Why Amazon Has A Fake Review Problem

Why Amazon Has A Fake Review Problem

Fake reviews are a big problem on Amazon, from Facebook groups where bad actors solicit paid positive reviews to bots and click farms that upvote negative reviews to take out the competition. Illegitimate reviews can boost sales of unsafe products and hurt business for legitimate sellers, causing brands like Nike and Birkenstock to sever ties with Amazon. Here are some ways to spot fake reviews and what Amazon and others are doing to try and stop them.

ยป Subscribe to CNBC: https://cnb.cx/SubscribeCNBC
ยป Subscribe to CNBC TV: https://cnb.cx/SubscribeCNBCtelevision
ยป Subscribe to CNBC Classic: https://cnb.cx/SubscribeCNBCclassic

About CNBC: From ‘Wall Street’ to ‘Main Street’ to award winning original documentaries and Reality TV series, CNBC has you covered. Experience special sneak peeks of your favorite shows, exclusive video and more.

Connect with CNBC News Online
Get the latest news: https://www.cnbc.com/
Follow CNBC on LinkedIn: https://cnb.cx/LinkedInCNBC
Follow CNBC News on Facebook: https://cnb.cx/LikeCNBC
Follow CNBC News on Twitter: https://cnb.cx/FollowCNBC
Follow CNBC News on Instagram: https://cnb.cx/InstagramCNBC
Subscribe to CNBC PRO: https://cnb.cx/2NLi9AN

#CNBC

Why Amazon Has A Fake Review Problem

50 Comments

  1. Borg on October 12, 2022 at 5:20 am

    I got this when going to write a review and I am a real person with no gain for writing reviews. "We apologize but Amazon has noticed some unusual reviewing activity on this account. As a result, all reviews submitted by this account have been removed and this account will no longer be able to contribute reviews and other content on Amazon." Which is fine because I will no longer waste my time writing reviews.

  2. Saad Abdullah on October 12, 2022 at 5:21 am

    I don’t understand why Amazon is allowing anybody to review any of their product? Why Amazon letting people review a product that they bought it from Wallmart? Review option should be and only should be writable for the verified customer and readable for others.

  3. message ๐Ÿ‘‰ KECRACKS on Telegram helped me on October 12, 2022 at 5:21 am

    ๐Ÿ”๐Ÿ”๐Ÿ”๐Ÿ” i recommend you at the top because you’re the best I’ve seen thanks for everything you have done for me and my family for recovery our scam money from frauds and fake website,link ๐Ÿ”๐Ÿ’ฏ

  4. John Tan on October 12, 2022 at 5:23 am

    I don’t trust Amazon Prime Business’s. Scams false advertising. I quit Amazon.๐Ÿ‘Ž๐Ÿ‘Ž๐Ÿ‘Ž๐Ÿ‘Ž๐Ÿ‘Ž๐Ÿ‘Ž๐Ÿ‘Ž๐Ÿ‘Ž๐Ÿ‘Ž๐Ÿ‘Ž๐Ÿ‘Ž๐Ÿ‘Ž

  5. Covenant Lazarus on October 12, 2022 at 5:24 am

    Nuke China

  6. Nino Nieman on October 12, 2022 at 5:25 am

    Anyone who trusts Amazon, Fakebook etc. reviews and relies on them to buy a product needs their heads read. Doubly so if there is any review from India, Pakistan, anywhere in Africa or China. These companies should list where the review comes from, so people can ignore any from the 3rd world – with their ‘review brokers’ outfits and the other usual parade of corrupt ripoff merchants that emanate from these places. Wouldn’t stop the problem, but would help for a while. Banning phone calls from IP addresses in India would also help no end. These outfits keep their countries’ reputations in the toilet, and their government’s don’t seem to care at all

  7. Malik The mad man on October 12, 2022 at 5:25 am

    alot of times i’ve notice a product will have 5 star reviews saying generic stuff like "product was as advertised" and then the 1 stars will be talking about how it breaks down and how it was damaged on arrival.

  8. kingorbit on October 12, 2022 at 5:28 am

    the bad reviews are the only ones that may warn you, duh.

  9. Stephen Gibbons on October 12, 2022 at 5:29 am

    Amazon just mysteriously deleted thousands of 1-star reviews for their Rings of Power TV show. The overall show rating jumped from 3.2/5 to 4.0/5 in a flash. Trust absolutely nothing Amazon says, ever.

