Zoom LiveTrak L-12 Digital Mixer and Multitrack Recorder Review

Zoom LiveTrak L-12 Digital Mixer and Multitrack Recorder Review

Get the Zoom LiveTrack L-12 here: https://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/L12

With the Zoom LiveTrak L-12 you can record up to 12 individual channels, create custom headphone mixes for up to five band members, and craft a polished live mix complete with studio-quality effects. You can complete your entire project on the L-12 or transfer all 12 discrete tracks to your DAW for editing and mixing. The LiveTrak L-12 also functions admirably as a 14-in/4-out USB audio interface for your Mac, PC, or iOS device.

50 Comments

  1. Mobile Barber 2.0 on January 7, 2022 at 1:13 pm

    😔

  2. Simon Saeheng on January 7, 2022 at 1:15 pm

    Any MIDI in & output?

  3. so-what on January 7, 2022 at 1:17 pm

    Does studio one recognise the audio interface and can all the channel be routed separately to the DAW.
    I’ve seen it used in Ableton.
    Is it as user friendly being used in studio one?
    You help will be very much appreciated.

  4. Scot Thompson on January 7, 2022 at 1:19 pm

    No phantom power? Dropped the ball there.

  5. Joshua Cavinder on January 7, 2022 at 1:20 pm

    I have a Zoom R8 And I am looking to upgrade to the zoom L20R. I’m currently using my zoom are eight as a backing track machine for my band does the zoom L 20 or have the same functions as the zoom r8 where are you can send The metronome click track separately than the left and right out?

  6. Huza Tahir Official on January 7, 2022 at 1:23 pm

    I already instal driver..cannot working…anyone can fix it..im using windows

  7. Dzenx on January 7, 2022 at 1:23 pm

    Can you have two different effects on one channel? Is this possible? Like delay and reverb?

  8. Today Tomorrow on January 7, 2022 at 1:23 pm

    Does this mixer power speakers?

  9. drumman806 on January 7, 2022 at 1:24 pm

    Im some what frustrated because I followed the instructions on hooking up my monitors and my daw and I cant get any sound out of he headsets or the monitors i hooked my PC to the usb and nothing.

  10. Th3AirRaidSir3n on January 7, 2022 at 1:24 pm

    He says about recording 14 channels, when just using it as an interface and not using the built in recorder does that mean you can only record stereo?

  11. Toffee Gamer on January 7, 2022 at 1:24 pm

    Advice please. Can I connect my laptop with all my pro karaoke CDG Or MP4 tracks and record myself at home.Also if this is possible is there away of seeing the graphics (lyrics) at the same time.Maybe if I use a seperate tv screen or pc monitor ect If this is not suitable has anybody found away of doing this yet ? Thanks in advance for your time

  12. freedom shapes on January 7, 2022 at 1:24 pm

    Question from a stoned and confused newb. will this allow me to record 12 tracks tracks simultaneously ? Like can I record 12 instruments on 12 different channels?

  13. Rick Danner Guitar Player on January 7, 2022 at 1:26 pm

    i dont understand anything he just said ?

  14. orangevst on January 7, 2022 at 1:26 pm

    This thing is only 4 out into the daw, not 14

  15. Lasse Niemela on January 7, 2022 at 1:29 pm

    Want this … Have seen it for a time and now it is time for me to by me a Livetrack 12 🙂

  16. Double Down on January 7, 2022 at 1:33 pm

    Some cool Portastudios are coming out. This looks like a cheaper version of the Model 24. Tascam seems to have led these things forever

  17. Phil igrane on January 7, 2022 at 1:34 pm

    Hello ! Can I get a clear anwer : With my multitrack recorder I can record my 1st track then I record the 2nd track while listening to the the 1st one then recording the 3rd one while listening to the others and so on. .Then I can for example re-record one of the tracks and when finihed I make the mastering and save it to a SD Card with Wave format. Does this machine can do that ? Thank you by advance for a straight and clear answer. Take care

  18. G. F on January 7, 2022 at 1:34 pm

    Is there INSERT for outboard gear?
    Thanks!

  19. fyah cloudz muzik on January 7, 2022 at 1:35 pm

    i am buying one of those in the near future i love it

  20. We Speak English Good on January 7, 2022 at 1:35 pm

    Can you Record on to the SD card while simultaneously using the devise as an Interface?

  21. Ace Paul on January 7, 2022 at 1:36 pm

    I have been in and out of studios since the 1980’s, stuff is getting cheaper and easier to use. You no longer need to break the bank to get quality recording gear. Great stuff from Zoom.

  22. Doughnut Spaghetti on January 7, 2022 at 1:37 pm

    Why no android support?

  23. Starlight Records on January 7, 2022 at 1:40 pm

    When mixing vocals into daw, Can you be able to use zoom l12 effects and eq?

  24. Devin Moreno on January 7, 2022 at 1:40 pm

    Can this be used to Live Stream a band through Zoom?

  25. Neil Kendall on January 7, 2022 at 1:40 pm

    Hi I own the Zoom L-12 and it’s great. Can you tell me how I’d connect a powered wedge monitor rather than in ear monitors? Would I connect it to the Monitor Out A Jacks (the L and R outputs, to the left of the Monitor Out Phone Jacks)? Or can it be connected to the Monitor Out Phone Jacks? Are the Monitor Out Phone Jacks balanced or unbalanced, and what about the Monitor Out A Jacks? Thanks.

