNET: https://www.youtube.com/user/CNETTV
Like us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/cnet
Follow us on Twitter: https://www.twitter.com/cnet
Follow us on Instagram: http://bit.ly/2icCYYm
Follow us on TikTok: https://vm.tiktok.com/ZMd2h6yac/

50 Comments

  1. State Andrei on May 7, 2022 at 7:54 pm

    it’s a budget phone remodelled to look more audio oriented. i find it weak

  2. HaunnaThree on May 7, 2022 at 7:57 pm

    You got a W of a music taste

  3. Brandon S. on May 7, 2022 at 7:58 pm

    I love that you have Joey Bada$$ on here ha.

  4. Zay on May 7, 2022 at 7:59 pm

    For $89 it should store all your music when your phone doesn’t have storage or a connection especially if your already a premium spotify subscriber

  5. robin on May 7, 2022 at 8:04 pm

    I have a 2007 Ford. For $30 i have a small black vent magnet and a cig lighter bluetooth adapter. there are no wires (unless I want to charge my phone off the cig adapter) and I have Spotify, Google Maps, Make/Receive Calls.
    Not only cheaper but it’s smaller with better technology and many more functions. Unless there’s something i’m missing?

  6. rsorry on May 7, 2022 at 8:05 pm

    MF DOOM 🔥🔥🔥

  7. Michael on May 7, 2022 at 8:09 pm

    Can’t utilize Google Maps. There is no point for this. It’s a glorified Spotify screen-only device.

  8. LvegmadekidV on May 7, 2022 at 8:11 pm

    So pretty much my phone minus all the functionality of my phone and a smaller screen with only the Spotify app???

  9. Youngbucker09 on May 7, 2022 at 8:12 pm

    Great review

  10. T1Oracle on May 7, 2022 at 8:13 pm

    Useless. You have a phone already.

  11. DTPIIXART on May 7, 2022 at 8:17 pm

    Glad I saw your video. I won’t be buying this. Maybe another version in the future.

  12. PAUL DIESEL on May 7, 2022 at 8:19 pm

    *This is good if you your passenger wants to change the song without getting into your phone or switching Bluetooth devices to the radio*

  13. Paul Houghton on May 7, 2022 at 8:22 pm

    Would be a killer if it had maps without that I’m not so sure it’s worth it

  14. David G on May 7, 2022 at 8:22 pm

    Drops casual “crime here is so bad, maybe don’t get this”

  15. Zay on May 7, 2022 at 8:23 pm

    That San Francisco smash and grab lol damn that says a lot 💀 welcome to liberal Bay Area Kamala’s home town

  16. Macbrebonicks on May 7, 2022 at 8:24 pm

    Spotify Car Thing I think I don’t need you, but I wanna know for sure!

  17. mikeymike6661 on May 7, 2022 at 8:24 pm

    For a fraction of the price, you could install a new stereo with Bluetooth

  18. Rafael Valentin on May 7, 2022 at 8:24 pm

    Just got mine, I drive a 2010 Nissan rogue and I drive for uber. My phone is a 1st gen iPhone se and I love this thing. I play metal in my car and people are always asking what’s playing and this makes everything soooooo much easier.

  19. Kwaku Obeng on May 7, 2022 at 8:26 pm

    So what’s the difference between this and a $16 audio transmitter.

  20. Jerry on May 7, 2022 at 8:26 pm

    How do you even know Nana Mouskouri???😳

  21. Hexagonal on May 7, 2022 at 8:27 pm

    *Laughs in Tesla Model S* Whelp, guess I saved 90$.

  22. Rick on May 7, 2022 at 8:27 pm

    If they did Gmaps or even Waze w/ Spotify this thing would be killer for old cars. I’d also like to see a plus version with a 7 inch display.

