The evolution of the Electronic Component Tester (Multi-function Tester TC1 review)

The evolution of the Electronic Component Tester (Multi-function Tester TC1 review)

Testing and reviewing the 2020 Multi-function Tester TC1 and comparing it to the 2014 MK-168 Transistor Tester.
Video about the MK-168 Transistor Tester: https://youtu.be/b3dPBnYixs4
YouTube user Paul Rogalinski has compiled a detailed manual for the firmware used in these cheap component testers:
English: https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B2xkcO8M801ESV9UVFNyai1qWE0/edit?usp=sharing
German: https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B2xkcO8M801ESTI1bzJGNXB3WkU/edit?usp=sharing

Follow me on Instagram:
https://www.instagram.com/drcassette/
Check out my YouTube channel:
https://www.youtube.com/user/DrCassette
Also check out my other YouTube channels:
https://www.youtube.com/user/vistavox
https://www.youtube.com/user/plustotal

50 Comments

  1. Attila TheHUN on January 10, 2023 at 2:39 am

    Great video and review. One correction (not that it matters that much)…it’s not an OLED display.

  2. John Page on January 10, 2023 at 2:40 am

    hi bought the new type absolutely loved it. Only lasted a month, any ideas??

  3. The Man Who Stole The Tone on January 10, 2023 at 2:40 am

    diode must be placed in the K A A sockets for right measurements

  4. Paul Harbison on January 10, 2023 at 2:41 am

    multi function tester T7H thinks it’s a resistor ( bt134 triac)

  5. kemelin on January 10, 2023 at 2:42 am

    Симистор BT139 600E, TC-1 не может определить правильно выводы!!! Почему то именно этот симистор, с другими всё нормально.

  6. Jason J on January 10, 2023 at 2:46 am

    Thanks, the IR reader made my mind up on this one as I’d been meaning to build one to use with Linux for years and never got round to it.

    I managed to get mine for £8 (not much more than €8 these days thanks to stupid Brexit) from AliExpress which I can’t complain about.

  7. jomjom1207 on January 10, 2023 at 2:47 am

    One word of caution.. I have both of these and the first one was bought because of your video reviewing it. The other one was bought one year ago. This new one does seem to have some kind of a software bug where it charges up a capacitor and then sometimes gives you an error reading but does not discharge it.. Found this out the hard way when i put it back in to the tester and got one hell of a spark when it discharged……. Its something to be wary of….

  8. cfb33774 on January 10, 2023 at 2:47 am

    The reason I watched this was for the IR test

  9. Baruch Ben-David on January 10, 2023 at 2:50 am

    As I recall, the newer tester doesn’t do well with capacitance below about 25 pF. This may explain why the red LED didn’t register capacitance on that tester.

  10. Tobi Esto on January 10, 2023 at 2:51 am

    what I miss about the new one is the ability to press ‘SMD components to the test points, these are missing. I had to workout a selfmade cable to test smd components.

  11. Stephen Brown on January 10, 2023 at 2:52 am

    I have stuck a copper strip onto the face of mine with a few spots of superglue. Now I can discharge capacitors quickly before insertion.

  12. Steve Wander on January 10, 2023 at 2:54 am

    mine seems to ask to be calibrated if no component is found in about 5 seconds. Not sure why. Mine also asks for a capacitor for calibration routine. I find mine strange also in the fact that with the shorting bar (or strapped leads) mine still shows variances between the leads? Maybe it is the correction factor, Dont know. I did have both styles at one time and the older one did have more features and didnt give me the test routine nag if no component was found. I found the signal generator was useful in playing with my new oscilloscope. My color version had a screen that allowed you to change the color scheme. Great bit of kit for <$10.

  13. MrCacciLLo on January 10, 2023 at 2:55 am

    Does anyone know at which Frequency is Inductance tested with this unit? thank you so much

  14. Futschikatores on January 10, 2023 at 2:56 am

    Der C+ESR Modus dient dazu Kondensatoren am Fliessband zu testen, d.h. die Anzeige aktualisiert sich selbstständig, sobald ein neues Teil eingelegt wird. Sehr nützlich wenn man ein paar Teststrippen anklemmt und nun eine ganze Platine mit Elkos durchtesten will.

  15. Dub Dado on January 10, 2023 at 2:59 am

    deine aussprache ist super

  16. stereomann83 on January 10, 2023 at 3:00 am

    i bought the new tester but it’s not working right anymore it’s gives a cell reading. i only used it a few times.

  17. spankysmagicpiano on January 10, 2023 at 3:02 am

    I didn’t know you could do transistors on them. I had some faulty AF117s I replaced in a radio – I’ll have to dig them out and try them on my tester

  18. UHER-Audio on January 10, 2023 at 3:02 am

    Bitte informiere uns, wenn das Display dunkel bleibt, und keine Funktion mehr sichtbar wird. Symptom bei OELD Display.

  19. Sakura on January 10, 2023 at 3:03 am

    Thank you for such a clear voice and spelling. English is not my mother tongue and I’ve been able to follow all your explanations without a single line of subtitles.

  20. RockyVlog on January 10, 2023 at 3:03 am

    It’s clear to see and understand.