  10. doltBmB on October 12, 2022 at 5:30 am

    Read "Ways that are dark" and stop buying from china.

  11. goduskychris Chris Godusky on October 12, 2022 at 5:31 am

    My complaint which I rarely ever complaint to Amazon was I received the wrong product that’s all

  12. Charles Robert on October 12, 2022 at 5:34 am

    Because of counterfeits I no longer buy auto parts on Amazon. To avoid getting gouged at brick and mortal stores I carefully searched online sellers, there are several good ones. I like 1A auto which also has many YouTube videos on how to repair your car which is a bonus.

  13. Nunya on October 12, 2022 at 5:37 am

    Amazon’s review policy led them to ban me from leaving reviews which led me to take my $20k a year online shopping habit to their competitors because they refuse to explain what on earth I did to violate their policies. Been a customer for 15 years and they were getting money from me for damn near everything I purchased. They near had a monopoly on my bank account, except for gas, utilities, and most groceries. I guess they make enough money that they don’t really need customer loyalty. Doesn’t seem like a good business strategy to me, but hey, what do I know? I’m just a mindless consumer.

  14. message me on telegram ๐Ÿ‘‰ ADDTECHIEE on October 12, 2022 at 5:39 am

    ๐Ÿ”๐Ÿ”๐Ÿ”I enjoy working with๐Ÿ”๐Ÿ”๐Ÿ” you and appreciate your help and support for recovery my money back from frauds

  15. Meer Zada. on October 12, 2022 at 5:39 am

    Am available as a rev*iewer agent.i have a lots of buyers from different countries.i will provide you rat*ings and picture or video rev*iews.we will rank your product on first page.come to inbox for more information.
    THANK YOU!

  16. Dark Bionic on October 12, 2022 at 5:40 am

    Too good to be true

  17. Paddy Oh on October 12, 2022 at 5:41 am

    I purchased a pressure washer for $860 and I returned it because it was broken and missing pieces never even used it. They will not refund the money after they said they would. American Express won’t cover the cost. I’ve been disputing it for 3 months now they have told me it has been past a certain period and there’s nothing they can do for me. So now I have no pressure washer and I’m in debt $860 Customer service representatives have played games with me by putting me on hold and transferring me to five different associates purposely trying to confuse and frustrate me so I will give up. Big companies get away with Crime? If I were to take something from someone it would be considered robbery. The majority of these products on Amazon are garbage. I have worked for Amazon at a delivery station the managers are lazy and play favorites they give you unrealistic expectations and threaten your job if you don’t meet them. There is always a lot of hostility in the workplace for many reasons. I guess that’s what happens when you have a Monopoly.

  18. BlaineC1972 on October 12, 2022 at 5:41 am

    Anytime I see a slew of "Wow, what a great product!" reviews, I give no credence to the review score.

  19. Rubber Axolotl on October 12, 2022 at 5:41 am

    Recaptcha for every review or star or new account or new product.

  20. Swayzo Crazo on October 12, 2022 at 5:43 am

    Best to keep reviews short and sweet to long and dragged out reviews are a sign

  21. Contact ๐Ÿ‘‰ Mastercracks _tech on telegram on October 12, 2022 at 5:44 am

    All thanks to ๐Ÿ‘†๐Ÿ‘†๐Ÿ‘†๐Ÿ‘†who helped me recover my money from scammers , I canโ€™t stop telling the world how he helped me ๐Ÿ™๐Ÿ™๐Ÿ™

  22. Frater Perpetuus Coegi on October 12, 2022 at 5:45 am

    I always try to give an honest review because that’s what I expect when I look for a product unfortunately the review manipulation is too comon now

  23. message ๐Ÿ‘‰ KECRACKS on Telegram helped me on October 12, 2022 at 5:46 am

    ๐Ÿ”๐Ÿ”๐Ÿ”๐Ÿ” i recommend you at the top because you’re the best I’ve seen thanks for everything you have done for me and my family for recovery our scam money from frauds and fake website,link ๐Ÿ”๐Ÿ’ฏ

  24. Maenad on October 12, 2022 at 5:46 am

    I once left a positive review on an Amazon skincare product and within a few days they had contacted me essentially offering free products in exchange for more positive reviews like the authentic one I wrote ๐Ÿ˜

  25. Jefferson Smith on October 12, 2022 at 5:48 am

    4:12 "Reported it to Amazon and nothing happens" this is a well known issue with Amazon because Jeff Bezos does not care. He cares about how to pay his investors their shares. No matter how he get the profit in.