  23. samgator on May 7, 2022 at 8:28 pm

    I got my invitation 1 day after signing up lol

  24. nguyễn đinh tỵ on May 7, 2022 at 8:28 pm

    I would buy this thing if it support apple carplay and android. Without apple carplay and android auto make it less attraction for me :)))

  25. heartmoving on May 7, 2022 at 8:29 pm

    Such a scam

  26. Evelin Silva on May 7, 2022 at 8:30 pm

    I have a 2004 toyota im getting this

  27. Greg Lamb on May 7, 2022 at 8:31 pm

    Was thinking about one of these for my partner who has CarPlay in the car but never uses it coz it’s too technical. Having a simple 1 app solution might make it easier to use for music in the car

  28. Noah Tribley on May 7, 2022 at 8:32 pm

    You know they have screens like the car thing that are bigger, attach to the windshield or dash but they have Android auto and CarPlay, I’d love to see a review

  29. javier loperena on May 7, 2022 at 8:34 pm

    I do not understand !! If your car radio has bluetooth, why do you need a device if you can connect your phone via bluetooth and from your phone connect to spotify?

  30. Jada E on May 7, 2022 at 8:34 pm

    I signed up for car thing a while back and just got the invite to buy today! However, I recently got a new car w/ full android auto features so I don’t really need it in my car.. was thinking about putting it at my desk but I can’t shake the feeling this is just a remote for my phone to play the music, so why not just use my phone? Anyone have recommendations or ideas on other places this would be useful at? Or should I just pass on buying it 🤔

  31. Devbags on May 7, 2022 at 8:35 pm

    I use Apple CarPlay via the infotainment system, which renders something like this redundant.

  32. Banana Boi on May 7, 2022 at 8:36 pm

    i love “hey siri”

  33. Estefani Jimenez on May 7, 2022 at 8:36 pm

    Why not just get an after market stereo? 🙄

  34. Jose Chavez on May 7, 2022 at 8:37 pm

    Just buy a new stereo a good one is like 400 and it’s has android auto or Apple whatever it’s called.

  35. William Kelly on May 7, 2022 at 8:38 pm

    Do the Next Track/Skip buttons on your wheel collaborate with Car Thing or are you required to use voice or the touchscreen?

  36. Drew on May 7, 2022 at 8:38 pm

    Plz help, does this solve the problem where you can listen to Spotify and record video from your iPhone and it won’t pause the music on Spotify? If so, maybe it’s worth getting just for that alone.

  37. Lexy Savvides on May 7, 2022 at 8:39 pm

    Thanks for watching! Let me know if you have any other Car Thing questions I didn’t answer 🚗

  38. Jerry4050 on May 7, 2022 at 8:39 pm

    Nah I need GPS and I can get a radio touch screen for about $120 in Best Buy and they will install it for free which I wanted to do it for my mothers 2021 mini van but she refuse to get rid of her CD player so thats her choice

  39. Anthony Marquez on May 7, 2022 at 8:40 pm

    If it had maps built in I would definitely get this.

  40. Tara Stepro on May 7, 2022 at 8:41 pm

    My phone does this already

  41. Jada E on May 7, 2022 at 8:43 pm

    lol the outro gave me throwbacks to my childhood I love it

  42. Christopher De Freitas on May 7, 2022 at 8:44 pm

    Idc what people say, I’m really glad this device exists.

  43. Fae Princess on May 7, 2022 at 8:45 pm

    I feel like it’s a smart remote. 🤔
    I’m exited for the later generations.

  44. Cordell Nicholson on May 7, 2022 at 8:46 pm

    can i use this for my PC as well?

  45. MrTripsOnTheory on May 7, 2022 at 8:47 pm

    If I buy this (which I did and am waiting for in the Mail) nobody is using it except me. I can live with the download issues. Voice command, eh, can also live with. I saw nothing about this before dropping the $90. I’m not rich, but cmon. It’s a cool lil gizmo. Yolo I guess lol.

  46. JLUMINADO on May 7, 2022 at 8:47 pm

    So I can just buy a mount and use my phone the same 🤔

  47. Gman9253 on May 7, 2022 at 8:49 pm

    not that old? your car is not old at all. privilege’s showing hard

  48. Jim Manley on May 7, 2022 at 8:50 pm

    If you live in SF, radio should be the least of your problems

  49. xpress on May 7, 2022 at 8:50 pm

    I have an old car, I just have the aux cable to iPhone. Simple and it only cost 13.00 dollars.

  50. Sam Bao on May 7, 2022 at 8:52 pm

    this would be perfect for the backseat in an uber car, so passengers can quickly pick whatever they want, you’d also have to worry about it being stolen. But apart from the uber case…. not super useful when I’m driving in the front seat, this seems like extra effort with no significant gain.

Leave a Comment