TC Electronic Dark Matter Distortion Pedal Review (A CHEAP Distortion)

TC Electronic Dark Matter Distortion Pedal Review (A CHEAP Distortion)

TC Electronic Dark Matter Distortion Pedal Review (A CHEAP Distortion)

Here’s a review of the TC Electronic Dark Matter Distortion. I saw a few reviews of the pedal, and they looked promising, so I thought I’d check it out for myself. It’s a very affordable distortion pedal, and TC Electronic is known for making some good stuff. So is this one of the good things they make? We’ll see.

Enjoy!
For official website, visit http://elmojk.com
For lessons, visit http://ejkguitaracademy.com
To support, visit http://patreon.com/elmojk

48 Comments

  1. Wolf Standish on November 30, 2022 at 7:34 am

    How are we supposed to get an accurate assessment of the pedal when your signal chain includes so many other effects? I have this pedal and when I tested it out I ran it solo. It’s an amazing pedal for chugging but can also be set very quaky. I am not bagging on you bro I am honestly trying to understand ( new to guitar playing ).

  2. James Price on November 30, 2022 at 7:35 am

    Chelsea Constable slays cliffs of dover with it..

  3. Guy from NJ on November 30, 2022 at 7:35 am

    The switch sounds like up is mid scooped and down is mid humped. This sounds so much better than the mxr pedal btw. It’s really good for the price.

    Elmo, is that a scalloped fretboard on the custom strat? Also, who made the custom strat?

  4. Norman Roses on November 30, 2022 at 7:42 am

    Elmo could you do a review about the stone deaf warp drive?

  5. m. saint on November 30, 2022 at 7:42 am

    Now you understand why the piece of junk only cost $50.

  6. MuscularMetal666 on November 30, 2022 at 7:43 am

    I’ve watched few of your pedal review’s videos. Wow, great review. You’re good at testing stuff.

  7. Astronaut on November 30, 2022 at 7:44 am

    Lots of cork sniffers around here. I really enjoyed about every setting, very versatile pedal, no doubt about it.
    Your playing is very impressive.

  8. The Drowned on November 30, 2022 at 7:44 am

    You’re a great guitarist!
    I bought this pedal together with the Hall of Fame 2 by TCE. Hope to achieve a great result.
    Thanks for the reviews!!

  9. tophatness on November 30, 2022 at 7:45 am

    Are those frets scalloped?!

  10. kshitij tiwari on November 30, 2022 at 7:46 am

    Hey Elmo love your playing. I think pedal needs the right setup to work. Boosting in front of it is fine but in my short time with this pedal I think it likes to have everything crystal clean behind it. Obviously you could just get a 5150 od but then that pedal is like 3 times the price. I was about to return this pedal but after tinkering with it over a weekend I kind of realised it really hates dirt after it. Turning the gain up kinda changes the character of the sound in a way like an actual amo would. I think your setup isn’t suited for this thing but then again I thought it sounded good.

  11. My Store on November 30, 2022 at 7:47 am

    You can’t do a good video if your constantly playing malmsteen riffs. You need to expand and demonstrate a wide range of styles. ARent you bored of the same malmsteen? Find your own sound, it gets old fast. There is only one malmsteen.

  12. Alex H on November 30, 2022 at 7:47 am

    So for people who are confused… The Malmsteen OD pushes his amp into distortion. A distortion pedal like the Dark Matter is meant to simulate an already overdriven Marshall-style amp (from maxing out the volume). If you want MORE, you of course use an OD pedal to boost a distortion pedal the way he boosts his amp. An OD pedal not only adds gain but also tightens up the bottom end and woofiness of either an overdriven amp or distortion pedal.

  13. KY Bob on November 30, 2022 at 7:47 am

    Is the noise gate before or after distortion?

  14. Robert Clinger on November 30, 2022 at 7:49 am

    Hello Elmo! Would you please do a demo of the Keeley Filaments pedal? …love your videos, from Cape Cod, Massachusetts. Bob

  15. VergDan on November 30, 2022 at 7:51 am

    You are a great player, and you talk about all the things a player would care about, such as gain structure, buzziness, fizzy high end and all the other stuff. Great review.
    Keep up the good work.

    The TC guys tried to retain as much low end as possible from the guitar, as opposed to pedals like tubescreamer, so it does get quite mushy when using the neck pickup.

  16. Khamadi Ojiambo on November 30, 2022 at 7:51 am

    what fender pedal are you A B ing the dark matter with. Really like the sound of the fender

  17. syzygy on November 30, 2022 at 7:56 am

    would this sound good with a solid state amp and a guitar with high output pickups??

  18. Johan Q on November 30, 2022 at 7:57 am

    What kind of delay pedal can I use with this Dark Matter? I mean what delay pedal will fit nice with this?..

  19. Jimbo Kennedy on November 30, 2022 at 7:58 am

    Not too impressed with the pedal but you can shred, Elmo!

  20. Jeigh Neither on November 30, 2022 at 8:01 am

    Drops all the way down to B and says "It’s still a bit bassy" lmao, I’d hope so, you’re well below the register of a four string bass

  21. aldersmoke1 on November 30, 2022 at 8:03 am

    It’s interesting that you say you prefer overdrive to distortion, because that Malmsteen pedal sounds more like a modern metal distortion pedal than the Dark Matter. The Dark Matter is supposed to do an early 80s JCM 800 sound, which isn’t as tight and compressed as that Fender pedal. And you clearly prefer that sound. Which is fair. I’ve been using the Dark Matter for years to dial in a 70s Sabbath sound and it’s awesome for that in front of a good tube amp.