  26. Muhammad Khali5 on October 12, 2022 at 5:49 am

    My idea is amazon put some kind of code or link inside the box that enable only the person who buy the product to express their genuine review. Maybe put a code that only allow review if the code inside or outside the box match the code from amazon database. It can give consumer some kind of guarantee about the product and prevent fake review. But, i’m afraid if this only encourage package stealing.

  27. Message ๐Ÿ‘‰DOVETECHIE on telegram on October 12, 2022 at 5:52 am

    ๐Ÿ”๐Ÿ”๐Ÿ”๐Ÿ” I canโ€™t stop appreciating you sir thanks so much for your help and support for recovery my account and money

  28. everydayfun on October 12, 2022 at 5:54 am

    Its Honestly Confusing cause really I do Wanna buy that Product but sometimes these Nwgative Reviews make me not want buy this Product..

  29. Lori Smith on October 12, 2022 at 5:56 am

    I have positive reviews but was banned and all reviews deleted. Amazon will not tell me why but I think after re-reading the rules – I usually added a thank you to amazon for speedy delivery. Negative is seller not knowing I am a happy customer. Positive is less of my time to write a review.

  30. Nightsparrow on October 12, 2022 at 5:57 am

    Amazon is a rip off and the sooner people realize it the better … I will not shop Amazon, plenty small business with cheaper prices for the same thing if people are willing to look.. Google is your friend, save yourself some money and stop big companies from treating employees’s like slaves!

  31. Levi on October 12, 2022 at 5:58 am

    I noticed this one problem. many reviews were fake. I fawking hate that

  32. v10moped on October 12, 2022 at 5:59 am

    How to fix this: Find product you like from Amazon. Find company who makes product. Order it directly from company’s website. That way you’re screwing over Amazon and China and supporting small business.

  33. Oedhel Setren on October 12, 2022 at 6:00 am

    This is why we’ve cancelled our prime. Too many illegitimate businesses, many aren’t even in the US. At the end of the day, Amazon has every incentive to encourage this behavior because it just spurs on consumerism. The quality control on the part of Amazon is minimal. They should be reviewing and auditing seller accounts way more frequently.

  34. DJBrandywine Gaming on October 12, 2022 at 6:01 am

    I hate to break the news but my brother and my sister both work for Amazon and they told me straight up the amazon in fact themselves take part in the scammy reviews Amazon actually pays people who have not actually even used product or purchased it to do good reviews this is a fact and Amazon also deletes bad reviews that are actually real reviews if you ever go on any of the stuff that you try to purchase on Amazon you’ll notice that there’s mostly good reviews and hardly any bad reviews because Amazon deletes bad reviews and I know this for a fact too because I’ve been threatened by Amazon at my account will be banned and deleted if I leave a bad review on a product and I did a couple more times and then I told them you can’t just ban me for being a customer and leaving a bad review about something that was bad you get in trouble so instead they turned off my ability to review products.

  35. tralfazy on October 12, 2022 at 6:04 am

    You can’t tell me that FakeSpot can identify fake reviews and a giant company like Amazon cannot. Amazon is NOT trying to stop the fake reviews! Enough Amazon. Nobody trusts you now because you are deliberately letting the deceiving of your customers continue.

  36. Clark Kent on October 12, 2022 at 6:04 am

    Fake reviews, on fake merchandise. Bought parts to repair a KenmoreWhirlpool washing machine. The OEM is FSP, ordered the parts because the packaging was labeled FSP in the product description. When the order arrived the parts were in a bag labeled Whirlpool and the price was higher than the item I ordered. Bottom line Whirlpool Corp encompasses Maytag, Roper, Kitchen Aid and other brands. All their factory replacement parts are packaging is labeled FSP. Obviously I was sent counterfeit parts, which I promptly returned. Always get asked to post a review, never do because why should I, what’s my motivation, I have a life. Bought a Murray brand circuit breaker, Amazon nagged me to write a review. What’s there to review, I wanted a Murray 50A DP circuit breaker, it arrived on the date promised, it was a Murray end of story.

