Why Blaming Video Games for Violence is Wrong | NYT Opinion

Why Blaming Video Games for Violence is Wrong | NYT Opinion

Gamer and YouTuber Charlie Goldberg says it’s time to stop bashing video games and instead celebrate millions of American gamers who participate in a national industry that is valued at an estimated $36.9 billion. In the video Op-Ed above, he debunks the claims of politicians who blame video games for mass shootings. He argues that leaders who point the finger at games, like President Trump and Lt. Gov. Dan Patrick of Texas, are just distracting their constituents from reality.

Read the story here: https://nyti.ms/32CtGYF
Subscribe: http://bit.ly/U8Ys7n
More from The New York Times Video: http://nytimes.com/video
———-
Whether it’s reporting on conflicts abroad and political divisions at home, or covering the latest style trends and scientific developments, New York Times video journalists provide a revealing and unforgettable view of the world. It’s all the news that’s fit to watch.

50 Comments

  1. Marc Baker on January 18, 2023 at 3:18 am

    Okay, boomer. Now tell how Snoop Dogg is this wonderful role model who frees violent rapists from prison.

  2. AHHHHH on January 18, 2023 at 3:19 am

    Muderer has been abused since a young age been bullied at school does bath salts and cocaine plays a video game

    Media: This is because of of video games

  3. JWAY 202 on January 18, 2023 at 3:21 am

    CNN: Mine con causes violents in kids

    👁👄👁

  4. UNKNOWN WOLF 🐺 🐺 on January 18, 2023 at 3:21 am

    I play Xbox like Call of duty GTA

  5. Not Silver on January 18, 2023 at 3:22 am

    Wow an actual intelligent news site

  6. Vegeta on January 18, 2023 at 3:22 am

    Guess I’m gonna go commit patricide cause I played Castlevania

  7. squiggly business on January 18, 2023 at 3:22 am

    OBJECTION!

  8. The Alan Reviews on January 18, 2023 at 3:22 am

    Is it true that blaming video games creates stigmas against gamers, making them look like future criminals?

  9. LeonidaSal170MX on January 18, 2023 at 3:23 am

    I’ve been playing video games in my now age of eighteen years, and games does not cause me violence. just because I play video games doesn’t make me so violence in the real world, I’m still a good teenage kid 🤗

  10. Studly Brick Films and Games on January 18, 2023 at 3:23 am

    Most gamers who play fps games do not commit violent acts but most people who commit violent acts play video games
    People say we need weapon control but without weapons we can not protect ourselves from evil people who commit acts of violence

  11. Per Anders Høye on January 18, 2023 at 3:24 am

    Trump probably caused more violence with his bullying than what gamers ever have caused.

  12. purple penguin on January 18, 2023 at 3:24 am

    I like how there’s more evidence about video games causing less violence then causing more violence

  13. The Shöcker Pit on January 18, 2023 at 3:25 am

    So people are going to do no research about what was causing violence and are going to blame it on Marilyn Manson and video games

  14. Texan American on January 18, 2023 at 3:27 am

    As a gamer I can say for certain that kids being raised on violent games isn’t going to help anything. The cultural decay is real.

  15. Tom on January 18, 2023 at 3:28 am

    Memes cause violence.

  16. oscar pilatuña on January 18, 2023 at 3:29 am

    free fire

  17. Everyones favorite captain on January 18, 2023 at 3:29 am

    YES YES FINALLY YES

  18. Mr.Preston 16 on January 18, 2023 at 3:30 am

    “iF oNlY tHeRe WaS a RaTiNg SyStEm So YoU cOuLd TeLl iF iT’s FoR kIdS oR nOt” -Diamondbolt Adam

  19. Renorrey Morato on January 18, 2023 at 3:32 am

    Lack of knowledge.
    I feel like way too much attention goes to the violence in video games while the real problem is the media. There is a large portion of non-gamers because there are a lot of propaganda that are against video games as a consequence of tribalism.

    Gamers are blamed for violence at higher rates than sports fans. Gamers also lack the power to control what the media says thanks to the mind controlling information that the media offers. And on top of lacking power, there have been perpetual attempts (successful attempts) by governments and non-governmental people in power such as lawyers, judges, and law enforcement to keep video games from spreading popularity.

    Unpopularity leads to loneliness. And this world has been working tirelessly to keep video games from trying to escape the unpopularity route.

  20. Mr Personguy on January 18, 2023 at 3:38 am

    Boomers hate video games and always will, so they try to conjure up dark evil ideas to ruin it for people that grew up playing them all the time (90s kids)

  21. ibrhem0 on January 18, 2023 at 3:42 am

    i want to nuke earth with a 100000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000tsar bomba

    it feels like dat._.

  22. Fredo 008 on January 18, 2023 at 3:43 am

    Wait…. levelcap?

  23. TheTheatreOrgan on January 18, 2023 at 3:43 am

    I played airlines manager. Time to fly an all economy loaded a380 into a stadium crowd!

