Universal Audio Arrow Interface Review / Test / Explained

Universal Audio Arrow Interface Review / Test / Explained

Today I review the Universal Audio Arrow. This is a Thunderbolt 3 interface, that records 24-bit 192kHz, offers +65dB of gain, and offers DSP Processing! This had no issues driving an SM7b, and the plugins that came with it are top notch, and offer a lot of great tones. I think this is one of the best all in one boxes you can get to improve your recordings, or add some nice color to them in order to avoid a sterile sounding recording.

Buy the Universal Audio Arrow
Amazon: https://geni.us/uaarrow
Sweetwater: https://imp.i114863.net/rM4g3

Buy the Rode NT1 Kit (Affiliate Link)
Amazon: http://geni.us/rodent1
Sweetwater: https://imp.i114863.net/495rn

00:00 – Intro / Pricing
00:23 – Setup / Testing Parameters
00:37 – What’s in the Box
01:05 – Specifications
01:40 – Build Quality
02:38 – Hardware Features Walkthrough
05:04 – Software Features Walkthrough
07:23 – Preamp Gain Noise Test
08:09 – Dynamic Mic Test
08:32 – Unison Preamp Test
09:04 – LA-2A Compressor Test
09:36 – Latency Test
10:02 – Instrument Input Test
10:40 – Pros & Cons
12:23 – Recommendation
13:26 – Outro

Universal Audio ARROW Desktop 2×4 Thunderbolt 3 Audio Interface with Real-time UAD-2 SOLO Core Processing for Mac & Windows

My YouTube Kit: https://podcastage.com/studio
My Favorite XLR Mics: https://podcastage.com/rev/favxlr
My Favorite USB Mics: https://podcastage.com/rev/favusb

NOTE (FULL DISCLOSURE): If you purchase an item using my amazon link, it provides me a small referral fee. For more info check my FAQ page links below.

Check the FAQ to see if your question was already answered: http://www.geeksrising.com/faq

Vote For The Mics You Want Reviewed: http://www.geeksrising.com/podcastage

Check us out, Follow us, & Like us over at:
Discord: https://discord.gg/dXQUc7v
Website: http://www.geeksrising.com
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/podcastage
Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/podcastage
Personal Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/bandrewsays

50 Comments

  1. ONLY1 EMACZ on January 7, 2023 at 2:24 am

    that shit is trash it stop pickup up my mic not worth it

  2. Zamir on January 7, 2023 at 2:25 am

    Crazy your videos are the best on YouTube just saying thanks

  3. paolo miami on January 7, 2023 at 2:28 am

    Thank you for me this is a very userful video
    can you tell me which plugin you get when you buy this stuff and if you can buy in a second time other plugins?

  4. Dara Mulhern on January 7, 2023 at 2:28 am

    Excellent review, thanks!

  5. Alex Ochoa on January 7, 2023 at 2:29 am

    After plugging in my Arrow to my thunderbolt port on my PC it turns on normally. After installing the software it won’t recognize the device and gives me the message "No Device Found" even though it is plugged in. I’ve already reseted the arrow and used a different thunderbolt 3 cable. I’ve also plugged in an XLR mic that requires phantom power and I see that it picks that up fine so it isn’t hardware related? Can any help with this issue? Thanks.

  6. shubh shinde on January 7, 2023 at 2:30 am

    Do you get the VOXbox plugin for free with this interface?

  7. erJonhy on January 7, 2023 at 2:32 am

    Thank you fur this review!
    One question. Do you think that this interface rec much more betteer than the ssl2+?

  8. Raplh d on January 7, 2023 at 2:32 am

    Super quite it

  9. xSKOOBSx on January 7, 2023 at 2:32 am

    Can all of the desktop audio come out of the front headphone jack or is that only for monitoring instruments?

  10. Ashish Rawat on January 7, 2023 at 2:33 am

    Review UAD Apollo Solo.

  11. ChrisDon’tMiss._ on January 7, 2023 at 2:33 am

    When you say it’s not backwards compatible, what would be the best alternative to set this up with my imac…

  12. xSKOOBSx on January 7, 2023 at 2:34 am

    Also, I am wanting to record guitar via the front input as well as using an instrument microphone to capture more of the live sound (like pick noises, etc). If this is done simultaneously, will the recordings be perfectly time aligned?

  13. Ryan James on January 7, 2023 at 2:34 am

    Hey Bandrew…. Do you know if the device + plugins can be transferred to another owner? Thanks in advance!!

  14. Saul on January 7, 2023 at 2:35 am

    Is it possible to use this interface without a computer? I’d like to use it as an audio input/output.

  15. Maaz Duncan on January 7, 2023 at 2:36 am

    Your a goat for the time stamps

  16. Genolexis Music on January 7, 2023 at 2:36 am

    Yoooooo you made me want to pick up my bass and start learning how to play again. I picked up the Twin X and woooooow! Thank you so mcub for this video

  17. SKRRRT on January 7, 2023 at 2:38 am

    Does it work with usb A 3?

  18. NoOffensePies on January 7, 2023 at 2:39 am

    Honestly, I suddenly understand the huge price. It is very justifiable

  19. Jason Raneses on January 7, 2023 at 2:41 am

    Thanks!