  37. MediocreMan on October 12, 2022 at 6:04 am

    Almost 2 years later since this video and there have been ZERO improvements. If anything, Amazon has gotten much worse and pushes their sponsored Chinese products more than anything else. Even if you search for a specific brand, Amazon shows you pages of junk before you find the brand you’re looking for. I’ve been an Amazon customer for 20 years and an Amazon Prime member for a very long time, and I’ll be cancelling my Amazon Prime membership this year. The juice isn’t worth the squeeze. I’ve found that their prices aren’t any better on a lot of items I can get from another online retailer, and often the prices are cheaper directly from the manufacturer!

  38. Botney J on October 12, 2022 at 6:05 am

    I am guilty of the paid reviews. At times I quite often get sent emails by crap companies wanting me to order their product, leave a review and then get compensated the price of the product and I did accept them at times. All of them only do this because they have a crap quality product they want to push out to people amongst the competition. One company that is very guilty of this is "HolyHigh" so if you see their products stay away,

  39. __ on October 12, 2022 at 6:07 am

    also most stuff on Amazon now is sold by chinese companies… bought something once and Amazon said that they were not liable for anything because seller was a third party… I sent Amazon an email that said if you sell something on your platform that makes you liable…. no reply of course. The harder they come the harder they fall…

  40. Dianne Mose on October 12, 2022 at 6:08 am

    Amazon also uses "only 1 left " to entice buyers

  41. Billy Batts on October 12, 2022 at 6:09 am

    I don’t buy from Amazon anymore

  42. Jamoclan Aguilar on October 12, 2022 at 6:11 am

    I wrote a negative review once on Amazon food product that spilled out of its original flimsy plastic package but it was blocked by Amazon claiming that it is not product related. It made me feel that some negative reviews were blocked somehow to reduce impact to products.

  43. Lanie Light on October 12, 2022 at 6:12 am

    This is not fake, but absolute Truth: DON’T USE AMAZON!! They are allowing illegal sales of intellectual property, owned and copyrighted products by thieves who are manufacturing/reproducing illegally selling a copyrighted, owned product WITHOUT permission! RAREWAVES-IMPORTS, Silver-Tentacle USA, and HL-Records-EU are illegally manufacturing my CD, owned by me, copyrighted by Me and selling for profit. DON’T BUY FROM AMAZON! They’re fraudulent, do not handle fraud nor care if thieves take YOUR product and sell it for their profit. May Amazon be Accursed regardless its money, owner. So be it.

  44. Mr. Jimmy on October 12, 2022 at 6:12 am

    Iโ€™ve purchased products which have different pictures from the store page/known appearance and I always get a bit suspicious that Iโ€™m getting a bootleg product. I may just go back to Walmart for most of my toiletries and supplements. The only reason I started purchasing most of them from Amazon was due to supply chain problems at the actual stores and cheap prices. Now Iโ€™m more paranoid about products which may be unsafe, especially those which go in or on the body.

  45. __ on October 12, 2022 at 6:13 am

    here in Europe you have to prove you bought the item before you can submit a review…dont know why US doesnt do the same.

  46. Unbroken on October 12, 2022 at 6:13 am

    Getting to the point everything in the U.S. is fake, unreliable, manipulative, and misrepresentation. Corporations cannot be trusted at all any longer. Nor docs, nor politicians, nor bureaucrats, nor the media. I now assume everything I’m told is a lie.

  47. Tylee & Kole on October 12, 2022 at 6:14 am

    now 3rd quarter of 2022 and nothing has changed… it is just getting worse and Amazon doesn’t care.

  48. Valerie Sanchez on October 12, 2022 at 6:15 am

    Amazon isn’t the issue but, those sellers purchasing third party reviews to up their volume.
    Usually foreign country based reviews
    Shady tactics.
    Should be illegal but whatever

  49. message me on telegram ๐Ÿ‘‰ ADDTECHIEE on October 12, 2022 at 6:17 am

    ๐Ÿ”๐Ÿ”๐Ÿ”I enjoy working with๐Ÿ”๐Ÿ”๐Ÿ” you and appreciate your help and support for recovery my money back from frauds

  50. Aviel Yamin on October 12, 2022 at 6:17 am

    could fake reviews be posted by ali express staff?

Leave a Comment