TC Electronic SCF Stereo Chorus+ Pedal Review by Sweetwater Sound

TC Electronic SCF Stereo Chorus+ Pedal Review by Sweetwater Sound

Get the TC Electronic SCF Stereo Chorus+ here: http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/SCF

The TC SCF is a pedal that’s enjoyed a long life and for good reason — it’s awesome! This is one of the pedals that established TC as a top-shelf pedal company in the ’80s; the list of pro users is extensive and iconic.

Pedigree notwithstanding, one listen to this pedal will let you know why it has such a stellar reputation. It only enhances your sound, no matter how you set the controls. Lush and wide, warbly and watery, or barely perceptible, the SCF always adds something special to your sound.

The internal power supply, silent switching and input buffer amp take the clean-factor way up, not only preserving your basic tone but making it just that much better.

When you get something right, there’s no need to mess with with it. Such is the case with the TC Electronic SCF, still hand-crafted in Denmark.

Thanks for watching!

— Don Carr

20 Comments

  1. Peter Bregman on December 19, 2021 at 12:11 pm

    The opening notes sounds very Twin Peaks-ish and the guy looks like Bob. Coincidence?

  2. Silviu Stefan on December 19, 2021 at 12:12 pm

    I don’t know. It seems to do almost nothing. And it is expensive

  3. jakobole on December 19, 2021 at 12:14 pm

    My father had one in the early 80’s to go with his Fender Rhodes, Crumar Performer and later DX7. It sounded rad on all of them

  4. 労働という名の自殺競争 on December 19, 2021 at 12:22 pm

    Nice

  5. L D on December 19, 2021 at 12:28 pm

    Thank you for recording a stereo pedal in … wait for it … stereo. Unbelievably rare.

  6. Mr Mixalot Creative on December 19, 2021 at 12:29 pm

    Great demo and a REALLY great sounding subtle chorus

  7. Glicksman1 on December 19, 2021 at 12:29 pm

    The most musical chorus and flanger I have ever used. I’ve had one since the late 90s and it’s been on my board since then. The pitch modulator is also very nice as a different kind of tremolo. Virtually indestructible, it always works perfectly and always sounds great. Guitarists Tom Verlaine and Richard Lloyd of “Television” used this pedal to wonderful effect as have many other pro players.

  8. C Math on December 19, 2021 at 12:33 pm

    R.I.P.

  9. Blake Foster on December 19, 2021 at 12:34 pm

    why is it when I play mine in stereo on a mixer in two separate channels it sounds like there’s no effect? I’ve read the manual and don’t exactly understand why I can’t use the stereo out properly.

  10. justfine77777 on December 19, 2021 at 12:45 pm

    I have this pedal. It is Purple Rain in a stomp box. 🤘🏽

  11. konnektlive on December 19, 2021 at 12:46 pm

    Is this a Analog or Digital unit? I can not find any reference to that online.

  12. fastguitar on December 19, 2021 at 12:47 pm

    so good, subtle clean ,great

  13. greatvanzinni on December 19, 2021 at 12:51 pm

    It will be interesting see what the future holds now that they’ve sold to Behringer. This may be viewed in the future as the good old days or who knows maybe we’ll see a Behringer "H" system for $195.00 LOL. I would buy one for the heck of it!

  14. Steve Folkes on December 19, 2021 at 12:55 pm

    At the start I was thinking, "I wish he would set the chorus speed at zero but he probably won’t." You did – thanks! I love the concept of stereo but putting it into practice (other than on recordings) seems tricky. Often, the more subtle the better.

  15. kristdelgado on December 19, 2021 at 12:56 pm

    You should do the review for the Corona Chorus from TC Electronic…

  16. o on December 19, 2021 at 12:57 pm

    You cannot have BOTH Chorus & Flanger effect at the same time?

  17. C Math on December 19, 2021 at 1:00 pm

    The only stereo aspect of this chorus is the reversal of the phase of one side of the effect blending back into the dry.If you record this in stereo and for whatever reason your mix is played back in mono over a phone or mono bluetooth speaker the effect will fold into nothing and will be inaudible

  18. OldEMGStrat on December 19, 2021 at 1:02 pm

    look at the strymon ola

  19. Michiel Lombaers on December 19, 2021 at 1:03 pm

    It’s my favourite chorus. I like it even better than the Boss CE-1 (but it’s close)

  20. TC Electronic on December 19, 2021 at 1:03 pm

    Great review guys!

Leave a Comment