  22. Home Brewz NZ on November 30, 2022 at 8:03 am

    Good info. Cheers Elmo

  23. Nick Grigoropoulos on November 30, 2022 at 8:05 am

    Great review, thanks. After watching this and your Mooer Cruncher video, I decided to try the Fender Malmsteen pedal! 😄

  24. The Pilgrim on November 30, 2022 at 8:10 am

    And scalloped fretboard…. You must be a Malmsteen fan.

  25. Bluepixel on November 30, 2022 at 8:10 am

    I agree it’s mushy. I though it was me not knowing how to tweak it, but I see it’s simply not easy… or not possible.

  26. Hoosier Daddy on November 30, 2022 at 8:10 am

    Elmo. I am addicted to your channel my friend.
    Damn. I can’t watch now though. Going to doctors office, but will check it out big time when I return home. I’ve heard great things about this pedal, and TC is a great company from what I can tell. I came very very close to pulling the trigger on a used Nova multi-effects which sounded steller.
    Anyway. Keeo up the good work. I will donate a few bucks today sir because, youvare providing good value to me with these vids.
    Take care sir.

  27. image30p on November 30, 2022 at 8:12 am

    Great playing as before! Interesting pedal. 🙂

  28. S Ryburn on November 30, 2022 at 8:12 am

    Purchased Your review sucks.

  29. Christopher Tremontana on November 30, 2022 at 8:13 am

    Almost 4 minutes before we even hear the pedal. We actually hear a totally different pedal before we get to hear the TC @3:40

  30. Invert Scrub on November 30, 2022 at 8:14 am

    Holy shit, this guy can play.

  31. Jeigh Neither on November 30, 2022 at 8:17 am

    I’m a little confused; He’s loving the pedal for most of the vid, and then when he strips all the mids and gets mud, he gives up? It’s a versatile pedal, and can dial in a wide range of sounds with the right rig. I’d just go by the first three quarters of the vid before he falls out of love with it. If you’re looking for something beyond the Malmsteen sound, you can likely get it with this cheap pedal.

  32. Kadotus on November 30, 2022 at 8:17 am

    Elmo, I’ll gladly take any extra €50 notes you have! _Haha!_

  33. VIANA 85 on November 30, 2022 at 8:19 am

    I have a Brazilian pedal of NIG, I like this Distortion very much https://youtu.be/CJ-uSKiPPr0

  34. Frankee Marquez on November 30, 2022 at 8:21 am

    Love your videos Elmo!!! I bought mine 7 months ago, like the sound and price, but now the footswitch is dead. I used regularly every weekend with "care".

  35. hmmm5000 on November 30, 2022 at 8:21 am

    Thanks for the review. One of the best for this pedal that I’ve found. I’m thinking of buying it. I really like the sounds you got from it. I’m not near the level you are at playing. I’m kinda moderate skill level. To me it sounded great and I think I will go ahead and buy it. Thanks again!

  36. heetesh shil on November 30, 2022 at 8:23 am

    Is it good for playing raw BlackMetal (old stuffs), dose it gives proper lofi sound?

  37. neoaureus on November 30, 2022 at 8:24 am

    Do you trust a review in which the reviewer sits even without a guitar in the beginning ????

  38. Gabriel Nacu on November 30, 2022 at 8:24 am

    The fender overdrive you use definitely kills the Dark Matter! I have owned TC dirt pedals (like the Mojo and Dark Matter), and they just don’t do it for me for regular lead stuff….

  39. Dominic Airola on November 30, 2022 at 8:24 am

    This pedal can absolutely do metal if you have the right guitar. Doesn’t get past hard rock with my strat but with my 7 string with active p-ups it gets brutal! I’ll try to do a review soon.

  40. Tone Driver SS on November 30, 2022 at 8:25 am

    Good video demo . I have this pedal and really like it a lot . It works well with any of my amps and my other drive pedals . It Has a very natural amp – like sound . Does clean boost very well too . The bass and treble EQ is a big plus as well .

  41. Brad Middleton on November 30, 2022 at 8:27 am

    This might sound like a really stupid question with an obvious answer, but just to be sure, can this pedal be powered by a T-Rex Fuel Tank JR? It’s just I recently got a different distortion pedal and discovered it doesn’t work properly off my power supply is all and just want to make sure before I get this one

  42. Eric Schwab on November 30, 2022 at 8:27 am

    This Guy, I just found you and subscribed. Great reviews and I love your humor. Finnish people must all be hilarious because you and the comedian Ismo both make me laugh hard 😆

  43. Omar Yhvh on November 30, 2022 at 8:27 am

    Bad,dark ugly 🤣👎🐗

  44. Hoosier Daddy on November 30, 2022 at 8:28 am

    It would work in a pinch, but the Fender overdrive sounded better to me..
    Saw a vid of Paul Gilbert using it on a crunch channel like setting and then using it almost as a boost.

  45. Elmo Karjalainen on November 30, 2022 at 8:28 am
  46. Sinner Train on November 30, 2022 at 8:29 am

    I really like how the Dark Matter sounds with the toggle switch down using the Strat. I recall when TC put these out quite a few years ago and thinking it sound good back then. I love TC Electronic pedals and should add this one to my collection, particularly considering the price.

  47. 5 tw8 se7 on November 30, 2022 at 8:29 am

    Hey bud I have one it works great. It’s built like a tank.
    Maybe it’s you. If you were using it for all your noodling at the end it sounded great.
    I Don’t understand what you found wrong with it.

  48. Michael McGlynn on November 30, 2022 at 8:30 am

    I had the Dark Matter for a long time and did everything I could to like. I didn’t. Just not a good pedal at any price.

Leave a Comment