The Zoom H6 Audio Recorder – Complete Review and Sample Audio!

The Zoom H6 Audio Recorder – Complete Review and Sample Audio!

In this video I will demonstrate the audio quality of the Zoom H6 portable six track recorder with interchangeable Mics.

I shot this video using the Rode NT-1 studio condenser microphone plugged into one of the XLR ports in the zoom unit.

I also take some time to test out and demonstrate the audio form the H6-XY capsule and the MSH-6 Mid/side capsule along with various other demonstrations which are at the end of the video.

If you’re a YouTuber, looking to get better quality audio in your productions, a Podcaster looking to connect multiple microphones in a portable recorder at home or in the field the Zoom H6 is a great option for you.

Note I mention that it doesn’t come with a power adaptor. Keep in mind that viewers have pointed out that you can power it via the provided mini usb port using an iphone charger or even usb battery pack…..

NOTE: Towards the end of the video I demonstrate a lapel microphone connected into the XLR port on the side. Now the official word by rode is that you should use the Rode VXLR+ 3.5mm Mini-Jack to 3-Pin XLR(M) Adaptor w/ Power Convertor. It will downgrade the 12V phantom power to 3.5V which is the recommended amount of power for their lav mic’s. This is a safer option in order to avoid blowing out your lav mic…

If you want to see my follow video on how to use the ZOOM H6 with external microphones click here:

ASMR with the ZOOM h6 and the MSH-6 Capsule

Where to buy:
Amazon US

Zoom H6 All black with XY micrphone:
https://amzn.to/3pEiPIL

MSH-6 Capsule: https://amzn.to/2ZCqsF7

Manfrotto Pixie Table Top Stand:
https://amzn.to/3s7C5kg

#zoom #h6 #audio

50 Comments

  1. sepultura7771 on April 19, 2022 at 6:29 pm

    I have the Scarlett solo,but pro tools just seems to much for me
    Thinking of getting this because it seems easier to use
    Is it simpler than Scarlett interface
    Does it sound worse/better
    My goal is to record basic music,overdub tracks
    Guitar,drums ,harmonica,acoustic etc
    Thanks to anyone who helps

  2. Mr Chops on April 19, 2022 at 6:30 pm

    Can you add extra vocals on a prerecorded track? And if not….why?

  3. La Mar Taylor on April 19, 2022 at 6:31 pm

    can I record all 4 channels using the line out to my camera

  4. TroutMaskReplica on April 19, 2022 at 6:31 pm

    Can you use this as a 4 track recorder? ie recording instruments separately and not at the same time?

  5. Tibi S. on April 19, 2022 at 6:32 pm

    ASMR from 11:35 😀

  6. Donald Randell on April 19, 2022 at 6:32 pm

    Thanks for your video! It’s helpful.

  7. Augusto Martínez on April 19, 2022 at 6:32 pm

    This review is soooo good, thank you!

  8. james susbilla on April 19, 2022 at 6:33 pm

    thank *YOU*

  9. Life & Times of a MultipleMediaManager™ on April 19, 2022 at 6:34 pm

    Great Review. I need to get one. Lets hope Zoom have learn’t the cheap plastic build-quality lesson, and that the housing doesn’t steadily biodegrade over time like my H4.

  10. The Emo Emu on April 19, 2022 at 6:36 pm

    "Aitch six"
    Don’t confuse foreigners who are trying to learn.

    https://youtu.be/2FasyteaJlQ

  11. La Mar Taylor on April 19, 2022 at 6:37 pm

    Can I use the zoom BTA-2 Bluetooth device with the H6 ?

  12. Spontanitetens Mester Ro9&Kup on April 19, 2022 at 6:38 pm

    I use it as a mixer on small gigs or off grid jams, with or without the mic, my off grid setup: 😎iPad Pro midi keyboard. garage band .h6 as mixer or mic. Soundbox 2. Clean and crisp live sound. Witch’s can be recorded 👍 love this mic😀go get one.✌🏻

  13. Arsalan Banquet on April 19, 2022 at 6:38 pm

    I HAVE ZOOM H1N CAN TO TEEL ME HOW I CAN RECORD AUDIO WITHOUT BACKGROUND I HAVE NO ANY SOUND PROFING PLZZZ TEL ME GOOD SETITNG OF ZOOM H1N

  14. tharealjoey on April 19, 2022 at 6:39 pm

    Did you add background noise removal or does it record this smooth?

  15. Fleadog Green on April 19, 2022 at 6:42 pm

    Does it have Bluetooth?
    Is there a newer model coming out soon ?
    Any other recorders decent?

  16. Tashi on April 19, 2022 at 6:42 pm

    Which capsule would you use to record instruments?

  17. unbeknownstx on April 19, 2022 at 6:43 pm

    i wanna learn how to use this for live sound i have good mics but outside of controlled sound i wonder how this would fare in outside sound

  18. Joshua Myers on April 19, 2022 at 6:43 pm

    I appreciate this review SO MUCH!!!

  19. Syed on April 19, 2022 at 6:46 pm

    I didn’t get a wind shield…?

  20. Syke492 on April 19, 2022 at 6:47 pm

    Loving it!!

  21. banditman142536 on April 19, 2022 at 6:47 pm

    Great video and audio Sir. Thank you.

  22. SynthGuy777 on April 19, 2022 at 6:49 pm

    I just bought the H6 but then, I just discovered the H8. I heard that the construction on the H8 is not that good, but I wanted something mostly for foley and field recording, and maybe light podcasting.
    Should I take back the H6 and get the H8. I like the shape better on the H6 better and I heard the construction is better, but I’ll be missing out on a ton of features. I’m not sure what to do. Thanks.