  21. schorse1000 on January 10, 2023 at 3:04 am

    Die große Abweichung beim 4700µF Elko liegt warscheinlich an der zu hohen Frequenz des Meßsignals, welches warscheinlich im kHz-Bereich liegt. Solche Elkos misst man aber eigentlich bei 100Hz, maximal 1kHz. Beim DT-9935 z.B. ist die Meßfrequenz einstellbar (100Hz, 1, 10, 100kHz). Auch der ESR-Wert ändert sich mit der Frequenz erheblich.
    Trotzdem sind diese Komponententester das genialste seit Erfindung des Multimeters.

  22. POW on January 10, 2023 at 3:06 am

    Thought I would point out that it is a TFT graphical LCD display. It’s not OLED technology. OLED’s are expensive.

  23. Robi Schrott on January 10, 2023 at 3:08 am

    Really nice video, thank you! Do you know whether it tests BJT darlington transistors correctly?

  24. Mark Elo on January 10, 2023 at 3:11 am

    Do you know how the Tc1 compares to a Peak Atlas Meter when measuring diode forward voltage drop?

  25. antraciet on January 10, 2023 at 3:12 am

    Thanks for the demonstration. I need a new one when i see this 🙂

  26. Bottleneck_ on January 10, 2023 at 3:13 am

    The wrong pF on the old Led is the low resolution and sensitivity of the tester…
    TC1 can’t measure very lo pF..

  27. August Lim on January 10, 2023 at 3:14 am

    Which is better, this one TC1 or the T7?

  28. Babu Mani Kuttan on January 10, 2023 at 3:15 am

    Nice video

  29. Chris Nelson on January 10, 2023 at 3:15 am

    Thanks, great video and info !…….From China, you can get the TC1 and also a model T7 which is about $7 more !….The specs seem to be the same including the colour display….Anyone know any different ?

  30. Dov Pauzner on January 10, 2023 at 3:16 am

    Thank you !

  31. SB on January 10, 2023 at 3:17 am

    Gibt es dieses Video auch in deutsch? Danke.

  32. Ben Baselet on January 10, 2023 at 3:17 am

    No look inside? How disappointing.

  33. Shylesh Tv on January 10, 2023 at 3:18 am

    👏👏👏👌👌👍👍

  34. jp040759 on January 10, 2023 at 3:19 am

    These are great. I use it when building final circuits on perf boards. When I grab a component out of my stock drawers I test them on this before soldering onto the boards so I know I didn’t grab a part that is NOT an out of the box failure. Great tool for ESR also.

  35. Dominic O'Kelly on January 10, 2023 at 3:19 am

    Great review- thanks for sharing. There seems to be a newer version of this tester available called the TCR-2. I wonder what the differences are? Perhaps just firmware? If so I wonder if the TCR-1 can be upgraded?

  36. shamrai on January 10, 2023 at 3:19 am

    Hi. I checked an electrolytic cap and the Tester went dead. Can it be repaired? Thanks for quick suggestion.

  37. RockyVlog on January 10, 2023 at 3:19 am

    It’s show diagram/schematic symbol of component s

  38. saarike on January 10, 2023 at 3:20 am

    Nice review for these testers. I have the old MK-168 tester and it’s very useful. Those 3 individual test leads have broken yellow, and green, but they are quite easy to repair with soldering iron. Thanks a lot.

  39. Dub Dado on January 10, 2023 at 3:23 am

    super! dankeeee

  40. Mauro Martinoli on January 10, 2023 at 3:25 am

    I own one of these, and it definitely doesn’t have an OLED display. I took mine apart and can confirm it only has a normal LCD panel. The prices at which these are sold cannot possibly justify the use of OLED.

  41. gowon's crunchy scalp on January 10, 2023 at 3:26 am

    TC1,T4 or T7?

  42. jp040759 on January 10, 2023 at 3:27 am

    Saw your vid on this as soon as it come out. I immediately ordered it after watching your video.. Got it today. Will be playing with it later today. Thanx for the review. Have you tested it to see if it has over discharge protection???

  43. Sid Ahmed Guemra on January 10, 2023 at 3:27 am

    👍♥️

  44. horse1066 on January 10, 2023 at 3:31 am

    That was interesting, thanks. The IR function looks neat, I’d probably swap out that bubble click button though

  45. Halil Avcılar on January 10, 2023 at 3:31 am

    i have this, sad to see that its accuracy is off in some cases.

  46. DYKO designs on January 10, 2023 at 3:33 am

    The IR test is neat, great for reverse engineering remote controls of unknown devices or replicating existing ones.

  47. Sk Khoo on January 10, 2023 at 3:33 am

    the new tester can only measure capacitance more than 25pF

  48. tengelgeer on January 10, 2023 at 3:34 am

    I like those testers, I have one version older which still does SMD. I don’t think it’s OLED though.

  49. Hr. Oldenberg on January 10, 2023 at 3:35 am

    Thank you for this great Report.
    Greatings from Germany, Bremen, the Home of Beck’s Beer 👍👍👊👊

  50. Boo LuQuette on January 10, 2023 at 3:35 am

    I have one and I can say I do like it a lot…. I think this was brought up already but I can’t read German , @13:37 that ESR TP 1-3 might be that it can read ESR with Test pins 1 and 3 if in that mode….. I’m not sure since I don’t have that one…..

Leave a Comment