  26. lacuevadelvampiro on January 7, 2022 at 1:43 pm

    is this device able to "punch in" at any point of a song and edit, without throwing off the tempo?

  27. Szabolcs Mezei on January 7, 2022 at 1:47 pm

    Man, I love a good, professional presentation.

  28. Moilim Yacoub on January 7, 2022 at 1:47 pm

    Amazing work from Zoom Team. Really wished the L12 & L20 were motorized fader especially when you save & recall different Mixes for headphones. We’re 2019 almost 2020. Hope ZOOM is listening, bring one Motorized ASAP. Great unit 😉 We’re renting and selling these as hotcakes at Long&McQuade 😉

  29. colin dias on January 7, 2022 at 1:47 pm

    Wpw that’s a speed speedy tutorial …. Of so many features …. In secs .. .wish i was flash to hear everything in slow motion ..

  30. Abin Lim RV on January 7, 2022 at 1:48 pm

    at better at 0.75 speed… LOL

  31. Gospel Musicians on January 7, 2022 at 1:49 pm

    Does it output to the USB and Analog Stereo outs at the same time or do you have to choose?

  32. addthisto on January 7, 2022 at 1:49 pm

    is it a problem if I connect guitar, dynamic and condenser microphone at the same time, while the phantom power is on?

  33. Miguel Carvalho on January 7, 2022 at 1:50 pm

    If you connect a stereo synth to two mono inputs (because the stereo inputs were already full with some instrument or with the usb return), is it possible to select two channels simultaneously to apply exactly the same EQ to both left an right channel? The older R24 model has a stereo link functionality that basically allowed the mono inputs 1 and 2 to became stereo inputs 1/2 (the same applies to the other channels) but I can’t find any information regarding that for the Livetrak L-12 or L-20..

  34. Patient Swim on January 7, 2022 at 1:51 pm

    guys like this always have weird long creepy finger nails. As soon as I saw him I thought ‘ahhhh yes, classic bloke for this kinda job’

  35. FuZZbaLLbee on January 7, 2022 at 1:51 pm

    I have been trying to find a mixer the would also allow to record the channels separately in Ableton. ( in case I make a big mixing mistake 😋 ) I found the Soundcraft singnature 12 MTK. But later I read that the EQ and effects are not part of the recording in Ableton, because those happen after sending the audio trough the interface.

    Are there any other options to solve this? Maybe a separate mixer and separate multi channel interface?

  36. New Begining on January 7, 2022 at 1:51 pm

    Would I still be wondering about routing issues if I buy the Zoom Livetrak L-12?

  37. Jason Strain on January 7, 2022 at 1:55 pm

    So.. can I record my vocals and guitar and then playback the recording to tweak everything for a live setup/sound check using pre recorded guitar and vocals?

  38. mark davis on January 7, 2022 at 1:57 pm

    damm dude cut your nails lol

  39. {return -1;} on January 7, 2022 at 1:58 pm

    Mitch is hands down the best host in the gear field on the internet. A calm demeanor, clear presentation, well spoken, polite, professional… Simply a magnifiscient man. Thank you for doing what you do. 👍

  40. Jahid Samed on January 7, 2022 at 1:59 pm

    I love this guy and his videos , very straight forward and easy to understand, good work from uk

  41. G W on January 7, 2022 at 1:59 pm

    Does this purchase come with DAW software of some kind? Anyone think Audacity would be ok to use?

  42. Esdras Felício on January 7, 2022 at 2:02 pm

    Hi !..
    O am using a Zoom R 16 and the advantage is the battety compartment that allows us to use the recorder without eletric source.
    With only 6 batteries wr can Record for 6 hours.

    Can the L-12 work without eletric source too?…

  43. Peteros Music Studio on January 7, 2022 at 2:04 pm

    Is there 30 channel for the live track?

  44. Normog Gaming on January 7, 2022 at 2:07 pm

    I had a BR1200 and it died after 10 years. Been trying to replace it and dont want to go full PC..

    How does this compare to the BR1200

  45. Rueben Herrera on January 7, 2022 at 2:10 pm

    Could someone please point me in the right direction of finding out if this board can use multiple effects on the same mix. I find I can only use 1 effect at a time throughout the board.

  46. Francisco Rodrigues on January 7, 2022 at 2:11 pm

    "Does it have an FX Loop? In order words can an external effects processor be connected to it?"

  47. ecstasteve on January 7, 2022 at 2:12 pm

    is there a usbC version coming out soon?

  48. Will Datsun on January 7, 2022 at 2:12 pm

    Can this be remote controlled ? Like have the mixer on stage but control it from out in the audience using a lappy or tablet? I have seen other mixers that do that, but can’t multitrack record, that would be the dealbreaker thanks.

  49. Tigerex966 on January 7, 2022 at 2:12 pm

    Can you use the faders and knobs, to control the faders and knobs, in your daw, like Cubase, logic, studio one, abelton live etc?

  50. lamarcy on January 7, 2022 at 2:12 pm

    How many effects can you use at once per channel?

Leave a Comment