The Best Windows Laptop. Period. – Dell XPS 15 & 17 Review

The Best Windows Laptop. Period. – Dell XPS 15 & 17 Review

Visit https://www.squarespace.com/LTT and use offer code LTT for 10% off

Use code LINUS and get 25% off GlassWire at https://lmg.gg/glasswire

At first glance the Dell XPS 15 and 17 could be the best all around laptops on the market – do they hold up to the full review?

Buy Dell XPS 15
On Amazon (PAID LINK): https://geni.us/0l0i
On Newegg (PAID LINK): https://geni.us/aUV6
On B&H (PAID LINK): https://geni.us/ybZmtE

Buy Dell XPS 17
On Amazon (PAID LINK): https://geni.us/BwG0
On Newegg (PAID LINK): https://geni.us/wvBaAnB
On B&H (PAID LINK): https://geni.us/5Kwbv

Purchases made through some store links may provide some compensation to Linus Media Group.

Discuss on the forum: https://linustechtips.com/main/topic/1229276-the-best-windows-laptop-period/

GET MERCH: http://www.LTTStore.com/
SUPPORT US ON FLOATPLANE: https://www.floatplane.com/
LTX EXPO: https://www.ltxexpo.com/

AFFILIATES & REFERRALS
—————————————————
Affiliates, Sponsors & Referrals: https://lmg.gg/sponsors
Get Private Internet Access VPN at https://lmg.gg/pialinus2
Get a Mech Keyboard: https://geni.us/RecNBTI
Nerd or Die Stream Overlays & Templates: https://geni.us/s8hBAgR
NEEDforSEAT Gaming Chairs: https://geni.us/needforseat
Get a Displate Metal Print at https://lmg.gg/displateltt
Use code LINUSMEDIAGROUP on Epic Games Store: https://lmg.gg/kRTpY
Get a 30-day free trial of Amazon Prime at https://lmg.gg/8KV1v
Our Gear on Amazon: https://geni.us/lmgamazon

FOLLOW US ELSEWHERE
—————————————————
Twitter: https://twitter.com/linustech
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/LinusTech
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/linustech
Twitch: https://www.twitch.tv/linustech

FOLLOW OUR OTHER CHANNELS
—————————————————
Techquickie: https://lmg.gg/techquickieyt
TechLinked: https://lmg.gg/techlinkedyt
ShortCircuit: https://lmg.gg/shortcircuityt

LMG Clips: https://lmg.gg/lmgclipsyt
Channel Super Fun: https://lmg.gg/channelsuperfunyt
Carpool Critics: https://lmg.gg/carpoolcriticsyt

MUSIC CREDIT
—————————————————
Title: Laszlo – Supernova
Video Link: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PKfxmFU3lWY
iTunes Download Link: https://itunes.apple.com/us/album/supernova/id936805712
Artist Link: https://soundcloud.com/laszlomusic

Outro Screen Music Credit: Approaching Nirvana – Sugar High http://www.youtube.com/approachingnirvana

Monitor And Keyboard by vadimmihalkevich / CC BY 4.0 https://lmg.gg/fxHYK
Mechanical RGB Keyboard by BigBrotherECE / CC BY 4.0 https://lmg.gg/Q9yyQ
Mouse Gamer free Model By Oscar Creativo / CC BY 4.0 https://lmg.gg/8upii

50 Comments

  1. Pasan kithmina on January 10, 2022 at 1:22 pm

    My acer nitro 5 has a just as good touch pad

  2. Enis Zulufepuštampašić on January 10, 2022 at 1:23 pm

    unfortunately, you are wrong…

    Zbook 17 (15) G3 (G4…) is the winner

  3. Clive White on January 10, 2022 at 1:24 pm

    Now I’m just hearing about the cheap speakers!!!

  4. Justin A on January 10, 2022 at 1:24 pm

    the touchpad is so inconsistent and dell has major QC issues

  5. Justin Liu on January 10, 2022 at 1:25 pm

    THIS IS AN AD, NOT A REVIEW PEOPLE!!!!

  6. C I on January 10, 2022 at 1:25 pm

    hey boss. I’m keen on the XPS 15 or XPS 17, but need to know if the SSD slots can handle an SSD that is double-sided like Sabrent 4tb/8tb. Can you advise?
    Does anyone know?!?

  7. ASFR&FlagCommunity on January 10, 2022 at 1:25 pm

    As much as want to buy one I feel like the Bezel are WAY to small

  8. Sam Cyanide on January 10, 2022 at 1:26 pm

    still no amd option :/

  9. Marc Anthony on January 10, 2022 at 1:27 pm

    What is that black desktop keyboard at 12:20 ?

  10. razoleg on January 10, 2022 at 1:28 pm

    Fucking taking OLED over LCD, what a joke

  11. undercrackers56 on January 10, 2022 at 1:28 pm

    What about the loose trackpad on the XPS17? Which idiot thought that the power (off) button should be placed right next to the delete key?

  12. xXLarryTFVWXx on January 10, 2022 at 1:28 pm

    Sun – Jan/09/2021 Redirected to here from a Dell ad.