  20. JudgeFredd on January 7, 2023 at 2:42 am

    Great in depth review

  21. Heath on January 7, 2023 at 2:43 am

    Great video! Can you run the outputs as a line out to an amp to power speakers? Cheers!

  22. Sarek Gutierrez on January 7, 2023 at 2:45 am

    Love the honest review, thank you!

  23. Adventures on January 7, 2023 at 2:49 am

    I paid like 700 CAD for Arrow, at the end that thing does not support more than 4 plugins due to incapability to manage DSP … ARE YOU SERIOUS ?? I will return it.

  24. Lihat Jalanan on January 7, 2023 at 2:50 am

    Hi bro can you compare this with SSL 2 ?

  25. Malinki Fox on January 7, 2023 at 2:50 am

    This works best for iMacs I have it. And it’s plug and play no issues. However that’s for iMacs. Do not. I repeat. Do not buy it for a PC. Thunderbolt is a nightmare for PCs and the drivers introduce intense crackle sound

  26. Remo Biplob on January 7, 2023 at 2:53 am

    can i use it usb 3 ?

  27. Novro on January 7, 2023 at 2:54 am

    Hey dude! You mentioned about it’s struggle with Discord. Did you experience anything with your mic popping and cracking through it?

  28. Dave Ko on January 7, 2023 at 2:55 am

    were you running the SM7b without any boosters like a cloud lifter?

  29. fmesj on January 7, 2023 at 2:56 am

    Can i use this UA Arrow/Solo in my late 2012 iMac i7 quad-core thunderbolt 1-2?

  30. Tiggs on January 7, 2023 at 2:57 am

    I have this interface and love it!

  31. Alain Jean on January 7, 2023 at 2:57 am

    Is phantom power global?

  32. Lou Sekoya on January 7, 2023 at 2:58 am

    Great video,…..I’m a newbie and would like to know if you need to get UAD plugins to use this or you can have other pluggins ?

  33. Jimmy Brown on January 7, 2023 at 2:58 am

    Just the gear I was looking for! They should pay you… Lol. And I just subscribed… great job!!!

  34. ONLY1 EMACZ on January 7, 2023 at 3:02 am

    it doest even come wit a tb3 cable this hardware is trashh

  35. Free Spirit on January 7, 2023 at 3:03 am

    Good Day, I am interested in using it to record vocals. But I’m wondering if the DSP can handle it. I am interested in using the Neve® 1073® and TELETRONIX® LA-2A simultaneously. Will this be too much for it? also if possible will I be able to add at least one more plugin without issues?

  36. andy M on January 7, 2023 at 3:04 am

    what does live dsp procesing have to do with the latency ?

  37. Noah Elkins on January 7, 2023 at 3:05 am

    Quick question. I just got this interface and went to use the plugins and it asked if I’d like to try the free demo?? I thought these plugins came free with my interface???

  38. shubh shinde on January 7, 2023 at 3:07 am

    I don’t know why but some people who use premium interfaces of UAD they say that arrow is not a good interfaces for music..they say "it’s Plastic build, lesser sound quality, no Luna, can barely run any plugins" so I am confused and have a fix buget so please get me out of this.🙏

  39. Peyo Lingo on January 7, 2023 at 3:08 am

    OMG Do something with your finger nail.
    – I almost threw up

  40. 3Li on January 7, 2023 at 3:08 am

    14:04 use it then?

  41. TSM CRYPTO on January 7, 2023 at 3:08 am

    dude im so pissed i have a Universal Audio Arrow UAD2 and never had issues, then suddenly one day, Input stopped coming through on my studio when trying to record, but the monitors were picking it up on the device. Couldnt find a single thing to troubleshoot online, except resetting the device.
    After i reset it now i can even get sound from my headphones on the device. Universal Audio has ZERO things online to help.

    So fristrated this is pissing me off royaly. Went and bought new mic cord, headphones and everything.
    NOTHING

    Its only 3 years old

  42. The ATif Official on January 7, 2023 at 3:10 am

    Hi thanks for another gr8 review. Have you heard about its issues with "power cycles while computer is sleeping" is it worth going for Universal Audio Apollo Twin X DUO Thunderbolt 3.

  43. Hanna Dahine on January 7, 2023 at 3:12 am

    Very nice review, almost covering everything about this amazing converter.
    Thank you

  44. Diogo Fernandes on January 7, 2023 at 3:14 am

    Anybody knows if this universal audio arrow works in the new Macbook Pro M1? Just to make sure because my old audio interface doesn’t work.

  45. Ariel Dela Cruz Severino on January 7, 2023 at 3:16 am

    hey men im a big fan of you what do you think about apollo solo usb c for windows?

  46. Don Vittorio Sierra on January 7, 2023 at 3:19 am

    Universal Audio… Please make an ipad compatible interface 🙂

  47. Noorhakim Mohamed Noor on January 7, 2023 at 3:20 am

    Do you still need cloudfilter to amplify SM7B while using UAD Arrow? Thank you!

  48. Itsuo on January 7, 2023 at 3:20 am

    Has anyone used this on FL studio ?!

  49. berice Arthur on January 7, 2023 at 3:22 am

    So you’re only able to run uad plugins on this interface?

  50. cooljoescott on January 7, 2023 at 3:22 am

    Can you use it with PC?

Leave a Comment