  23. Nick's Online Trombone Academy on April 19, 2022 at 6:49 pm

    Can a USB mic like Rode podcaster work with this?

  24. Brandon Mahone on April 19, 2022 at 6:51 pm

    Almost said itachi

  25. Tank'a'tron on April 19, 2022 at 6:55 pm

    I have a unique questions for ya. Would this Zoom H6 be able to record clear and sharp audio within a military tank? Right now we use audio from our GoPros and people’s individual cellphone recordings. Normally we don’t get a good ‘crack’ of the main gun from the gopro footage.

    We would like to be able to record inside and outside the vehicles and not have the audio get saturated out or peak and become inaudible. Would this Zoom H6 be able to do the job?

  26. Nick's Online Trombone Academy on April 19, 2022 at 6:56 pm

    Can a USB mic like Rode podcaster work with this?

  27. brandenlikesbeer on April 19, 2022 at 6:57 pm

    My H6 arrived today and disappointed to see they don’t include the case anymore.

  28. x41ih10a on April 19, 2022 at 6:58 pm

    Thank you friend, very good review. The sound effects section was particularly helpful, because I’m looking at getting a portable mic specifically for sfx. Sounds pretty good.

  29. ClickBaitedToDeath on April 19, 2022 at 6:58 pm

    Thanks for the thorough in-depth review of the H6, I enjoyed it so much, your presentation alone persuaded me to try one for my audio needs.

  30. DOYLE LaCRUA on April 19, 2022 at 6:58 pm

    9:38 Oh, snap. Back up y’all, I’m bout to cut a lil rug.

  31. hayabusa313 on April 19, 2022 at 6:58 pm

    I need one right now! 😀

  32. Guru Gamer on April 19, 2022 at 6:59 pm

    What do you think of Sound Devices Pre Mix 6 ii?

  33. Kristian Sharpe on April 19, 2022 at 6:59 pm

    One can tell how good the microphones are as they’re very revealing of the problematic room reverberation that make cuts really difficult. A fine example of why one’s environment is as important as the audio equipment itself.

  34. Nick's Online Trombone Academy on April 19, 2022 at 6:59 pm

    Can a USB mic like Rode podcaster work with this?

  35. Fighting Arts of England on April 19, 2022 at 7:02 pm

    I have used one of these, I plugged my mic into a good outboard mic pre, then run it into the H6 at line level and the sound was just terrific

  36. P K on April 19, 2022 at 7:02 pm

    Excellent review brother. I bought a H6 after watching this review a few months ago. I do have a question, as I am somewhat new to audio – how did you get such good sound using a condenser microphone in what seems to be an untreated room?

  37. Christine C. on April 19, 2022 at 7:04 pm

    How does this compare to the Anker for Zoom calls? That is if you’re familiar with Anker.

  38. Darlington Sheriff on April 19, 2022 at 7:05 pm

    The Best of the best Review

  39. Brian Tinio on April 19, 2022 at 7:09 pm

    Hi I’m very new to sound recording. What is ‘pad control’? Like what is the dial near the mics used for, compared to the other four dials? 3:36-3:44. Thanks for the video, it was very informative!

  40. Jim G on April 19, 2022 at 7:12 pm

    Great review; very thorough. But uh, "haych 6"?

  41. ajete dermaku on April 19, 2022 at 7:13 pm

    Does any one know’s this divice regording, when i record does it show time and date.

  42. Jackson Perez on April 19, 2022 at 7:16 pm

    Nice video! I think I’m going to go with this recorder now!

  43. Marisa Galisteo on April 19, 2022 at 7:18 pm

    Hello! I am new to the world of audio quality. I have started to do Sound Baths with Crystal Alchemy Bowls. I do them live for about 45 min via the Zoom platform, and I am currently using the Apogee mic which plugs right into my MacBook Pro. I am interested in increasing the quality of my Sound Baths, and wondering if the Zoom H6 is something that would make sense for me to invest in or if there are other mics that you recommend for this type of work. Thank you!

  44. WenstonBlack on April 19, 2022 at 7:18 pm

    Did you ever have any problems with electrical interferences? Someone mentioned that they have that problem when near phones or computers with a lot of beeping noises.

  45. Ezra Calderon on April 19, 2022 at 7:19 pm

    Opening the SD latch is the easiest thing to open. If it’s not, you are doing it wrong. Use a guitar pick or anything similar. opens up like magic. Voilà !

  46. DAVAD M DAVAD on April 19, 2022 at 7:23 pm

    Haych. Aytch. Which is correct? Mitchell and Webb killed people over it. Americans say AYTCH for H. No hhuhhh sound in the front. Then again, we speak English because of you guys, so….I’m torn. It really sounds weird to me. Hay-CH.

  47. Ryan Wolf on April 19, 2022 at 7:26 pm

    Great review, I’m about to start an investigative podcast that will involve both speaking directly into the mic and then also interviews where I may need to hear audio from a few people in a room. I’m looking for something easy and portable and have been struggling! Would you recommend this?

  48. Timothy Awe on April 19, 2022 at 7:26 pm

    Im sorry the worst review I have seen.

  49. Mazi on April 19, 2022 at 7:27 pm

    Thanks for informatioins..I have 2 secret quesitons. Can you prefer for the film and videography the Zoom H6 ? The Zoom 6 For interviews 2 person can uses or no ?

  50. theonemodifier on April 19, 2022 at 7:27 pm

    Tuned in to learn about the AC adapter. Didn’t see and input, does it plug into the small USB. Can you use just any ac 5v?

Leave a Comment