  13. David Harrison on January 10, 2022 at 1:30 pm

    Yuk Dell shit

  14. Tommy Topham on January 10, 2022 at 1:31 pm

    My trusty 2010 hp laptop just crashed after a decade of use i dont want to let it go I can’t afford anything new

  15. W. Shane Schmidt on January 10, 2022 at 1:32 pm

    I have had a horrible experience with this computer. In fact, I am as often using the old beat up HP Spectre this computer was meant to replace. First note…the Dell XPS17 only has Thunderbolt ports. Most hardware has USB connections and the Dell’s adapters don’t cut it. When a cheap piece of equipment like an adapter will hog tie a $3700+ computer I think that is a problem worth noting. Maybe most of you would have known to check on that, but I am sharing this for people who are like me and didn’t know. I have found the battery life to be disappointing and the machine generally runs very hot. Speed? I haven’t noticed. Indeed, I have had to restart to refresh memory and performance several times in the short two weeks when I have tried using this computer. And the blue screen isn’t good, right? Dell has been on my system to check and update software and drivers, but I want to use more than the built-in system camera and audio recording and unfortunately products like Logitech are not options. Dell’s advice is return the computer for a refund. If this is the world’s best laptop, don’t set your expectations too high. Best isn’t great.

  16. Raist3db on January 10, 2022 at 1:34 pm

    Funny that seeing this video in late 2021, there’s still nothing in the PC laptops that compares to the MacBook Pro 16” 🙂

  17. Mr Talky on January 10, 2022 at 1:35 pm

    Sorry my English is not good. Did he say this laptop is not good for video editing?

  18. Morphin on January 10, 2022 at 1:36 pm

    Laptop is cool but fuck that keyboard 🤣🤣 I can’t get used to that damn spacing of the keyboard I’m constantly pressing caps lock instead of the A key or something.

  19. KD KD on January 10, 2022 at 1:38 pm

    Can I get free laptop ?

  20. Iffy50 on January 10, 2022 at 1:38 pm

    Just so you know, if you buy a Dell they will slap a subscription service on with a monthly fee and quitting it is a PAIN!

  21. Keith Kuhn on January 10, 2022 at 1:38 pm

    I look at the Dells. I currently have 5 USB devises connected and circular output for external speakers. Dell evidently doesn’t want me to use my current devises. There is no out port for my external speakers….I have learned not to trust the supplied speakers. I don’t care a fart about track pads as I will put a wireless mouse in a usb port. I don’t want there touch screen either. I don’t want a finger print scanner. What system can I get?

  22. godofthegame on January 10, 2022 at 1:40 pm

    I have a dell XPS M1530…but it’s veryyyy old

  23. Tim Thomas on January 10, 2022 at 1:41 pm

    Just bought this laptop with 16gb RAM, 1tb Drive, UHD touch display and LaCie Portable SSD 1TB External Solid State Drive. Don’t have either one yet. Will have the Drive in a few days and the laptop in about 10 days. Backing up everything from my HP Laptop and transferring to the new one. It took me HOURS backing up to an older Toshiba 1TB Canvio USB 3.0 Portable External Hard Drive 5gb/s. Want to have 2 back/up drives before I wipe out all of my files.
    Have NO Thunderbolt 3 peripherals so this is the conundrum.
    Since I’m upgrading, am willing to spend a little more dough on some accessories that meet the Thunderbolt speeds. Still have software on CD and have lots of videos so I did get their Ext CD drive, and a couple t3-3.0 adapters. (Adapters were an impulse buy due to the older drive and a SanDisk flash drive.)

    So, 2 items I THINK I need are a Thunderbolt 3 docking station and more external memory that’s Thunderbolt 3 and USB 3.0 GEN 2 compatible, 8gb for Windows system clean installs, 16gb for sharing family photos, and some LARGE ones (fastest for Thunderbolt 3) for video content that I can play directly from the flash drive.

    I’m a retired electronics technician, 2009, and have NO experience with the Thunderbolt specifications. My HP laptop has USB-C but I only use it for file transfers between my Android phones. Is there a pdf file or spreadsheet detailing comparisons of benchmarks for flash drives and external SSD’s? Would like an SSD that will mirror my internal drive. Watched a lot of videos about SSD reliability issues but would like it if someone actually wrote & published these so I could compare before I buy.

  24. THANOS on January 10, 2022 at 1:41 pm

    DON’T BUY THIS LAPTOP. ITS BEEN NOTHING BUT TROUBLE. And now keeps turning off by itself

  25. Shridhar Hegde on January 10, 2022 at 1:42 pm

    Anyone please tell me the c drive space on Dell XPS 17

  26. BennythemannC on January 10, 2022 at 1:43 pm

    Where can I ge that Wallpaper? Its dope!

  27. Cedric Schmitt on January 10, 2022 at 1:44 pm

    What`s the better choice? The XPS 15 with the 3,5k Oled or with the 4k LCD Panel?