  24. DevCatto on January 18, 2023 at 3:45 am

    If doctors and political people say videos games cause violence. how come 4 year old children watch Star Wars and the Avengers which have guns! And these kids aren’t even violent! Its just some cap excuse for parents to limit screen time.

  25. Samuel Chiloyan on January 18, 2023 at 3:48 am

    So you telling me that Pong …. Is causing…. *Contemplates* wow!

  26. Octosona on January 18, 2023 at 3:49 am

    Finally. Someone understands why I’m not a terrorist after playing the Mario and Luigi rpgs.

  27. Lane G on January 18, 2023 at 3:49 am

    Please, I’m a nazi because I’m a horrible person. No game made you a bad person.

  28. Æ on January 18, 2023 at 3:51 am

    It really is because a lot of people hate video games

  29. Cpt. Shmitt on January 18, 2023 at 3:52 am

    Funny how the guy in charge of a country that’s been at war for over a hundred years, supports the military and produces more action and horror movies anywhere wants to stop the glorification of violence.

  30. Team Of One on January 18, 2023 at 3:53 am

    They never blame the parents for buying the games or mental health issues.

  31. Lanky Christopher on January 18, 2023 at 3:54 am

    how long until they start making school shooting video games since video games are supposedly harmless?

  32. Green Puyo on January 18, 2023 at 3:55 am

    Finally, a media corporation that isn’t biased.

  33. yeshaya24 on January 18, 2023 at 3:58 am

    Corporate lobby media propaganda

  34. SeKToR on January 18, 2023 at 3:58 am

    What is that level cap.

  35. JackoWackus on January 18, 2023 at 4:01 am

    apparently building a house in minecraft makes me want to go on a mass homicide

  36. SPRINGY BOI on January 18, 2023 at 4:02 am

    The people who do mass shootings because of video games are not helping either. Cause they just give the more “proof” that they are “correct” even though they aren’t and that person was just mentally unstable

  37. Javier Dominguez on January 18, 2023 at 4:03 am

    What we need to address is mental health. I’m not going to blame on Videogames nor guns. We need to address mental health because it’s becoming a bigger health issue we should have background checks for people who want to buy guns or mental health that can lead to violence and if they have a criminal past. But the easiest thing to blame on is Videogames.

  38. Mary Slayton on January 18, 2023 at 4:04 am

    The New York Times posted this: *Everyone liked that*

  39. yugioh5222 on January 18, 2023 at 4:04 am

    Agree with this any thing that have violence cause something between in the real world is professional sports like football and soccer

  40. KDL on January 18, 2023 at 4:05 am

    Man playing that yoshi’s cookie was pretty fun

    NOW LEMME JUST SMUGGLE SOME DRUGS ACROSS THE MEXICAN BORDER

  41. ExistentialOpal on January 18, 2023 at 4:07 am

    The fact of how news reporters were framing exposing oneself to violent video games and playing violent video games as causing aggression or violent behavior is wrong because you have to test that fact first and not go around framing it for no reason just because you think that these types of games cause violence.

  42. Neo2266 on January 18, 2023 at 4:11 am

    Oh and it only took you 30+ years to figure this out

  43. Christian Gibbons on January 18, 2023 at 4:11 am

    In this case, the New York Times, are not the NY Lies; but, rather objective this time💗NiCE😎

  44. Expresso the cat on January 18, 2023 at 4:12 am

    me: plays a non violent racing game for fun
    the media: that’s gonna destroy our society for sure!

  45. Dredged Crusader on January 18, 2023 at 4:13 am

    finally a news article that doesn’t insult gaming or blame it for issues

  46. CraZed on January 18, 2023 at 4:14 am

    Japan: Has more video games sold to people than any other country, and is one to have a very low gun violence count

    USA: Is under Japan, but has 400 000x (Exaggeration) more gun violence.

    Politicians on Fox News: iT’s BeCaUsE oF vIdEoGaMeS!1!!1!!

  47. Shiela TV on January 18, 2023 at 4:15 am

    //laugh in human language//

    Me learning that video games are blamed for bad behavior when it was a fun time and fun bonding of mine and my brother with our cousins and other friends. We are happy to get together in the sitting room, take turns playing games, laughing and screaming whenever we are dead in the game.

    It’s not the game guys, it’s the life style and yes, the design of the game being played. Well, I am a 90’s kid and game before are just purely for entertainment. Also, they asking parents to control their kids gaming schedule and don’t spoil them too much letting them buy expensive game features that will lead them to think that they are above others just because they have it.

  48. Azionize on January 18, 2023 at 4:15 am

    Me and my friend play pong

    Society: VIOLENCE. STOPPPPPP!

  49. SUNNY D on January 18, 2023 at 4:16 am

    Why does the old generation hate and try to get rid things like video games like why

  50. Ska_ on January 18, 2023 at 4:17 am

    i got an urge to steal a car, do bad medicine, say no no words and murder people after playing

    tetris

Leave a Comment