  28. Terrobility on January 10, 2022 at 1:45 pm

    Didn’t Intel’s leaked emails say "Dell is the best friend money can buy", from the antitrust lawsuit? Doubt that AMD version is ever coming 🤣🤣

  29. Sjrick on January 10, 2022 at 1:45 pm

    He said there are ‘better value options’. What laptop was he referring to

  30. Chris Brown on January 10, 2022 at 1:47 pm

    Agree bring back the Illuminated backlight like the old area 51s such a cool cant really call it a laptop tho to heavy and hot to be on your lap lol I still have my old area 51 in GR8 shape just sits on shelf for the last oh 12 /13 yrs

  31. Art Music on January 10, 2022 at 1:51 pm

    Hi, is this laptop good for 3d modeling/animation using Blender? What’s the best for 3d work? Thanks

  32. crimper s on January 10, 2022 at 1:52 pm

    Can’t really justify dropping $1k+ on a laptop lacking basic ports. 1 port Really? Not even 1 usb type A? Need a dock if I want to use a wireless mouse? Totally kills it for me.

  33. Brad Banko on January 10, 2022 at 1:53 pm

    Now if it only had an operating system? Can you install Linux on it?

  34. manny matos on January 10, 2022 at 1:53 pm

    Can you use a DVD player to this computer, I just order one on Saturday and was wondering if it was compatible with windows 11

  35. Fat Panda on January 10, 2022 at 1:54 pm

    Hinges are garbage, they break fast.

  36. richard isaacs on January 10, 2022 at 1:56 pm

    Simply put, they do not have enough ports, they need to fix that up.

  37. wouter ploemen on January 10, 2022 at 2:00 pm

    Refresh review?

  38. Nate on January 10, 2022 at 2:00 pm

    Thumbs up on the review! A question: I don’t know if you’ll see this, it has been so long, but it’s now December 2021 and I am considering the Dell XPS 17 with the i7 chip, 32GB RAM, 1 TB SSD storage, and I am wondering, do you know if Dell has ever fixed that power adaptor that was too small, either using a larger one with the laptop, or offering the larger one as an option? I don’t see reference in the build section of the Dell website. It worries me. I like knowing that my battery is charging and then full while I use it plugged in, so always ready to go. That the battery might be draining while I use it plugged in, that worries me enough to consider just going the MacBook Pro 16 route after all. I don’t do games, or video/music editing, just heavy general use, almost all online, lots of time with streaming stocks quotes, watch lists and charts, internet research related searches, Youtube (reviews and movies), emails, word docs and basic excel spreadsheets on occasion, chatting, all the general and work from home related stuff, long hours weekdays and off and on weeknights and weekends, some mobile. If they haven’t fixed the issue, do you think it would be an issue the way I describe my use? Thanks.

  39. Panda Po on January 10, 2022 at 2:00 pm

    So many words, but I didn’t hear which exactly models you reviewing… wtf. Also, what ultimate performance if it throttling like a crazy and after few mins down speed to laptops 3 times cheaper. Just next nice cover without perfection inside…

  40. BaaBaa Black Sheep on January 10, 2022 at 2:04 pm

    I never had a Dell laptop or desktop that lasted past 3 years. Never trust a Dell. The stupid bloatware they come preloaded with is enough to stay away.

  41. lee on January 10, 2022 at 2:06 pm

    Linus: this xps laptop is a beast!
    Apple 2021: *im about to end this laptops whole career*

  42. Trevor Olson on January 10, 2022 at 2:10 pm

    I got the OLED screen, and the saturation compared to my MS Book 2 is ridiculous. Way oversaturated and no fix I can find online. Definitely does not look like the color on my OLED phone screen, unfortunately. I think mine is going back!

  43. BigTechOverlord on January 10, 2022 at 2:12 pm

    me sitting here with my p56f ;(

  44. Robert Kilar on January 10, 2022 at 2:12 pm

    So the interior is plastic not aluminium?

  45. BrotherB on January 10, 2022 at 2:14 pm

    Wanna be deceived & ripped off by a company that spends more on marketing (like this presentation) than it does on R&D & customer service – buy a Dell.

  46. Bruno Barcelos on January 10, 2022 at 2:15 pm

    12:58
    Technology Connections.

  47. Minh Nguyễn on January 10, 2022 at 2:17 pm

    The best must be Thinkpad

  48. Python Devs on January 10, 2022 at 2:19 pm

    Can Someone Please Help Me Get a Dell XPS 15 Even……… Please……… Someone

  49. Jay Dee on January 10, 2022 at 2:19 pm

    How can this laptop be recommended? Dell’s laptops are dogshit. They ALWAYS boil themselves. They are designed to self destruct. Pure garbage.

    Dell will never used AMD because of thunderbolt. They are macbook knock offs and that’s how they like it.

  50. OXYCANT on January 10, 2022 at 2:19 pm

    1:19 Man this is so fucking correct. I have the Dell XPS 13. Their specs are fucking good. Only problem is the UHD graphics and I cant even run blender smoothly. Already hate my laptop and wanna change it right now.

Leave a Comment